We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky and wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #9 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Funky and wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

This is such a great hotel- it is right across the street from the beach. The hotel arranges for your chair, towel, and umbrella. The roof bar and meditation garden are so great. Drawback is that bar closes at 6. We were there poetry month and poems are left on your pillow each night. The walls are filled with photos of writers and artists. The staff is great. Highly recommend

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank DIane8015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,670
    471
    143
    58
    26
See reviews for
482
1,181
95
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My mother and I stayed at the Betsy for 7 nights and we loved every minute of it. The decor is beautiful, incredibly stylish and tasteful, the location at the calmer end of Ocean Drive just perfect.
The food quality and presentation at BLT (the restaurant) is also second to none. Steaks are cooked to perfection and the warm freshly baked bread is to die for!
The biggest asset is the staff however. The management must be congratulated on their hiring and staffing policy - they have assembled a great team. Everyone was incredibly courteous, helpful and charming - from the doorman to the housekeeping maids, waiters, concierges... The front of house team - Adnan in particular did everything they could to make us feel welcome and comfortable.
Miami Beach has a lot of stylish hotels but the Betsy delivers on all fronts - highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We have stayed in many of the haunts in SB over the years: The Setai, the Delano, The Fountableu, etc. This is by far my favorite . The rooms are modern/classical meaning not the disco-romping, thumpy-bumpy crazy over-the-top you get at many other SB hotels. If you want to stay near the action but not be up all night hearing it, this is the hotel to consider. I saw many folks with children, and many that looked young and newly married. The rooms are beautiful, white decor with lime green accents. We had a suite which was perfect for us and well stocked (mini-bar, amenities). The staff was friendly and professional and BLT was a great place to have lunch. Excellent wines at the bar and very homey kind of atmosphere. I would stay here again for the location, the staff, the room and the food. The pool looked nice also though the weather was not cooperating for us to try it. Overall, great place.

Room Tip: None of the rooms has much of a view so ask for something toward the back and quiet if you do not wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manymiles2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Betsy to get some sunshine and a break for a quick get-a-way (3 days). Cute lobby, enclosed pool, clean room with great tolietries. Not too modern like other nearby hotels and smaller feel. Beach is right across the street and we spent most of our time there. Roof top terrace great to enjoy the early evening. Small work out room but good running path along the beach. We enjoyed the location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksailfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We (two parents and a teenager) only stayed for a one-night pre-cruise, but were very happy with The Betsy Hotel. While the room was a bit on the small side, we expected as much given the vintage of the hotel, so no grounds for disappointment. Everything was sparkling and clean and the staff was very friendly and competent. BLT steak was good and worked to accomodate our needs (exceptionally windy evening, so they moved our reservation from outside to inside with little trouble even though the restaurant was full).
The Betsy is just far enough north of the BOOMING party scene that you can enjoy a peaceful stay, yet stroll easily to the fun.
If we stay in South Beach again, we'll certainly book The Betsy again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank appletony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,347 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#10 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,982 - ₹ 61,068
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing