We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #50 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My wife wanted to visit South Beach on our Florida Keys Vacation. The reason why I picked the Blue Moon Hotel was due to reviews from Trip Advisor and the price of the hotel was less than other hotels in the area. The hotel was a decent place to stay. The rooms were outdated and small, but comfortable. The view from the window of our room was looking at the alley. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was good. We were able to walk around South Beach and check out the beach area along with the various places to see around there. Some of the negatives was it cost us $25 to valet our rental car and they tacked on $10 for amenities whether we used them or not. The breakfast that was offerred with the amenities was decent. The beach was within walking distance if you wanted to use it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwillini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 894 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

For a three star class venue a decent enough experience. Pleasurable experience with their sister location The Winterhaven so selected the Blue Moon on this run. Rooms in the second building have gone through selected renovations and I purposely asked for that wing in my reservation. The rooms were simple, very clean and modern enough. The cliental was not the riffraff that typically Collins attracts so it was very quiet. The beds on the other-hand were on the cheap and generally not the most comfortable. Staff was good enough to upgrade me after a minor complaint. Excellent location. Good choice and recommended but don't expect a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdottony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

After a 9 hour flight to Miami, 2 hours passport control queue, 30 mins taxi journey I had a great welcome at the Blue Moon Hotel. From the guy who grabbed my bag at the hotel entrance to the reception staff, and the lady serving at the bar; they were all very friendly. I got charged an extra $10 resort tax on arrival which gave you $5 off at the bar and continental breakfast in the morning, snack in the afternoon (if you are still there) not bad really + free wifi (all said in previous reviews). I was shown to my room which was actually larger than I expected in Miami to be honest with an equally large bathroom. I headed to the bar and got a drink, not having looked at options for dinner before the trip the lady at the bar explained that the restaurant was not open for dinner and much of the hotel was being renovated (I had seen no evidence of this I may add); however that there were various options for food in the area or she had a great selection of menu's for delivery if I wanted. I went back to my room and decided to go for a walk to get some pizza, at that tme noticed that I had water coming in from the ceiling near the bedroom and bathroom windows...I phoned reception and 5 mins later maintance arrived who said they would check if there was something wrong in the room upstairs and was likely I would need to move rooms. 10 mins later I had not heard back so I called again.. reception said they were trying to move me. Shortly after this I was moved to the room next door which did not have a leaking celing, but was a lot smaller! I then went out for pizza, just around the block about 9.30 pm I guess, I visited Pizza Rustica - great pizza.. not sure if the area is as safe as the bar lady told me... just be careful if you are on your own!

In addition I can agree with others comments about the showers.. it took ages to get hot and the pressure was terrible. Having already moved rooms and was tired I really could not be bothered to tell reception and maybe moved again (so I guess this could have been rectified if I had told them). I had a great sleep, bed quality was good, room was not noisy, breakfast the next day was standard continental, check out 12..

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The location is amazing. The blue moon is in the heart of Miami Beach. The staff is great, and always ready to assist. The rooms were really small, but how much time do you really need to spend in your hotel room when you are in Miami Beach?
I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontezumaSocialClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This is the equivalent of a Hampton Inn anywhere else.

Cheap $4 Wal-Mart pillow. I think there were more comfortable pillows on my United flight.

Noise from the lobby on the tile floor was ridiculous.

Shower was awful, hot water didn't work. Front desk told me that you had to let it run....for sometimes 10 minutes for it to heat up. It's close to the action, but it ain't 4 stars.

Free WiFi though for me to find another hotel.

The pool info suggests a hot tub, but none exists. There is a timer switch for the non-existant hot tub on the wall though. So....

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. Don't stay on floor number 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Dream South Beach
#48 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,328 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#94 of 212 in Miami Beach
781 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,766 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#20 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: ₹ 10,444 - ₹ 29,322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection is ideally located on Collins Avenue, combining two historic Miami Beach hotels via an arched breezeway. Unwind in the relaxation pool at this Florida beauty or on the sky-lit patio with breathtaking views of South Beach. Enjoy our fresh take on modern American fare and crafted cocktails at FIX restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Miami Beach
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing