We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would stay there again...perfectly located to places in South Beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #75 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I would stay there again...perfectly located to places in South Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My friend and I were there for one night. The room was decent. Pretty small but compared to other hotels in the area and their price it was perfect. Happy hour from 7-8 every night with free drinks in the lobby bar - that was nice. Valet was $33 a night and worth it for me to not try to find a parking spot on Washington or Collins. Everything was so close, clubs, restarurants, shops...it is 2 blocks from the beach...perfectly located! I would stay there again if I go back to Maimi.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Duste M,

Our hotel is a boutique hotel and the rooms are considered smaller, but what we lack in size we make up in amenities. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our happy hour and took advantage of our valet service. We completely understand parking availability and try to satisfy all of our guests' needs. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Miami Beach.

Thank you,

Steven Mrakes
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    357
    197
    93
    126
See reviews for
112
377
97
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Went there with my girlfriend, and we were both on business as well. We were able to get a king size bed and were very pleased with the room. It was spacious and quiet and the bed was extremely comfy. We stayed there 3 nights for and had no issues (was like a home away from home). Wifi was available so my girlfriend was able to submit her reports. Staff were courteous and checking in and out was a breeze. All in all I enjoyed my stay there and looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Drew g,

I am so happy to hear that you and your girlfriend had a great time during your stay with us. I look forward to having you stay with us again for your next stay-cation.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed in Hotel Chelsea for a combine business trip and for pleasure. When our office booked this hotel we were aware of its location. We had two big rooms with very comfortable beds, nicely decorated on the first floor towards the back, no WiFi in the room though, but rather quiet. No problem with housekeeper or maintenance, and if there was Gilma Garcia at the front desk solved it right away and answered all our questions with a lot of patience, thank you Gilma for making our stay as relaxed as possible. The best meal we had at Miami Beach was one night at the hotel, a hinese eating lamb chops!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriella N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Gabriella G,

Whether it's for business or pleasure we like to make sure our guest have a great time while staying with us. Thank you for acknowledging our staff member Gilma and the exceptional service that was provided. We are always looking for ways to make our guests' stay more enjoyable. Thank you for writing a review we look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skanor, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

The hotel is small and the rooms are a bit dark. The window is high up. It´s very close to the beach and restaurants on Ocean Drive.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Teeliner,

Thank you for your visit to the great city of Miami Beach. Our hotel is A 1936 Art Deco gem which is located on the fast paced Washington Avenue. Not all of our rooms have great views but we do have an amazing patio close to the bar which lets you have drinks while enjoying the beautiful scenery of Miami Beach. Thank you for writing a good review.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Everything about the hotel is aesthetically appealing but the friendliness of the service is horrible. The prices at the restaurant were way too high. The so-called complimentary cocktail hour is at a bad time and only includes well spirits (not wine, or beer). There is no complimentary coffee in the room or otherwise. There never seems to be a housekeeper or maintenance on duty. The WiFi internet didn't work. One has to pay for parking at a garage four blocks away. We got a great deal on the internet, and honestly we were surprised with how sexy everything looked and felt, but the things that make a stay enjoyable were non-existent. I would only consider staying there again if I got a better deal than I already got, which was good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milesntrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Milesntraner,

We take a lot of time to train our staff to be accommodating and friendly. I am sorry to hear you feel that you did not receive that type of service during your stay with us in February. I would appreciate it if you could provide us with the name of the staff members whom you dealt with. Our hotels always have maintenance personnel and housekeeping staff on duty, however they might not always be available immediately. With regard to parking, we do provide valet parking at an additional fee. There is also street parking available on a first come basis which can be affordable for our guests. I apologize that you were satisfied with our in room amenities, however we have a sister hotel, the Riviera South Beach, which offers complimentary breakfast served poolside. We would love for you to give us another chance and allow us to give you a memorable experience. I hope to hear from you soon.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#67 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
0.2 km away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#78 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#92 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#54 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
1.5 km away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#82 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,392 reviews
0.3 km away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chelsea

Property: Hotel Chelsea
Address: 944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,040 - ₹ 22,927
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chelsea in Miami Beach is a 1936 luxury Art Deco gem that sits in the center of it all on Washington Avenue. Enjoy the South Beach Miami scenery from our patio while you have drinks from the bar, or a bite to eat from our restaurant. If you want to bathe in the Miami sun, we are just 2 blocks from Ocean Drive and the sands of the beach. For all your nightlife needs, the Chelsea is a short walk up or down the street from most South Beach nightclubs. This South Beach boutique hotel has been updated with Feng Shui accents for your comfort and pleasure. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Chelsea Miami
Chelsea Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing