We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Time!!!!”
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #50 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Time!!!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I took my husband to Miami for his 30th bday this past April & we had a blast. The Essex is a small boutique hotel. It's close to everything, the rooms are small but we upgraded to the king suite, which in my opinion wasn't a suite. You have to take advantage of happy hour free beer & wine. You also have access to the Cleavelander next door which is a party in itself. Lots of fun. The beach is across the street from the Cleavelander Hotel, & it's gorgeous, crystal blue water, it's a sight to see. Miami is pretty pricey but the restaurants have happy hr & lunch specials. Overall this was an awesome trip.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annece2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    689
    208
    64
    56
See reviews for
286
761
72
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Essex House July 15th to 19ty and we enjoyed every minute of our stay! The hotel is in a perfect location at Collins and 9th Ave...it's a 1 minute walk to Ocean Dr and the beach. The rooms are well maintained, beds are comfortable and the shower has great water pressure. The hotel has a perfect plunge pool that is completely surrounded by trees and plants so if you want to get away from the action on the beach it's a perfect place to relax and unwind. The lobby has plenty of seating and is kept nice and cool...also beer and wine is served for free from 4pm to 5pm everyday...nothing wrong with that!
The front desk staff were wonderful and extremely helpful...especially Jermaine, aka "Boris" (call him this and see what he says!), he went out of his way to get a room ready for us even though we arrived at 10am...by the time we got back from brunch our room was ready and waiting. Domingo is also another awesome employee who always has a smile on his face and made some good restaurant suggestions. There is going to be a sushi restaurant at the hotel soon...with the nice outdoor seating area I'm sure it will only add to the excellence of the hotel!
The hotel is right beside the Clevelander so take advantage of the happy hour there that starts at 4pm...drinks are half price! Everything else is so close, restaurants, clubs...we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaremela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is a very COZY hotel.. No the rooms are not Huge, but quite comfortable!! The staff was wonderful!!! Location is in the heart of everything!!!
While I was having a bad day due to a horrible experience at the Medi Cafe the front desk rep came to my room with a Pina colada and told me that she wished I had a wonderful day and everything would be ok. I really appreciated that. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would visit again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timeka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I visited south beach with wife from july 9-13th and stood at the essex houseThe hotel is at a great location in the heart of south beach one block from ocean drive close enough to the party but far enough not to hear all the noise and to get a good nights rest. The staff were all amazing and very professional. Domingo, jermaine, and Camilo were very helpfull and all went out of their way to make our experience at essex amazing. I would really recomend this hotel!! P.s the free beers and wine during happy hour is a plus!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acevna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My wife and I stayed three days at the Essex House and was very impressed with the atmosphere and the service. The hotel is perfectly located close to many lounges, clubs and restaurants in South Beach. The service was exceptional as the staff was friendly and extremely accommodating during our stay. In particular Domingo and Jamal displayed great hospitality and were very helpful during our stay. Thanks we wil return again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#42 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.3 km away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#43 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.4 km away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#51 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#107 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,045 - ₹ 26,505
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing