We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #101 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Our first night here was a shocker. We were on the ground floor near the road. Right outside our window was the place where the staff pack up the tables, firstly late at night and then first thing in the morning. Noisy noisy noisy. The bath was blocked. We were moved to a room on the third floor which was much more reasonable. The included breakfast, well, even though it was free, on 2 mornings we voluntarily chose to go and buy breakfast elsewhere. We also were charged money to our visa card after we left, without our permission and are yet to hear back from the sales manager to rectify this situation- email sent over a week ago. Good location, character hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the bottom floor on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cece S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    354
    182
    56
    53
See reviews for
169
299
37
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
costa rica
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is one of my favorite places on South Beach. There are nicer places for more money. But for value, this is the best place. Moderately priced, great location, and a hotel staff that is on their game. Unlike the other budget options, this hotel is run like a hotel with more going for it that it's location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesieinhavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Avalon Hotel is a pleasant little hotel with an excellent restaurant (A Fish Called Avalon) right in the heart of the Art Deco area of South Beach and right across the street from the beach. The rooms were fine and the rates were reaonable. I enjoyed my two day stay there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My friend Claire had to go to Mt. Sinai in Miami for tests to find out if she is a candidate for a life saving heart operation. We decided to have some fun in South Beach at the same time.

The day at Mt. Sinai was exhausting and we were more than ready to have a cocktail by the time we got back to our hotel at 5:30. Our hotel was the Avalon, one of the small hotels on south beach in the art deco district. It had small rooms but a pleasant staff and nice restaurant. They charged me $15 for my Cosmo. We looked at the menu and decided that "Fish on the Avalon" was too pricey. We went next door to the Beacon as it seemed to be more lively and they were having 2/1 drinks. That always appeals to us. The waitress stuffs us into the corner. After all, two senior citizens don’t fit into the scantily clad, young and hip South Beach image. My Cosmo tasted like it was made with rubbing alcohol. I expected to wake up blind the next morning. The waitress was very nice and told us about the specials. I asked about the broiled fish and lobster special and then asked the price. She said it was $65.00. I laughed and said no thanks. I had fettuccine with salmon and asparagus. It turned out to be a glutinous mass of fettuccine topped with two pieces of lox rolled around two scrawny asparagus. No matter it was only $13.50 and didn't taste too bad. The other special was paella. Both Claire and I are good cooks and have made paella and it is not an expensive dish to make especially here in the south where shrimp are cheap. The paella arrives with a whole split lobster sitting on top. Now I laugh again and told Claire that I bet it is $65.00. Claire turns pale and calls the waitress over and asked if this was supposed to be a dish for two. The waitress said no. She then asked what the price was and sure enough it was $65.00 at which point we both wail. The waitress gives Claire a 15% discount. Now Claire is fuming. To make matters worse someone cranked the volume of the music up up to deafening levels. The speaker was positioned directly over my head and the sounds of Lady Gaga, “Rah rah-rah-ah-ah-ah Roma, rhumba-ma Gaga, oh–la-la”, made me jump off my chair. Now not only am I going to be blind the next morning but deaf as well. We finished our dinner and our two cocktails when a monsoon hits. It was raining so hard that it began to leak through the porch roof and walls. It didn't just leak a little; it was a torrent of water that came pouring into a packed restaurant. Everyone scurried and we got absolutely drenched.

I crawled into my pjs and into bed at the Avalon when it hit me that my car was sitting at an expired meter on Ocean Ave. I ran out and handed the keys to the Valet for another $27.00. The parking situation was not mentioned when I booked the room.

It rained most of the night and our room was over the utility room so I listened to banging trash bins and moving furniture all night. This was an upgraded room for it had a “partial ocean view”. You had to crane your neck to see it. It was one of the best values on the beach, however.

The whole experience was so absurd that we just had to laugh. We had tourist rube written all over us.
South Beach is not for us. If Claire is a candidate for surgery, it will have to be soon. You will find me in a tent in the woods.

Room Tip: Ocean view or partial view rooms are over the sidewalk cafes and are exceptionally noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulaL888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We recently stayed in the Avalon in December and again in January. Great location, clean, also the staff was again very accommodating and friendly. We would especially like to thank Edith, she is very pleasant, courteous, professional and will do anything to make a stay at the Avalon a pleasant experience. We will definitely be back again. Donna & Robert

Room Tip: talk to Edith or George
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 km away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#51 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
0.2 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.2 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#171 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.2 km away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#73 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.0 km away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#188 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,533 - ₹ 21,073
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wecome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife. As you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive. Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Other amenities include complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing