We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miami beach at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #13 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Beautiful decorated, very classy and prone to details. Room was small but spacious enough for 2 nights with good storage room. Bathroom was also small but with a TV integrated in the mirror. Very fancy! Water-pressure is shower was a bit weak. Rooftop terrace is great and offers lounge chairs and a wonderful view onto the ocean. On the beach itself towels and beach-beds are for free. Location at the upper end of ocean drive is much calmer than on the lower end; Lincoln road is in close reach. Breakfast is a la carte and offers a lot of choices. We had dinner at the famous steak restaurant of Betsy with excellent food and attentive service. A really pleasant stay all over !

Room Tip: The rooms facing the patio / pool are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anjaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,803 - 1,807 of 2,648 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife & I stayed 3 nights at the Betsy over the President's Day weekend. From the time we arrived until check-out, we felt very comfortable at the hotel and pleased with our decision to stay there. The front-desk staff was always very personable. The room was extremely clean, well-maintained and beautifully decorated. The standard room was a bit small, but was nicely furnished and never felt overcrowded. Wasn't much of a view facing north. The bathroom was also small, but nicely renovated and clean. Turn-down service and the interesting book collection were a nice plus. A/C and lighting were also very good.

The Betsy’s attention to detail is evident throughout the hotel. The lobby lounge, front patio and roof deck were all very nice areas to begin or end your day. I would have liked to see more food service on the roof. The hotel’s décor is very clean and classic, and we enjoyed the interesting art and photography. On our last day we had brunch at BLT, and would highly recommend it.

The hotel’s location at the end of Ocean Drive was a perfect location - it’s situated on the corner of a nice block that has less commotion than other parts of Ocean Drive, but still a short walk to the nightlife of the bigger hotels.

The guests were a mix of couples and families. Overall, we had a great visit to Miami and it started with our stay at the Betsy. We look forward to returning on our next visit with the kids.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed, a family of 4 and the 2 rooms we had we roomy and had enough amenities. The toned down colour palette has you feeling like you are still living in the 80's. BLT Steak at the base is a solid steak house just do not get a seafood dish. Staff is friendly and spoke french so the service is appreciated.

Room Tip: Ocean Front is for the couples, otherwise save yourself the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This recently renovated and reopened semi-historic hotel is located in the heart of, or very near to the heart of South Beach. Pros: Lots of entertainment, fine restaurants within walking distance. Elegant low-key lobby. Extremely clean, perfectly maintained, beautifully decorated guest room. Excellent temperature control. Minimal street noise from partiers. Room safe holds laptop plus camera. First-rate shampoo, body wash. Attentive staff. Prompt check-in and check-out. Fantastic photography collection in hallways.
Cons: Small guest room. Small bathroom, though well laid out so two can use at same time. Early morning noise from garbage trucks and door banging in hotel hallways (typical of most hotels). No in-room coffee maker. No self-service ice machine. Pillow-top mattresses extremely soft and mushy. Tiny elevator (holds two with luggage), but stairway works as hotel has only three stories plus roof garden.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParkLover_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for your review and I'm glad you were able to experience the entertainment The Betsy offers on Wednesday and Thursday nights. However, I'm sorry to hear you were disturbed in the morning from our neighbors garbage trucks. We are currently working on a way to resolve this issue to prevent it from happening.

Please do not hesitate contacting me directly in the future should I be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Cory Randolph
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at The Betsy in January, 2012. The room was spacious (we were upgraded to a suite) and very modern and clean. The hotel is centrally located and walking distance to many South Beach sights. It is beachfront, with a local park between the hotel and the beach. We loved the rooftop lounge. The only reason it is not a 5-star rating is that we were awoken at night by footsteps in the room above us. Also, we did not feel the concierge knowledgeable about various options when we spoke to him. Otherwise, it was a fantastic experience. I still would recommend the hotel and would return there. I would hope that the hotel will fully carpet the upper floors to reduce the noise. I know we weren't the first to notice this.

Room Tip: Top floor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacatrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBetsyHotel, Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Vacatrip 1,

Thank you for telling others about your experience as it's greatly appreciated. I'm also glad the minor shortcomings that occurred didn't greatly impact your overall stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Cory Randolph
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,669 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#51 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,956 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#25 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#15 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,641 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#14 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,946 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#5 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: ₹ 18,090 - ₹ 65,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing