We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but that is about it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cadet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cadet Hotel
Ranked #77 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location but that is about it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I was in Miami Beach for a convention. The good news is you can walk from the hotel to the convention center In about five minutes. But... My room measured 12X12 feet. The closet had a door that was 5 feet tall. There was no desk to work at, there was nowhere in the bathroom for a glass and your shaving gear at the same time and the cockroaches were olympic size. I read about the complaints about the front desk and did not find any of the rude behavior but I found them ineffective in fixing problems. My toilet ran continuously and despite telling the desk three times it was never fixed. Oh... Did I mention there is no thermostat to control the air conditioner. If you are a guy at a meeting it will save you some $ to stay here. Just don't bring your wife she won't like it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2dogsAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    321
    86
    30
    28
See reviews for
77
485
66
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

on march 27, 2012 i had the displeasure of being a guest at the cadet hotel. upon checking in i was told that only 2 people would be allowed to stay in the room. i had 3 ppl (counting me) but only 2 were going to stay the night. one of my friends was to leave for the airport after we had went to dinner. after dinner, i had to go to walgreens to pick up a few items so i gave my key to my 2 female friends so that the one could begin to gather her luggage and travel to the airport. i very quickly received a frantic phone call from one of them saying that upon trying to enter the hotel a very rude gentlemen working the front desk cussed them in broken english (not spanish) and physically assaulted the african american women. the woman that was assaulted called the police. upon my arrival i entered the hotel and tried to explain the situation to the pakistani gentlemen to which he shoved me against the front door cutting my back on the metal door handle. the police then arrived and explained that the gentleman working the front desk had insisted that we leave and it was best if we gathered our belongings and left the hotel. i wanted to press charges for assault but the police explained that in this case all parties involved would be taken to jail. not wanting to be a guest of miami dade for the night, we left and went to another hotel.

i have contacted the hotel management regarding this issue. it has been 2 days and not even a response.

***DO NOT STAY HERE*** -- there are way too many hotels in the south beach area that offer much better accommodations and service at a better value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank whodey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel was wonderful! After reading review after review of average hotels in South Beach I was getting very worried we would not find anywhere good. However, I read the reviews about the Cadet Hotel and was not disapppointed! When we arrived there was fresh fruit in the room, a summary of the weather for the duration of our stay, chocolates on the bed and water and ice ready for us. The room was cosy with everything you could need for a comfortable stay. The daily turn down service was appreciated! The location was fantastic; very close to Lincoln road mall and the beach but quiet with it. The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. If you go to Miami, stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carys250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curacao
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Everything was very good. The hotel is very well located. The hotel is very clean and people are very helpful.

Room Tip: do your research
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 854Dolores123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Never sure what we are going to find in South Beach during Spring Break, especially as we are well out of that demographic. This place was perfect, and we would have stayed longer except they were full and we had to move on. The location is great, very handy to the shops and restaurants in Lincoln Road Mall. No rowdy Breakers in ajoining rooms either - fairly peaceful, especially when compared to other hotels we have stayed in. The staff are helpful and the daily chocolate and water bottle was appreciated. Breakfast is served on a patio off the reception area and is tasty and well presented. The rooms are small, but comfortable and cosy - would happily come back again, if we could get in.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevino101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#85 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#54 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
El Paseo Hotel
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#66 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Property: Cadet Hotel
Address: 1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,624 - ₹ 21,867
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach
Cadet Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing