We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great weekend!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sense Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sense Beach House
Ranked #60 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in Miami. The rooms are very clean and the hotel staff will make you feel very comfortable. Sydney was the best and very friendly he made our stay extra special. I would really recommend this hotel to everyone and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    182
    42
    17
    18
See reviews for
72
310
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hengelo, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Sense hotel is on the quite site of Ocean Drive. It is about 40 meter from the beach. The rooms are modern and the bathroom is big with two showers. We booked a room with partial view of the ocean. If you stand on the balcony of your room you will see the ocean. Look at the price before you decide to book a room "with a view".
We also used the valet parking at the hotel. The prices are about the same as on the rest of the Ocean Drive. It is only $5,- a day more than self parking, so it is a perfect service.
You can hear sounds from the hallway because the door has an half a inch space at the bottom. Each floor has its own color and the is one floor red, as a dutchman I hat the "redlight district" feeling :-). To be honors it is clean.
There are no extras in the hotel, except the swimmingpool on the top floor. The pool can only be used to sit in because it is only 2 feet deep. You can see the ocean from the pool and there are enough towels available. You must use the roomkey to get to the topflor for the swimmingpool.
The complementary wireless internet was sometimes very slow and as a CEO of a software company annoying if I could nog get connected.
It is a perfect modern hotel with luxury rooms on the quit part of ocean drive with only a small walk to the Cleverlander or other clubs.
I also like the jogging in the early mornings on south beach, and I was not the only one. Great location in a great town.

Surroundings
Make sure that you arrive before 4:00 pm so you will not get stuck in a traffic at the end of the day. All visiters want to see Ocean Drive at night.

Room Tip: Room on the Ocean Drive site are bigger but you will be close to the noice of the compressor of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdwinOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
371 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

I had booked two rooms, one for us, one for the couple we were traveling with. The room itself was lovely and very big--a corner room, very spacious and modern, with a nice wrap-around balcony. But the lovely room came with a fairly steep price (the total for one couple came to over $650 for two nights). The hotel is very well-located in that it's only a block or so from the beach but away from a good deal of the noise, and with the exception of inconsiderate people in the hall, we slept very well. While the minimalist decor is very nice, I would have found it helpful for the room to have an armchair, for instance (there was plenty of space), and there were some omissions and inconsistencies--for the in-room coffee maker, only one packet of regular coffee with two packets of decaf; no cream or sugar; no luggage rack; etc. The desk clerks seem very nice, but they don't always have accurate information (one, for instance, said there was no cream or sugar available for in-room coffee, but then there was some in our room when we got back). We like the hotel very much, and the smell of fresh paint and sound of construction in the late afternoon tell us that the hotel is still working things out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grmpmbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris, france
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We were expecting to spend a grand last night in this hotel on Ocean Drive in South Beach and were attracted by a seeming discount of 40% off. Seeming only, because at 7:30 AM when the bulldoser, dump truck et. al. went into action on the road works 50 m from our hotel room, we understood that this was no discount!
We had already been disappointed by the appaling state of the shower and toilet the night beore (and you can often really judge the quality of a hotel by the state of the bathroom!): mouldy grouting, floor tile coming off, shower door that didn't want to close, bath-rug frayed and full of holes :-(
Only one person at reception (when he was there, because a friend had to call FOUR times to get though to our room, after landing on voice-mail the first THREE attempts!), not worthy of a wannabe high-end hotel, priced at over 200 USD/night.
Avoid this place at any cost, is our humble advice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burkele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pptrias, General Manager at Sense Beach House, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay at The Sense Hotel. I deeply apologize that you were unsatisfied with your stay in our hotel. In regards to the construction taking place outside the room this is a project that the city of Miami has been working on for the past 8 months but thankfully it has been completed, it is unfortunate that you were inconvinienced during your stay due to this. We take great pride in our rooms, all fixtures as well as our linen is brand new and high quality, and I am sorry that you were dissapointed by the state of the bathroom. I hope that in the future we will be able to show you just how great our hotel is and if you would consider staying with us again I can assure you that you will not be displeased.
Please contact me directly if travel needs should bring you to Miami Beach again, i will personally set up your accomidations and garuentee a flawless stay.

Patricia Trias, General Manager
ptrias@sensesobe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Hotel is ok. It is NOT on the beach. Had I known that I would have paid the extra 25 or 30 for resort property! Definitely not as good as its website makes it appear!! Had 30+ mosquitos in bathroom but front desk was unable to do anything but imply that we were lying! Pay no more than $100 per night. It was ok... Just not as advertised!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pptrias, General Manager at Sense Beach House, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay at The Sense Hotel. I apologize that you were unsatisfied with your stay in our hotel. It is unfortunate that you were not able to experience the best possible stay with us during your travels. Our hotel is conviniently located only half a block away from Miamis wonderful beaches. I am sorry that it appeared that the hotel staff was anything but concerned with your complaint. We are very responsible with our pest control and I apologize deeply for your inconvinience. I hope that you will reconsider staying with us again so that i can personally assure you the best possible stay in Miami.
Please contact me directly if your travels ever bring you to Miami again.

Patricia Trias, General Manager
ptrias@sensesobe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 204 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#65 of 204 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Blanc Kara
#41 of 204 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#28 of 204 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Pelican Hotel
#23 of 204 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Property: Sense Beach House
Address: 400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,002 - ₹ 27,502
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing