We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,573)
Filter reviews
1,573 results
Traveller rating
940
470
116
24
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
940
470
116
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean drive south beach beach towels continental breakfast south end boutique hotel perfect location quiet area resort fee great boutique nikki beach small bathroom night life art deco an umbrella two blocks chairs and umbrellas
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 1,573 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here as it was the best value hotel in the area we wanted and it was a great decision
Hotel is clean, good service, nice spacious rooms and located perfectly close to things but far enough away from night life that its quiet
Would certainly choose here again

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adnan J, Front Office Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dearest guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very glad that our location was beneficial for you. One of our best features is how close you are to all the excitement of south beach, but can still come to a more tranquil location to rest. Whenever you decide to stay with us again, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly! Hope to hear from you soon.

Warm Regards,
Carol P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Well located if you intend to spend time at the beach with beach towels provided.
Cold water available in lobby all the time. Bottle water available in room.
Clean room.
Easily accessible by public transportation (bus 150) from airport for low fare. Only two short blocks walking distance from bus stop to hotel.

Room Tip: Very good access to beach
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pierrelouislanoue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adnan J, Front Office Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dearest Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review! It brings us great joy to know that our excellent location benefited you throughout your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Carol P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

What can I say about The Lord Balfour hotel,it was simply amazing from our welcome on check in at front desk and all the staff we came into contact with over our 10 night stay.

The hotel itself is a smallish boutique style hotel and very well appointed ,just across the street from the beach and five minuites walk to the lively part of ocean drive.

Over our 10 night stay we celebrated my and my wifes birthday and the hotel left champagne and then some lovely cupcakes for us.

We loved everthing about the hotel which made our first visit to Miami so memorable.

Finally,I would just like to give a special mention to Cesar on the front desk,he was so kind always with a happy smile and interested in what we had been doing each time we saw him and we thank him so much for the reservation he made for us at Smith and Wollensky for my wifes birthday ,it made our trip complete.

Cesar is the man,great staff ,great hotel.We would recommend and will return if we ever come to Miami again.

Room Tip: third floor was good for us
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedTigerfan1730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adnan J, Front Office Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dearest guest,

We are so happy to hear that you loved your stay with us! Cesar and our staff thank you for your kind words. We pride ourselves in providing the best possible service in order to make our guests feel as if they were at home. It's great to know that we were able to achieve this and more with you! We do hope that you can join us again soon, to make even more wonderful memories, as we all look forward to being a part of them.

Until next time!
Carol P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night here. They never told us the courtyard and pool were closed for renovations. The shower, phone and tv in room all didn’t work. The bar doesn’t give you the 20% off for hotel guests unless you have the stupid coupon card and won’t fix it. Staff were friendly and bartender good. Nice quiet location. Wouldn’t go back

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lam1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adnan J, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi Iam1971,

Thank you so much for your feedback!
I am sorry that you had less than perfect stay. With all fairness, the first time we heard about TV, shower and phone issue in the room, we asked to come and check it and were denied access. After your departure, we checked and all of them were functioning properly. Perhaps we should have communicated the instructions more clear, and I apologize for that.

Pool was not closed, matter of the fact is that we never had a pool but are currently building a new addition that will have a spa pool and Jacuzzi deck! We hope for it to be opened in a month so I hope to see you back with us to try them out.

Best,
AJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Comfortable hotel. Room was fine although moving space in bathroom was tight. Good location at quiet end of Ocean Drive but near enough to easily walk to beach and restaurants/cafes. Staff were helpful. Breakfast is available at extra cost but wasn't great - stale croissants!

Room Tip: Only two floors of rooms and no great views. Best view is overlooking Ocean Drive but only looks at apartment blocks opposite.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adnan J, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Location, location, location :)

Thanks Sue for sharing your experience!

I am sorry about less than perfect breakfast experience. I will ensure to relay this to F&B ownership!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews