We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of The Kent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Kent Hotel
Ranked #108 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Raleigh, NC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A few girlfriends and I stayed at the Kent Hotel for a girls weekend and had a blast! We were aiming for a wild weekend in South Beach on a budget, and thats exactly what we got. The hotel staff were super nice and accommodating (heres a special shoutout to Francois, Juan, and the guy with the light eyes!) and the housekeeping staff was hilarious. The hotel is just around the corner from the beach and all the fun bars and clubs in South Beach. If you're looking for something clean, affordable, and conveniently located with a helpful staff, this is it!The rooms are really nice and relatively simple, which worked for us because the time spent in the room was kept to a minimum. We can't wait to plan another trip down to Miami and we will definitely be staying at the Kent. If anyone says otherwise about this place, they are cray cray!
PS- The gyro place across the street is crazy delicious and nights out should definitely end there.

Room Tip: Book through the hotel's website to get a better deal! We got a 10% discount for booking 3 or mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobby2990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review, glad to hear staff made your stay worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    261
    222
    102
    89
See reviews for
115
306
52
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Im writing this at 1130 pm in my room at the Kent Hotel because I can't sleep.

I was terribly worried as I was trying to check in, 2 different parties were complaining on their way out. Staff wasn't rude, but sure haven't taken any courses on friendliness.

The air conditioner is terribly loud and continually on, and it's far too hot to turn off. The toilet makes a loud refilling noise every 5 or so minutes and because of the age of the building, you can hear everyone come and go.

This is the first time that I have complained about my hotel, flight, excursion, trip, etc online, so I feel pretty strongly about it.

The instant I walked into my room I honestly wondered if it was at one time a social housing project. The pictures online (even the ones left my past guests) do not do justice on how disappointed I was with the place.

The location is fantastic, but what's the point if i cant sleep? I will be looking at other hotels in the morning.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ground floor and the in house restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teambrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Guest, its painful just reading your review, but it seems so many things could have been very easy fixes, this being written on a Sunday with inventory left, I would have suggested a simple room move to quell some of your fears - please contact me at your earliest convenience at sales@thekenthotel.com, I would like to know the full details of your stay and see what we could do for you for all your troubles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at The Kent Hotel for 11 nights and it was absolutely worth it. The location is great. Close to the beach, night clubs, bars, restaurants and shopping. They have a friendly and positive staff as well as nice rooms.

I do highly recommend this hotel - especially to other teens whom are traveling.

Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikolodeon_tv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for the great reviews and pictures provided of the property, we hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prefernottosay
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

the kent is a decent option for miami beach. anywhere else, it would probably be $69/night (not $120). the room was large, had a king, had a mini-fridge, had an air-conditioner, and was right in the middle of all the south beach action. it was also quiet and dark and easy to sleep to at night. however, the hotel has no pool or beach chair/towel service, there were hairs in my bathroom and on my towels when i arrived, my sheets were never changed during a week-long stay despite my request, the bed was uncomfortable, and they tried to charge the entire amount of my stay up front. overall, would stay here again if i needed a hotel option in south beach that is less expensive than the hotels along ocean drive, but the hotel is really just ok.

Room Tip: call the manager to negotiate the best possible rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler01010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest, I'm sorry to read about your poor experience, even though you had some positive things to say about the hotel I would like to focus on the negatives. We do not have a pool or beach chair service, we do have free beach towels that we give out to our guests so that they can use at the beach, this is a free service that I assume you were not aware of, with regards to beach chairs there is a company that manages them on South Beach called the Boucher Brothers, they can be found anywhere in South Beach by finding any employee with a white "Staff" shirt walking on the beach, this is not a free service as it is an outside company. As hotel policy we do not charge the entire amount of your stay up front, in order to book the hotel you must pre-pay the first night's room and tax, once you arrive to the hotel, if you are paying in Cash then yes, we would need to charge you upfront, if you pay with a Debit Card or Credit Card, we simply authorize, NOT charge, your card for the remaining balance so that you may choose your own payment method upon check-out, this is standard procedure for most hotels worldwide, quite frankly our policy is one of the most lenient, I do not know of any hotel that will let you check-in without a credit card authorization or a cash deposit should you not have a credit card on hand. I am concerned about your claim of not receiving housekeeping service throughout your stay, unless your door had a "Do Not Disturb" sign on it, we would have cleaned the room regardless of it being requested or not, please contact me, Eddie Nunez, at sales@thekenthotel.com, I would like to know what room and dates you stayed with us so that I can investigate this claim further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Great location, just off the beach, and good front-desk service. Ideal for walking to most places, so we did not need a car.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sport5639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for the great review, we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#90 of 208 in Miami Beach
764 reviews
The Colony Hotel
#169 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,080 reviews
Suites on South Beach Miami
#113 of 208 in Miami Beach
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Whitelaw Hotel
#69 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,514 reviews
Ocean Reef Suites
#125 of 208 in Miami Beach
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kent Hotel

Property: The Kent Hotel
Address: 1131 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4604
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,612 - ₹ 16,112
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco district, only one block from the beach, the Kent is like a playground for adults. Its 59 stylishly appointed rooms reflect the fun and flair of Miami Beach. The Kent, a South Beach Hotel is a perfect choice for guests who enjoy stylistic fusion, convenience and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Hotel Miami Beach
Kent Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing