We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dissapointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #54 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

After reading on line for a week that we, three of us including a 92 year old fabulous grandmother, decided it would be nice go to the hotel for the day, and engage in an offer advertised on their website to spend the day by the pool for a 20 dollar charge. On arrival we were told by a rather blunt receptionist that the hotel did not offer this facility, so we engaged in polite conversation and explained we had the information from their website. After she made a phone call, her tuned changed to the beat of the "we used to do that but not any more drum, BUT, should we care to wait for 5 minutes she would call the sales office and just check". 20 minutes later, I then think to look up the website on my iphone with their wifi code, and watch, with absolute amazement at the site flash a now huge banner across the site page with "offer no longer available & a :-))) . Clearly whilst we had been left the sales team were busy changing and updating their very dated website. We had paid for the hotel parking by this point, something which was non returnable too. The whole hotel is dated, the staff are rude, and as we sat and watch other guests trying to check into a chaotic and unprofessional hotel, we understood it and the false advertising was to try and encourage much needed custom. Much better places up the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank homefromhomeLesArcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoyHotelCares, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
My apologies that you were not able to enjoy our resort for the day. The day pass promotion was eliminated over a year ago, as many of our hotel guests did not approve of non-hotel patrons paying $20.00 and sharing the same amenities they paid $200-$400 daily. Our website has not had any reference to this promotion in some time, perhaps your Google search is pulling an old web page. Also, our website is managed by an outside vendor, it’s not possible for us to change a banner with less than 3 days notice. I have not had any experience with staff being described has rude here at The Savoy, we strive on providing a warm and friendly environment. In addition, I was on duty that day and did not have any comments about chaotic and unprofessional activity at the front desk. I have sent you a separate message and would be happy to speak to you further regarding your experience. I would like to know which website may be showing the incorrect information and I would be happy to reimbursurce your for the $10.00 parking fee.

Regards,

Gary Hyre, General Manager The Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    553
    163
    69
    30
See reviews for
553
598
37
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at the Savoy for 3 days before we went on a cruise out of Miami in January 2012.

The suite was huge with a spacious living room, kitchenette complete with dishwasher, cupboards, coffee maker, and microwave - my only complaint with the room is that there were no dishes or cutlery. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was beautiful and clean and sparkling.

The restaurant service was superb. Andres treated us like we were his family. His friendliness was contagious and his service was excellent. I am a water drinker and my glass was never empty – Andres was there as soon as the ice cubes clinked. The attendant out by the pool, Rocky, was also a super help to us. He wrote down directions for us to go site seeing and always had a smile and a hello. Andres and Rocky made our stay quite pleasant. The front desk staff were excellent too!!!

The two pools were beautiful and the pool area was spotless with lots of chairs! We live on the east coast of Canada and our summers leave a lot to be desired. We were on a beautiful beach, in a beautiful hotel and the hot Florida sun was warming our bones in January - what's not to love!!!

I would definitely recommend the Savoy Hotel!!

Room Tip: we were only in our rooms to sleep so any room was a good one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Greetings from Sunny South Beach!

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your experience. Here at The Savoy, we pride ourselves on our excellent guest service, and we are so glad you had the opportunity to enjoy it!

We certainly hope to see you again very soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights before we returned to the UK, and wish we were able to stay longer. We arrived early at 12.00 and were told that we could have the standard room that we'd booked straight away or if waited until 16.00 (check in time!) we would be upgraded to a balcony suite. We decided to explore Ocean Drive and wait until 16.00, on our return we were checked into a very large suite with a balcony. This hotel is not 5 star but is comfortable, clean and has very professional and friendly staff. The Savoy is ideally situated,just south of 5th on Ocean Drive, a short walk from lots of bars,restaurants and a well stocked Walgreens with a liquor store. We ate breakfast at the hotel both mornings that we were there, the food and service were excellent The pool area was had plenty of room and was as spotless as the rest of the hotel. We will be staying here when we return to Miami Beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonsBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Hello!

The team here at The Savoy thanks you for the positive feedback! We love our "little gem" here in the heart of South Beach and we are glad to hear that you do too!

We look very forward to having you as our guest again.

Cheers,
Francine - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3- nights on arrival we had asked for ocean view room and got a large palm tree view !! Asked for a change and the staff kindly changed room the following day . The next room was nice and spacious had a problem with the bath . The water was Luke warm when asking staff they stated the water was the right temp for Florida .. Questioned this again the next day maintenance arrived and changed the fuse and suddenly the water temp was hot again ... Overall pleasant stay great location maybe just bad luck

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandS2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

my husband, son and i stayed here for a couple of nights in mid-april, and it was just wonderful. the room (suite) was huge, in great condition, and spotless. the pool area (2 pools) was lovely, as was the beach. we had lunch at the restaurant one day and at the pool the next, and the service on both days (different servers) was excellent. everyone we encountered was very friendly and helpful. one suggestion - some dishes, wine glasses, silverware would be nice, given the large kitchen area. we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmf221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoyHotelCares, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best Regards,

Gary Hyre

General Manager, The Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#30 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beacon Hotel
#46 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
The Confidante
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6613
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,132 - ₹ 41,127
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing