We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (917)
Filter reviews
917 results
Traveller rating
211
371
202
65
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
371
202
65
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean drivegreat locationsouth beachcontinental breakfastbeach towelsdirectly across the streetwet williesart decoan older hotelrooms are smallthe hotel is cleanvisit miaminight lifeocean frontjorgeretroaction
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 917 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a hotel this new year in Miami do not stay at this hotel arrived on 27th major works are taking place no facilities for guests could not get a coffee or a drink between 4.00 and 6.00 as they were organised for dinner bookings for outside clients. Would say it will be at least six months before this hotel gives any sort of service for £200 hundred pounds a night. Should be taken off your list immediately.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie L, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Maureen T,
Thank you for taking the time to write leave us a review. We are sorry for the disappointment with your recent stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to make a better impression. Happy New Year's!
Warmest Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Really good value. Clean, tidy and very comfortable. Staff very genuine, approachable and keen to help.
Amazing location directly on South Beach.
Really enjoyable 3 day stay in Miami before leaving for cruise.
Miami is a great place to visit steeped in history and culture.
I would recommend a stay in Miami and a stay at the Avalon hotel to any fellow traveller.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Loraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Loraine, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Avalon Hotel on Miami's eclectic South Beach before your cruise. We loved reading your awesome description of our art deco hotel and praise for our wonderful staff. We would love to welcome you and your friends again either before or after your next excursion -- or better yet, begin and end your next cruise with us!

Warmest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

I wanted to find a place that was not going to break the bank for any of my friends, so between myself and my friend we settled on the Avalon Hotel right on Ocean Drive. Arriving on a Wednesday late evening, I was to spend an evening and day on my own in South Beach. The staff at the hotel are probably the most welcoming of any hotel I have ever stayed in. They are all hands on deck for helping their customers. The room was small and clean, however, incredibly tired and in desperate need of TLC. I have been spoiled in my later years with having the luxury of staying at some seriously high-end hotels. The Avalon is directly across the street from the beach so if you can handle the Ocean Drive street noise and a bit of shabbiness it is the perfect location. The rooms do come with small folding chairs and beach towels. The cost of the room also comes with a small breakfast of coffee and a pastry.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeFoodWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback regarding your stay and for your positive comments. We certainly want all of our guests to enjoy their stay at our hotel, and we are happy to see you had a pleasant stay. However, we are sorry if we missed meeting any of your expectation and have made a note of your feedback. On behalf of our entire staff we invite you to stay with us again!

Warmest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. It is across the street from the ocean. Lots of restaurants and shopping close enough to walk. The rooms are very clean but the bathrooms are super small. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Linda, thank you for choosing the Avalon hotel and for your feedback. Your satisfaction means everything to us, and we are thrilled to know our location in the heart of South Beach was convenient and within walking distance to everything you wanted to do in this exciting art deco area of the city. We will share your compliments with our team and all of us look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

we stayed at the Avalon at the end of October 2017. despite the scaffolding outside (which initially put us off) the hotel was excellent. the staff were very helpful, the rooms although not sumptuous were very spacious, clean and had good storage. The hotels location is excellent for exploring and only a stones throw from the beach. There is a bus stop 2 streets away for public transport and good shops for browsing only a few blocks away. Its also very close to a Cuban restaurant which provides excellent authentic Cuban food which is good value for money unlike some of the bars and restaurant's along the main strip which are very expensive. All in all, its an excellent hotel, clean rooms, good food and staff which are a real credit to the profession. We would definitely recommend this is hotel and will be staying there again when we return to Miami.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Padnsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you for including the Avalon Hotel in your travel plans and for recommending us. We are delighted you loved your beautiful room and that you enjoyed our convenient location. I’ll be sure to share your compliments with my entire staff and all of us look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews