We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG..... illegal stuff going on here!!! slimy hotel stay away!!”
Review of Cardozo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cardozo Hotel
Ranked #141 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OMG..... illegal stuff going on here!!! slimy hotel stay away!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Before we booked the Cardoza we did our homework like always and were very disgusted with what we found. We found the rating of this hotel a Luxury hotel rating and being owned by Gloria Estefan, you would expect a decent hotel.
This was our pre-cruise hotel and we checked it to find smelly incense buring at the front reception, are the owners &^*%%... like come on, people are allergic to incense so not sure as to why they think there is nothing wrong with burning incense. The carpet in the hallways dirty and very run down.
The bathroom tub was so gross, run down dirty and felt grossed out showering in there, the tile on the bathroom floor run down and gross. The wall as so thin that you can hear a pin drop. Then we tried to go to sleep and the bed was the worst you can imagine and lumpy as we both had sore back, had to ask for 2 conforters, just to get some sleep at least. Then we get a lady of the night next door ( dont want to disgust you with the details) but we witnessed several different men in and out of the hotel and I tried to use cotton swabs in my ears to get some sleep but that didnt even work, this hotel caters to ladies of the night and that obvious. We tried to call around to see if we can moved hotel and no such luck. We had dinner at the cardoza hotel and the waiter suggested 2 for 1 drinks, we assumed it would be the norm, and when we got the bill it was 18.00 per drink... rip off!!!!! and all 3 nights we could not sleep as the girl next door was busy at work and making so much noise..... we even saw a john ask a hotel worker where the back door was and he was told....and i dont know how many times i knocked on the wall to tell the girl to shut up.... RUN DONT WALK FROM THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ItaliaWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    126
    69
    36
    28
See reviews for
42
132
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed in the Cardozo for 7nights over memorial weekend and overall the stay was pleasant but the few surprises we experienced on day one was disappointing. We were told to pay for incidentals as a deposit which cost $50 per day and we were staying for 7 nights. This was to cover protential costs from damages , mini bar in room which manager claims was worth $200 and any service charges made to the room and telephone usage. We were them booked into an unfurnished room so outdated nothing like the pictures. From what I could see the room was very clean but the pictures on the site of wooden interior flat screen TV and iPod dock was far from what we got. Instead we had a HiFI system from 2003 and a tv you find at an auction. The mini bar was locked and looked like a broken wooden door that was about to fall apart. I don't think drinks had ever been put in there. Seems laughable for the hotel to charge large deposits for a mini bar that doesn't excist and furniture that cost less than my handbag.

I think these rooms need updating and it's deceiving for paying guest as your expectation is squashed. On the other hand the room service was very efficient they came everyday changed our sheets and towels, so in terms of cleanliness I couldn't complain. The bathroom was reasonable sized with a walk in shower. In terms of storage there is none so had to live out of our suitcases. If you want somewhere basic no luxuries then this is fine, but I would suggest you ask for a newly furnished room will get more for your money and maybe even a mini bar lol.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chellzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Nice clean rooms at a good value.
We spent two nights at the Cardozo. The service left something to be desired but if you're on a budget, this is a clean hotel with nice rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olsoncjj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Maintenance never came to fix a blocked toilet. Lift (only 1) broke down; had to lug luggage down and then up stairs to reception. Reception staff not very obliging. Not a "silent" hotel as party/music noise comes up from street up until at least midnight. Although it's this party vibe that makes the place charming.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pompano beach
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2012

the watress who serve on the patio are tire, no smiling and short service
Next time for flyer forget it price is god but the service is sad

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquesb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Cavalier South Beach
#73 of 208 in Miami Beach
153 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 208 in Miami Beach
544 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#84 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,195 reviews
The Tides South Beach
#66 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,176 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardozo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardozo Hotel

Property: Cardozo Hotel
Address: 1300 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4210
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,754 - ₹ 25,900
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardozo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Ocean Drive, the hotel offers a variety of magnificent deluxe suites, superior ocean view suites, and standard room accommodations. Set in the heart of South Beach, you are within walking distance of the best restaurants, lounges, and nightclubs Miami Beach has to offer. The Cardozo Hotel offers the finest in service, location, and comfort in one of the most exciting and trend-setting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cardozo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardozo Hotel Miami Beach
Cardozo Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing