We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Art Deco charm and the fantastic ladies of the Avalon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #95 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Art Deco charm and the fantastic ladies of the Avalon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I had the recent priviledge of staying at this fun hotel on South Beach. The service was beyond excellent! Anna, Lorena and Edith treated each and every guest as if they were the most important guest in the world. Their hospitality was outstanding and made me feel as if I had come home. Even on the phone ahead of my stay, I could hardly wait to arrive, due to the kindness and welcome of Anna. All three ladies went out of their way to make sure that every wish was granted and every thing was taken care of.

Room Tip: Go for the oceanfront...it is definitely worth the great view, especially when the morning sun light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    337
    166
    54
    50
See reviews for
160
282
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
savoy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

The hotel has pros and also cons
CONS: 1.) when we arrived 3 min after settiling into my room (double non smoking 4 adults) I decided to plug in the iron. Immediately after putting it in the socket it blew a huge flam along with electricity. I wasn't sure if I got electrocuted but I was sure I got burned due to my skin being black. Called up to the front desk and told them about it but all they did was bring a new iron. I then went down and told them I wanted to file a claim just in case I have any symptoms down the road and they COMPLETLY sent me off. Kept saying the GM will contact me and NEVER did. 2.) There was mold on the ceiling in the bathroom, maybe due to them not having a venting fan? also our sink drained realllyyy slow. 3.) The first time the maids cleaned our room they hardly touched it. We actually cleaned up before they came to our room and put our trash in a pile for them to take since it wouldnt fit in the trash. they left it there and put it into a large garbage bag instead and only made our bed. 4.) B fast wasn't enough variety. Some days they started clean up before designated time. We prefered eating elsewhere.
PROS: 1. location was AMAZING. directly across from the beach and in the middle of all the best spots in town. Most bars are walking distance but we wore heels so cab fare was only $5 which is very good. 2. two story walgreens around the corner which is amazing due to items we needed/forgot to bring. 3. our last day they kept our luggage at the front desk while we roamed and enjoyed our last couple of hours which was very helpful. 4. Staff was decent/friendly. Not over achievers, but good character.

All in all i'd recommend this place. location had me amazed. We didnt eat at the resturant attached. I just wish they would have handeled their iron burning my fingers a little better.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank labeouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

The location of the hotel is good, right in the action of Ocean Dr.,music, restaurants, party and lots of people all around, and also a lot of fun...
The staff of the hotel are very nice and friendly.
The breakfast is quite good, buffet style with fruits,cereals, boiled eggs,cheese, ham, toast, jam and jelly, milk, juice,.... But breakfast in the restaurants on Ocean Dr is quite cheap ( 4.50$ for eggs, bacon,ham, toast and pancakes !)
The room was just ok.,it needed renovations but it was clean.
We stayed just one night ,before a cruise, so it was okay. If I needed to stay more nights,I would have preferred to stay in nicer rooms.So next time I will probably stay in another hotel.
This is a great hotel for people who want to party and don't care about the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhanna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I recently spent a long weekend at this property. First let me say that the friendly and helpful staff assisted me, before I even got there. From my first phone call for a reservation, to sending a valet into the street to wait for me, I was made to feel welcome. The hotel is a classic representation of the 1940's. The decor is simple and retro. The hotel is very clean and neat. We enjoyed the restaurant, A Fish Called Avalon as well. The atmosphere was as wonderful, as the food! A guitar player serenaded us, as we dined on the patio and people watched. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I recently spent a long weekend at this property. First let me say that the friendly and helpful staff assisted me, before I even got there. From my first phone call for a reservation, to sending a valet into the street to wait for me, I was made to feel welcome. The hotel is a classic representation of the 1940's. The decor is simple and retro. The hotel is very clean and neat. We enjoyed the restaurant, A Fish Called Avalon as well. The atmosphere was as wonderful, as the food! A guitar player serenaded us, as we dined on the patio and people watched. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 km away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#48 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
0.2 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.2 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#49 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#93 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.0 km away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#187 of 203 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.2 km away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#67 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,982 - ₹ 23,054
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wecome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife. As you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive. Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Other amenities include complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing