We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classiest Hotel on South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #15 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classiest Hotel on South Beach”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Betsy exudes class from the minute you see its exterior. It sits between the louder establishments and the high rise hotels and residences. Quiet yet close enough to everything to have the night of your choosing. We had originally booked a Master King Suite which we discovered was a beautiful room with a view of an alley. Wanting a view of the ocean we switched to a much smaller room on the 3rd floor but with beautiful palm tree and beach views. If a view of the ocean is important, ask for 3rd floor facing Ocean Drive, it was worth the reduced space. The beach is a minute walk across Ocean Dr and the boardwalk. The hotel has an agreement with a vendor on the beach for chairs, umbrellas and towels. Very professional and friendly outfit. A quick shout out to Robert at the hotel who consistently pointed out the best places to shop, eat, etc. He made our trip great. The rooftop has comfortable couches, a bar and terrific vuews of the ocean Service is very quick and friendly thoughout the hotel. If you want to experience South Beach but get a good night sleep, value service and a beautiful hotel..look no further.

Room Tip: 3rd floor facing Ocean Drive if you want a view of the ocean (partially obstructed by palm trees)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,770
    505
    157
    64
    34
See reviews for
517
1,245
101
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Well this had a lot to live up to given our two previous hotels but The Betsy has a charm all of her own, and was a wonderful experience. The room was small compared to the other hotels we had stayed in on our trip but in keeping with the Art Deco period. The staff were very helpful and the food was excellent. I had Lobster which was divine but the baked potato that was served with it was the size of a small country and the best thing I have ever tasted...go figure. I was only sorry I couldn't manage to eat it all or bring it home with me!! Great location, one of the best on Ocean Drive as its away from the noise. Big Red the in house singer was fantastic, give him a topic and he would make up a song there and then, he even made up a song for us about our honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We loved our stay there. Super friendly/helpful staff. Great design/look/feel. Great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 280Randy280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed for 2 days with my family after having spent 5 days in the Keys. The Betsy is all what we are looking for : exceptional location, cosy/charming/high class hotel, incredible attention from the employees (not too much, just the perfect attention), small rooms for a family but all brand new with a mix of high tech & 'colonial' touch. What you see in the Deco magazines is all at The Betsy. It has been a long time I did not spend such a good time in a hotel. Congratulations to the owner and the staff, we will come back next year, but for a week this time

Room Tip: Room facing the pool is really calm and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sebastien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Checking in late at the betsy is a risky business, they happen to be overbooked and give you a room with view on the backyard instead of the ocean, if you do not ask for a suite you get a really thiny room, do not be overweight because you shall not fit in their shower, if you try to leave the hotel because you are disappointed they charge you half rate , for an upgrading with a view being the only left room they charge 600 usd on top of the 490 usd and by the way tbone steaks are overcooked, it takes 65 minutes to get them on your table, breakfast takes 40 minutes to cook an egg which will be overrated, the building is indeed in the art nouveau district but overshaded by a new skycatchter , the swimmingpool lies inbetween to buildings, forget about the sun, an experience of course, but a sad one , is this slh?do you really want to go ?

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean suite or stay at home and do not expect quiteness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roosje188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,387 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,518 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,896 reviews
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,992 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,624 - ₹ 47,674
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing