We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Most eclectic hotel I have ever stayed in! Fantastic 2 days!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #29 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Most eclectic hotel I have ever stayed in! Fantastic 2 days!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

My husband and I arrived to the hotel early...very early (around 8 am) for a much later check in as our cruise ship had already docked. We went ahead and went to the hotel and they kept our bags, and our cell phone number so they could call when a room was ready (Viva Las Vegas). The room was FUN, FUN, FUN. There was no view from this room, but we it didn't matter, there was plenty to see from the cafe. We had coffee at the Pelican Cafe (waited on by a lovely lady named Lillian). We then went and walked on the beach (which is conveniently right across the street) and did some sight seeing. We were called about 11:45 am that our room was ready and when we arrived back at the hotel, our bags were already in the room with a bottle of water, and a promise of free drinks from 4 - 6 pm (not just a drink, but drinks). We went to the beach (the free beach chairs were amazing from the Boucher Brothers - thickly padded and with a nice terry cover that stayed on). We had drinks and appetizers at the Cafe (the aquamarina seafood appetizer was great - served again by Lillian) when we returned from the beach (a fabulous place to people watch). We were so close to everything...restaurants, shopping, the beach! We couldn't have asked for anyting better. The only change I would make is to put a shelf in the shower...had to put shampoo and soap on the floor, but no complaints, just a small thing. Had breakfast/coffee each morning at the cafe and drinks each afternoon. Julio was so accommodating and friendly (as was everyone we encountered at the Pelican). I would go back to the Pelican for a get away again and again!

Room Tip: Our room was not noisy, but was not on the front of the hotel. If you are on the front with an ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hopefulangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    311
    87
    26
    31
See reviews for
69
591
61
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

My first time there.A wonderful experience.When we arrived I noticed how attentive and friendly the staff was. The check in was smooth. The room clean. So relaxing. House cleaning was in twice a day. Love the decore.The staff always smiling and very helpful. The cafe's were also excotic. The food was exceptional. Perfect location with the beach right across the street. Will I return? You bet!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed here with 2 friends it was great!!! In the middle of everything!! Clean rooms and great staff, I must say this suite was great however; the third bed was not suitable for an additional adult. I would stay there again but no more than 2 in a room.

Room Tip: The corner suite is large and sunny, great 50's details!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarlemB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lupe C, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear HarlemB,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our TripAdvisor page. We look forward to the pleasure of your return.

Myself and the entire Pelican team is at your complete disposal.

Regards,

Lupe Castillo
General Manager
305 673 3373 x 102
lupe@pelicanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We needed a last minute hotel near Miami International Airport and the Pelican seemed like a good fit. We had a pleasant 2 night stay, and as others have mentioned, the staff are very friendly and helpful. We walked to the nearby News Cafe for breakfast, which was always good. The hotel's restaurant was really lovely- fresh and imaginative dishes, coupled with impressive service. Loved the risotto!

It was nice to be right on the beach- a perfect location after 4 weeks of non-stop travel in the USA and South America. It would've been nice to have a pool on site, but that wouldn't stop me from staying here again in the future.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaudiaTruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights recently. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. They were courteous and professional. The location of the hotel is wonderful as it sits directly across the street from the beach, and is close to a nice shopping area that runs parallel to the street the hotel sits on.

The room we stayed in was called Viva Las Vegas: Very kitschy in my opinion. The bed felt like a futon, very hard, very flat. The linnens were clean and you could feel that the quality of the linenes and towels were good. The futon like feel of the bed made it very uncomfortable. The bathroom was clean, no frills "industrial type" shower. The most disappointing was when I pulled out a drawer a saw a cockroach! BIG TURNOFF! Would I stay at this hotel again? Not likely. It did not have the "luxury feel" to it that I would have liked. Again, I need to stress that the staff was very nice and professional.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chickee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#48 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
0.1 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#49 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.6 km away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#37 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#93 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
0.2 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#94 of 203 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Property: Pelican Hotel
Address: 826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,079 - ₹ 27,298
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing