We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the other mid-priced South Beach hotels...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #49 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Better than the other mid-priced South Beach hotels...”
Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night at the end of Winter Music Conference 2012. Got a good deal through Hotels.com, although the price didn't include the 'amenites' charge (read: 'tourist rip-off' -more about that later). This hotel is right on Collins, so it's obviously not going to be the quietest spot, but if you're going out clubbing all weekend it probably won't matter to you anyway, and this hotel is literally in the heart of it all. The decor is clean, modern and bright, the rooms well appointed (although no hairdryer, girls!), the bathroom very clean with a lovely rain shower, some toiletries and robes to borrow. Gym is not on site and an extra $11. Compared to other, similar but more expensive hotels on South Beach (e.g. The Catalina) this hotel was good value, although The Catalina was such a cesspit it makes a dumpster seem 5 star (stayed there about 3 years ago). Again it was not a quiet stay, with car horns and traffic all night, other guests screaming down the corridors at 5am and then a 6.20am wake up call we did NOT request.

The 'ameneties' fee: when we checked in, the desk guy said, 'all your taxes and fees are paid via Hotels.com, you owe nothing.' I asked (having seen it on these reviews) 'does that include the amenites fee?' Chap replied, 'yep. Fully paid.' The next morning upon check out, a different desk clerk tells us, 'all you have left to pay is the amenites fee.' We mentioned that we had expressly been told that this was covered the night before, especially as we had used none of the listed amenites. The clerk was adamant that we pay it, and only gave in after my husband pointed out that they might like to waive it for the inconvenience of being woken up at 6.20am by a wake up call we did not order. I get the feeling this 'fee' is one of those things that tourists end up paying in cash, don't get a reciept for and the charge never appears anywhere - funnily enough they asked for it after giving us our reciept, so I'll leave you to work out where the money goes... but to be honest, as rip-off's on South Beach go, this one is quite minor.

If you're looking for peace and quiet this is not for you, but if you want a place to crash on South Beach in between clubbing and beaches at a good price (some offers include breakfast) and don't mind noise, this is a clean, comfortable option.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Kitty548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    631
    176
    101
    61
See reviews for
201
705
85
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I came to SoBe for a mini vacation. I liked the location and the price was reasonable. I was almost put off because our room looked out onto the alley. We got settled in and I realized how little street noise there was and how lucky we were to get such a

There are both pros and cons to this hotel. The cons first: there is no dresser - just a drawer in the nightstand to put clothes in. The pool is still under construction. I know, I read the reviews but couldn't imagine it would take so long to finish. Housekeeping didn't come to make up our room until after 4 pm and we were resting from a long day at the beach so all I did was get clean towels.

The pros: everyone at the front desk has been helpful and pleasant. The beds are very comfortable. The shower is awesome. The continental breakfast is decent but not fabulous. Everything is clean and well decorated. The robes are a nice touch and the wifi works well.

It is worth a stay here if you aren't up for the prices on Ocean Ave or at the Ritz.


Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank photobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Hotel is average at best, it's within walking distance to the beach and many restaurants . The hotel is being remodeled so it is pretty noisy and the pool is not usable and the hotel looks way better on line than when you get there . We asked for a 2 bed room and got a room with 1 bed and a roll-away , so make sure you check before finalizing your reservation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Within walking distance to the beach, malls and restaurants. Only breakfast is served at
the hotel. We stayed in a refurbished room but it felt half done. No mirrors in the room, no drain in the bathtub and the spackling job done in the bathroom looked like it had been done by amateurs. (I would have made them redo it) Breakfast had a good variety, fruit and water was available 24 hours a day. The front desk personal was helpful and recommended some good restaurants. The hotel has many split levels you must be mobile (climb stairs) to
get around. Room and a/c was noisy. No parking but they do have a valet.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDDots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed here for a bachlorette party and were concerned about the recent renovations, but the hotel was in a great location, the rooms were very clean and modern. We heard no noise from the construction. They had a nice breakfast and snacks. The staff was nice and dealt with issues immediately. I would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psquare2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,724 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Essex House
#52 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,851 reviews
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#79 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,434 reviews
Dream South Beach
#51 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,446 - ₹ 20,438
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection is ideally located on Collins Avenue, combining two historic Miami Beach hotels via an arched breezeway. Unwind in the relaxation pool at this Florida beauty or on the sky-lit patio with breathtaking views of South Beach. Enjoy our fresh take on modern American fare and crafted cocktails at FIX restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Miami Beach
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing