We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kent Hotel
Ranked #127 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Lindenhurst, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

A few of us took my cousin for her birthday to Miami for the weekend back in December. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel. The price was right up our alley and the location was great. Walking distance to a lot of great places including the beach. I had read a couple of reviews that mentioned Francois and I must say, he lived up to all the great things I read! He helped us organize nights out that left us with nothing much to do except have a great time. The hotel was very accomodating and the staff was fantastic. We loved it so much that now we're going back this weekend for my own birthday!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandersNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    248
    221
    101
    87
See reviews for
111
291
50
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Me and a few girlfriends stayed at the Kent for 4 days recently and we had a blast. The room was clean and up to date. I loved the fact the bathroom had one of those stretch out magnifying mirrors because that really helped when it was time to put on makeup! My only complaint about the hotel is that the room we were in was small and the the elevator was difficult to maneuver with large suitcases. It was 4 of us in a room. it was JUST ENOUGH space for all of us. We did have to shimmy past the little table that was sticking out over the fridge. However, I knew the room wasn't going to be huge, but that little ledge made it very difficult to get our luggage past it. The location of the hotel was excellent, we just walked a block over and we were on ocean dr. The front desk guy, Jose, he became our bff! He was awesome. He let us do an early check in and a late checkout. He was very helpful with everything and he made our experience there a joy. He recommended to us a great Cuban restaurant. I also appreciated how housekeeping was on top of it. You know how some hotels housekeeping never knocks on your door, they knocked on our door every morning to clean the room. We didn't eat at the restaurant there, but they did play good music. Overall I was very pleased with my stay at the Kent hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel2008cdrtdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for the great review, our rooms are an average size for most boutique hotels in South Beach, and actually larger than others as they are roughly between 350sq. ft. to 400sq. ft., but we will concur that for four people with lots of bags space can be tight - we are glad to know that despite that you were still happy with your overall stay and we welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton, ab
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Front desk could really use some customer service skills. A little smile and politeness goes a long way to your paying customers. The hallway smelled of weed. The sheets had stains on them and the room could definitely have been cleaner. The air conditioner in the room was really loud and the people stomping around/having domestics in the hallway at all hours of the night made it almost impossible to sleep. The location is great but unless you want to party the whole time you're there (you'd need to be drunk and passed out to get a decent night sleep) stay somewhere else.

I have never written a negative review and I've traveled all over Europe/South Pacific. This place was a bad decision.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Janet, please contact me when you can at sales@thekenthotel.com, your review does not reflect what our establishment strives for and what our product provides, I would like to get more details on what room you stayed in and when so that we can look into your complaints and correct them as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

A few girlfriends and I stayed at the Kent Hotel for a girls weekend and had a blast! We were aiming for a wild weekend in South Beach on a budget, and thats exactly what we got. The hotel staff were super nice and accommodating (heres a special shoutout to Francois, Juan, and the guy with the light eyes!) and the housekeeping staff was hilarious. The hotel is just around the corner from the beach and all the fun bars and clubs in South Beach. If you're looking for something clean, affordable, and conveniently located with a helpful staff, this is it!The rooms are really nice and relatively simple, which worked for us because the time spent in the room was kept to a minimum. We can't wait to plan another trip down to Miami and we will definitely be staying at the Kent. If anyone says otherwise about this place, they are cray cray!
PS- The gyro place across the street is crazy delicious and nights out should definitely end there.

Room Tip: Book through the hotel's website to get a better deal! We got a 10% discount for booking 3 or mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobby2990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review, glad to hear staff made your stay worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Im writing this at 1130 pm in my room at the Kent Hotel because I can't sleep.

I was terribly worried as I was trying to check in, 2 different parties were complaining on their way out. Staff wasn't rude, but sure haven't taken any courses on friendliness.

The air conditioner is terribly loud and continually on, and it's far too hot to turn off. The toilet makes a loud refilling noise every 5 or so minutes and because of the age of the building, you can hear everyone come and go.

This is the first time that I have complained about my hotel, flight, excursion, trip, etc online, so I feel pretty strongly about it.

The instant I walked into my room I honestly wondered if it was at one time a social housing project. The pictures online (even the ones left my past guests) do not do justice on how disappointed I was with the place.

The location is fantastic, but what's the point if i cant sleep? I will be looking at other hotels in the morning.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ground floor and the in house restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teambrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Guest, its painful just reading your review, but it seems so many things could have been very easy fixes, this being written on a Sunday with inventory left, I would have suggested a simple room move to quell some of your fears - please contact me at your earliest convenience at sales@thekenthotel.com, I would like to know the full details of your stay and see what we could do for you for all your troubles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Ocean Reef Suites
#133 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
The Colony Hotel
#171 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Shelley
#92 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#77 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,048 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kent Hotel

Property: The Kent Hotel
Address: 1131 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,598 - ₹ 17,978
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco district, only one block from the beach, the Kent is like a playground for adults. Its 59 stylishly appointed rooms reflect the fun and flair of Miami Beach. The Kent, a South Beach Hotel is a perfect choice for guests who enjoy stylistic fusion, convenience and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Hotel Miami Beach
Kent Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing