We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very attractive place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #38 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very attractive place to stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I was pleased to see an elderly couple come in, as, until that moment, I was the senior guest by some distance, with my wife a fairly distant second. That, however, did nothing to reduce the enjoyment of our brief stay where we found the hotel, the accommodation, the amenities, food, and certainly the staff, to be very good. Although the much younger crowd were clearly enjoying themselves there was none of the brash ill-mannered sefishness we have witnessed elsewhere. Nobody was shouting down the mobile phone (cell) as though that instrument was redundant, which is really quite rare. If our travels take to South Beach again we would look to book The Mondrian. DovH

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you David. As you evidenced, we cater to the young and young at heart. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,201
    814
    294
    144
    115
See reviews for
465
1,376
211
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

While our room was generously big and featured a fancy design, the noise insulation was absolutely POOR! You had the impression that the people passing in the corridor were talking inside your room, which is of a particular pleasure in the middle of the night. Laundry service isn't reliable, pool bar service extremely slow. Overall a fancy design hotel, but from a service point lagging behind.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the elevator and ice machine. A room to the west with a balcony is a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingmermoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
We are sorry for your experience. Please check your email for correspondence from me. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I love the view of the yachts and dock from the room. This is a nice hotel but was not the most clean. The suite I stayed in was spacious. But the comforter was dusty and I found several hairs on the sheet. I am big on cleanliness, so this was a disappointment. I loved the decor and the facilities though. And the staff were very pleasant. Please note that I stayed in March 2010.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prettykey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you. We hope you will come back--we've made great strides in the two years since you've stayed with us.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Amazing Design and Decor...just WOW!!!..Contemp juxtaposed with stark mid century modern pieces in an all Miami white setup and a wall mural that just pops!!!!! I am not an interior designer so don't know how to put the design into words...but it just stunning, stark and very well done. The stunning design theme starts from the driveway all the way into every wall and room in the building. The attention to detail is unbelievable. This is a true South Beach worthy Hotel...

We stayed for a weekend and had a chance to be there for the Sunday pool party. The pool area is amazing with modern design touches and the beautiful Miami downtown views..The crowd is less spring break and more 25 to 45. That set the tone of the pool atmosphere. Its beautiful people all around and the sunset views over the ocean are majestic.

We were in a suite (1 bedroom-ocean facing) and the room was spotless. The design theme from the lobby continued into the room decor. The walls, lighting and the decor was clean, modern, efficient and still very classy. No cost cutting anywhere. The USP of the hotel is design and the waterfront location...and it delivers 200% on these fronts. Its all 7 stars till here...

Now comes the customer service and the front desk staff. Pathetic!!!!!
The hotel checkin time was 4pm and we were not assigned the room till 6:30 pm. We arrived at 3pm and had called them in advance to let them know of our arrival time and a request to be checked in on time. When we arrived, we were told the room was not ready and that it would be ready by 4:30. They asked us to provide a number so that they can call us once the room was ready. Mind you, there is no lobby seating to wait except outside, around the pool area. So we waited till 5pm, there was no call and we went back and checked again. No apologies offered and again asked to wait for 30 minutes, this cycle continued till we finally got a room at 6:30pm. Annoying!!! We decided to take advantage of the pool while waiting, but could not as all the beds were gone, as they also offer the beds to non-resident guests and thus a long waiting line. We were essentially drenching in the sun without a pool bed to relax on or a room that we paid for. Mind you the weekend was busy, but the rooms were not fully occupied. they could have easily put us in another level of room if they wanted to. The front desk staff (especially managers) are not courteous and just have a sense of entitlement in their tones. Mind you this a property on the other side of SoBe (facing downtown---opposite of ocean drive or collins), so there is nothing to do around the property when you are waiting. Based on what you pay to stay at these properties..one deserves basic courtesy. And I am assuming this could be one-off experience. But I read this in a couple of other reviews as well. So please be mindful of the trend.

I want to give 5 to the property and 0 for the service.....But I will give them the benefit of the doubt and leave a 4. It was our first stay at a Morgans group hotel...they do live up to the design reputation....but need a lot of work on the customer service front....What they forget is one is hollow without the other....

Room Tip: All rooms are great..the waterfront rooms have stunning vistas!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Desert_King_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your recent visit. We're happy you enjoyed the room product but sincerely apologize for the lack of service you encountered at the Front Desk. As your experience falls below our high standards we have addressed the matter accordingly. We are glad you enjoyed the upgrade and late checkout and hope you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozen
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

after Nov 2011 I stayed again at the Mondrian with my wife and my 18-month-old baby for a week. We appreciated a lot the generous size of the room, the complimentary extra 4 hours on our day of departure, the heated pool with all the action of the Delano, but with a bit less drama, the proximity to Whole Foods (remarkable retailer for us Europeans), the good gym and the fact that Wilhelmina Models has its offices on the thied floor (my wife has an agency in Europe, too).

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campeao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you. We're delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay here and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
2.0 km away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#57 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,390 reviews
4.0 km away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,015 reviews
2.6 km away
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#36 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,533 reviews
1.8 km away
SLS South Beach
SLS South Beach
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,137 reviews
1.9 km away
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#44 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Property: Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4749
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,184 - ₹ 32,551
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing