We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Sobe!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #108 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
2 reviews
“Best hotel in Sobe!”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I must say this was by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in! Great location, room were spacious and extremely comfortable. I have to give a special thanks to the Night Audit manager for providing us with excellent service! Jose thank you for going above and beyond to fit our needs, this gentlemen was working with a terrible flu and was still able to pull it together and help us enjoy our stay! Keep up the good work you'll make it far! Overall our experience was phenomenal!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebrowns101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Thebrowns101,

We really appreciate those kind words, We'll make sure to give our Night Auditor plenty of praise on your behalf! We sincerely thank you for choosing our Hotel and as always expect you with open arms on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    526
    260
    129
    192
See reviews for
228
836
82
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I have to write a review about this hotel bc before I travel anywhere I read reviews. This hotel should be a 5 star because they met my needs in all areas from the time I got out the car to arriving to my room. Things that made me nervouse while reading prior reviews were noise level and year hotel was built As far as noise level I called prior and asked for a room away from the noise and I was placed in room 206 and slept like a baby all 3 nights ( no noise). Next the concern of the hotel being shut down and reopened threw me off. The hotel should just say we reopened in 2011 because everything is new and updated, and don't be fooled about the appearance on the outside of this hotel bc it looks old online but very nice in person..It's in the center of every attraction from the beach, to shopping, restaurants, and clubs. The whole staff must be paid to smile and speak every day as well...You just catch a plane then a taxi and enjoy the fun. Valet can be a little cheaper $35 a day is high when guest are charged $20 and the $15 a day fee for beach usage is high especially if you don't go to the beach everyday you here but we got a good deal so it was all good. If I every visit South Beach again I will stay here again.. Thanks Breakwater for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelYOLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear TravelYolo,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Breakwater! Yes, we are in the middle of all of the action so if when choosing Breakwater, you know you will have plenty to do and plenty to see while being pampered with our service and our care. As always it's best to recommend that you let us know in advance which room you would prefer as it helps us to better assist you. Let us know when you'll be in Miami Beach next time so that we can provide the best experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Ok, there is a noice outside of the hotel room till morning and you can hear it, but this is why you staing in Ocean dr South Beach- the experience of it, there is no other reason to stay there. We always stay in Ritz Carlton few bloks away, but this time we decide to experience THE South Beach! The room was nice, the restaurant "9" has great food ( we ate there before as well), but if you planning to stay there more than one night you need to bring your towels, shampoo, soap, and toilet paper! It doesn't mutter how many times you can talk to front desk clerks ( by phone and person) you will not get room service! Also, there is no way you can talk to hotel manager- he is too busy for you any time you ask for him! We travel the world for business and pleasure and never experience such a indifference from the staff members!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verushka71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Verushka71,

We sincerely apologize if we have not met your standards of service. As always your feedback is very important to us. Please contact us at jcenteno@breakwatersouthbeach.com so that we can better assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I recently stayed at breakwater in June for 5 days with 3 friends. We overall enjoyed our time, the location was great; close to many restaurants, clubs and of course the beach. The style of the hotel itself was updated, clean and modern which was great, and there was a wonderful rooftop with a great view.
Our only issue was with some staff who were rude on several occasions, including after our stay when I called to clarify a charge. It would have been nice if they weren't so unpleasant and were more professional.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Sarahae,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Breakwater, please contact us at jcenteno@breakwatersouthbeach.com to better assist you and provide you with the service and assistance you so rightly deserve. We sincere apologize for not meeting your standards of service at this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at Hotel Breakwater for our weekend getaway to Miami, It was an amazing experience overall. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel was very clean and the location was perfect. The staff made us feel comfortable and at home. Our room was very modern it felt as if we were at a condo back home. We initially were looking for an affordable place to stay, we got that plus more! :) I highly recommend choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Deborah R,

Thank you for choosing The Breakwater Hotel! We are so happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and made you feel at so close at home. Please do not hesitate to contact us so that we can have another opportunitiy to give the great service that is expected from us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Essex House
Essex House
#52 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,852 reviews
0.4 km away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 208 in Miami Beach
544 reviews
0.2 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#55 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,388 reviews
0.1 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,045 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#81 of 208 in Miami Beach
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Property: Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,638 - ₹ 25,081
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing