We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,960)
Filter reviews
1,960 results
Traveller rating
707
578
303
152
220
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
578
303
152
220
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean drive south beach free bikes beach towels junior suite breakfast was included night life the room was nice valet parking pablo miami action clubs rooftop dj nightlife cruise
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 1,960 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017

I stayed there because I wanted to be in South Beach, I knew that the place is busy until late and so on, but I was expecting some kind of soundproof windows and they are not and one of them does not even close properly.
I complaint about this, the toilet flushing by it self along the whole night, a mirror light missing and no pressure in the shower in vain during the whole stay.
On top of that the anexe hotel building does not have a reception it is an ice cream parlor, to go to your room you you cross the ice cream and take the back elevator (almost a service one)
The place does not have a parking and parking in Miami Beach is very expensive 4.00/hour so if you come on wheels forget it.
The noise from the bars around is loud so if you just need a bed to crawl to your room after getting hammered great if not go south or north on Ocean Drive and find better, quiter and better value for the money places to stay
Breakfast is decent, free bikes to ride, wifi is free and good and the location facing the beach is also a plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main buidling not on the anexe and avoid going through an ice cream parlor to reach your room
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarceloAlemao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Greetings MarceloAlemao,

I'm sorry that your stay was less than satisfactory during your visit and expecting soundproof windows. We actually have installed sound reduction windows throughout the property. Based on your review its obvious that our staff didn't take your concerns serious which is really disappointing. If you choose to return to Miami Beach, I would appreciate you contacting us directly so that we can prepare your accommodations and do our absolute very best to assign you a room in the South Tower away from the ice cream parlor. Many of the hotels throughout Miami Beach do not have parking and any parking is commonly operated by an outside operator. There are alternatives to using the valet services but unsure of their cost as some are operated by the City of Miami Beach or have an independent owner. As an alternative to our hotel, we have other locations in Miami Beach that may best fit your desires. We can over these locations with you when you call. We look forward to serving you.

Yours in Hospitality,

Carlos Santana
General Manager
Breakwater South Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The location was super!!! If you wan’t to be in the centre of Miami Beach, then this hotel is super. Also the food and cocktails are good. I had a room with balcony and that was nice with a beuch view. Only when the weekend started, the club nextdoor roofbar was super loud music. So for going early too bed was not a option.

Thx for a nice holiday!

Greetings,

Roel

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi Roel W,

Thank you for sharing such a great review of your stay at the Breakwater South Beach. The entire staff is pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations and the location of the property. We are just steps away from much of the local entertainment and great food Miami has to offer. Please give us a call when your ready to return so we can start your next stay off the right way!!

Yours in Hospitality,

Carlos Santana
General Manager
Breakwater South Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We were there with our Cowboys fan club. The room was very nice but the vent outside our door was very loud. We called maintenance twice to fix it to no avail. Also, you had to go through the ice cream parlor to get to the elevators. That was a little strange. The staff was awesome. Carlos checked us in and was very entertaining. We stopped at the bar one night to have drinks. They were a little pricey but then again, you are right on South Beach!!! They have bikes available for free for guest to use. We took along bike ride on the boardwalk. We did it early, before it got too hot. Breakfast was also included in the price of our room. It was pretty much the same each day. Friends who stayed at other hotel, didn't have this.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lindab6318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi linab6318,

Thank you for staying at the Breakwater South Beach with the Cowboys fan club. I'm sorry that the vent outside your door was very loud and our maintenance team wasn't able to get it repaired promptly. The Breakwater consist of a North and South Tower which by your description sounds like your room was in the North Tower. Unfortunately we don't manage or operate the Gelato shop. I understand how frustrating this must have been for you just just to get to the elevators. Originally the lobby was a separate reception for the Tower and the building owner decided to allow a Gelato Shop to occupy the lobby area. It is great that Juan Carlos entertained you during your check-in. Next time your visiting with the Cownboy's Fan Club or just want to visit on your own, don't forget to let your friends and family know. We enjoyed having you here!

Yours in Hospitality,

Carlos Santana
General Manager
Breakwater South Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

I was there with my sister. This was the second time we stayed there. If you are going to have fun, and don't mind loud music then this is the place. The pool is very unique,across the street from the ocean. Complimentary bottled water. Their restaurant food is good, besides the pizza.
Front desk guy and the manager were very nice. Downstairs has live music everyday. Deffinetly will stay there again.
The photo is taken from our room window :).

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Greeneyez480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hey Greeneyez480,

Thank you for returning to Miami and the Breakwater South Beach. I hope you contacted us directly to make your reservations this time around. If not, please don't forget to contact us for the next time. We love our guest that keep on coming back for more.

Yours in Hospitality,

Carlos Santana
General Manager
Breakwater South Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The only thing i have to say was negative was the price of the vallet, but everywhere in Miami Beach is the same, too expensive.

The staff was amazing, the breakfeast was amazing, everything! Congrats! Thank you!

Room Tip: best location, best staff, best room
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hello Alice M,

Thank you for sharing your stay at the Breakwater South Beach. As you stated, most of the valet in the area has a fee associated with depending on the location. I can assure you that the operator we use to operate our valet is competitive with the area. We are in a extremely popular area of South Beach where people want to be. The staff will be excited that you recognized them as well as the complimentary breakfast. Please do not hesitate to contact us at your leisure.

Yours in Hospitality,

Carlos Santana
General Manager
Breakwater South Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews