We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we have stayed recently”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #124 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 3 January 2018

I am not sure where to start. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out the experience was great. We never expected this from a small hotel like this. Every staff member including those who maintain the building were very friendly. Specifically we have to mention George at the reception. He was very very friendly and helpful. They smile and great you every time you come back to the room. There is a small coffee shop which was really good. Also the restaurant server dinner at night. The rooms were clean and not very noisy. This was a fantastic experience and we will definitely stay in this hotel every time we visit Miami,.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie L, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Tuan S,
Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review. We're glad that your experience was memorable due to our friendly staffs, location and dining options. George is a great asset to our team and happy you had the opportunity to meet him. We'd like to wish you a Happy New Year's and would love to welcome you again in the near future.
Warmest regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a hotel this new year in Miami do not stay at this hotel arrived on 27th major works are taking place no facilities for guests could not get a coffee or a drink between 4.00 and 6.00 as they were organised for dinner bookings for outside clients. Would say it will be at least six months before this hotel gives any sort of service for £200 hundred pounds a night. Should be taken off your list immediately.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie L, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Maureen T,
Thank you for taking the time to write leave us a review. We are sorry for the disappointment with your recent stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to make a better impression. Happy New Year's!
Warmest Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Really good value. Clean, tidy and very comfortable. Staff very genuine, approachable and keen to help.
Amazing location directly on South Beach.
Really enjoyable 3 day stay in Miami before leaving for cruise.
Miami is a great place to visit steeped in history and culture.
I would recommend a stay in Miami and a stay at the Avalon hotel to any fellow traveller.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Loraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Loraine, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Avalon Hotel on Miami's eclectic South Beach before your cruise. We loved reading your awesome description of our art deco hotel and praise for our wonderful staff. We would love to welcome you and your friends again either before or after your next excursion -- or better yet, begin and end your next cruise with us!

Warmest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

I wanted to find a place that was not going to break the bank for any of my friends, so between myself and my friend we settled on the Avalon Hotel right on Ocean Drive. Arriving on a Wednesday late evening, I was to spend an evening and day on my own in South Beach. The staff at the hotel are probably the most welcoming of any hotel I have ever stayed in. They are all hands on deck for helping their customers. The room was small and clean, however, incredibly tired and in desperate need of TLC. I have been spoiled in my later years with having the luxury of staying at some seriously high-end hotels. The Avalon is directly across the street from the beach so if you can handle the Ocean Drive street noise and a bit of shabbiness it is the perfect location. The rooms do come with small folding chairs and beach towels. The cost of the room also comes with a small breakfast of coffee and a pastry.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeFoodWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback regarding your stay and for your positive comments. We certainly want all of our guests to enjoy their stay at our hotel, and we are happy to see you had a pleasant stay. However, we are sorry if we missed meeting any of your expectation and have made a note of your feedback. On behalf of our entire staff we invite you to stay with us again!

Warmest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. It is across the street from the ocean. Lots of restaurants and shopping close enough to walk. The rooms are very clean but the bathrooms are super small. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Linda, thank you for choosing the Avalon hotel and for your feedback. Your satisfaction means everything to us, and we are thrilled to know our location in the heart of South Beach was convenient and within walking distance to everything you wanted to do in this exciting art deco area of the city. We will share your compliments with our team and all of us look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0 km away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#58 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,482 reviews
1.8 km away
South Seas Hotel
South Seas Hotel
#120 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,612 reviews
0.2 km away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,241 reviews
0.4 km away
Essex House
Essex House
#55 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,940 reviews
0.2 km away
Clinton Hotel South Beach
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#80 of 214 in Miami Beach
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: ₹ 11,118 - ₹ 24,165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wecome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife. As you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive. Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Other amenities include complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing