We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible room service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
Ranked #58 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible room service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The room itself was simple but comfortable. The bathroom looked like it was time to renovate (years of dirt collected in the caulking along wall and tub edges). The stay was ruined, however, by the room service, or should I say the LACK of room service. I filled out the card to have my breakfast delivered between 6:00 and 6:15 so that I would be able to leave at 6:45 for my meeting. I received a call from room service at 6:30 telling me that they were running behind. UNACCEPTABLE! That left me no time to even find breakfast.
Here's the kicker...the exact same thing happened to me 6 months earlier at the same hotel.
I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN. No apologies were offered and they seemed to act as if it never happened.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfisteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcalibo, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for writing your review. Firstly, let me appologize to you personally.
Room Service is our main focus. I would not contest your overview we are in a transforamce stage. We recently open the Miami Airport Convention Center next to DoubelTree by Hilton.
Our past history has been catered to airport transcient and low demand. Over April 24 dates we we sold out to group and did not adjust to meet the demand properly. This affect you and that is why I'm personally writing this reply. Our intention is to service you and your need as such. Training and service are in place and proper staff will be monitored for high impact days.

It wasn't oversight and was in fact too high of demand for our room service (period).

If you chose to try us once again... I would be happy to comp your room service for breakfast for each day of you next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    587
    300
    151
    100
See reviews for
350
334
123
592
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
125 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just finished 1 night in this hotel-definitely a sub-par Doubletree. Website claims it is 3/4 mile from the airport-that might be true if you are a bird, however, for us humans, it's another story. Shuttle only runs every 1/2 hour, so that is a wait right there. Hotel is in the middle of nowhere attached to a run-down strip mall, though if you are in the market for cheap tacky jewelry, this is the place for you. AC in the room was anemic-never reached the 63 I had it set at. Chair in the room for the desk is too small & too low to the ground to be able to work comfortably. Bathroom is typical Hilton-small & cramped. Walls in the rooms are paper thin-people next door were having quite a party, by the sounds of it. Also, despite signs saying it was a non-smoking floor, clearly that went on, in the rooms as well as the club lounge down the hall. 6 housekeepers cleaning rooms on my floor at 8 am-all w/room doors wide open so they can chat/yell to each other in Spanish; ugh! Don't bother ordering breakfast off the menu-you'll get what they decide to bring you, not what you ask for. Even though shuttle was completely full for the ride back to the airport, w/no room for additional passengers (it's a 10 seat van, btw-no standing room), we had to wait while the driver chatted & high-fived w/the other bellman, then cleaned out the trash from the van before we could leave. Will not be back. This is the 2nd sub-par Doubletree I've come across in less than 2 weeks-I don't understand how or why Hilton allows this to continue as this kind of thing only harms the brand & will drive business away.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed overnight in the double tree, following a flight from the UK, as our flight to Belize was the next day. A comfortable hotel, with all the necessary amemities. The staff on the reception desk were most helpful and the shops in the mall very good, with an ATM avaiable. The taxi trip to the nearest mall to have an evening meal, was quite expensive. The shuttle bus to the international airport was good and on time

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surrey 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We needed a quick stopover in Miami between Atlanta and South America. This was perfect...the shuttle whisked us from the airport to this large elegantly appointed facility where the professional staff accommodated our needs. The room was marvelous, new, clean and tastefully decorated. We had dinner in the lounge, enjoying a wonderful local take on mahi-mahi fish tacos. The next morning we enjoyed the super well stocked breakfast bar, and then that same efficient shuttle wisked us back out. All very well done.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartandDenese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Having been bumped off of our flight we were provided with a room by Delta in this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room and facilities but more importantly by the most helpful staff I have ever experienced. Nothing was too much trouble - we needed contact lens solution - the shops were closed but the receptionist still went that extra mile and found some solution in the hotel medication cupboard. We asked for extra tea, coffee etc for the room and in less than 5 minutes a memeber of staff arrived at our door. we asked if we could stay and extra hour in our room after check out time - no problem. I cannot praise the staff here enough.
The other surprise is the hundreds of shops that are attached to the hotel. Excellent to pass the time while waiting to leave for the airport in the free airport shuttle.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amsmoothey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
3.3 km away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#46 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,923 reviews
5.5 km away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South
0.4 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Miami Airport - Blue Lagoon
3.6 km away
Hampton Inn Miami-Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
Address: 711 NW 72nd Ave, Miami, FL 33126-3001 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami
#34 Business Hotel in Miami
#36 Family Hotel in Miami
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,967 - ₹ 15,034
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated guest rooms will let you know "It's So Miami"! From business to pleasure the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Miami Airport & Convention Center's convenient location to the Miami International Airport (MIA) is adjoined to the Miami International Merchandise Mart and the Miami Airport Convention Center (MACC). Shop, meet or just enjoy all of Miami from this destination spot. Situated by the Waterford Blue Lagoon Business District and offering easy highway access to the Downtown attractions, Coconut Grove shopping and South Beach nightlife. This hotel in Miami, FL offers a beauty salon, a plaza of shops and gift stores, and 24-hour complimentary airport transportation to and from MIA Airport. The spacious over-sized guest rooms, 17 suites for entertaining and the complimentary guest room WiFi are just starters. Be sure to visit the large fitness facility, featuring locker rooms, state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment and even an area for a game of basketball. The temperature controlled outdoor pool and whirlpool is a great choice to relax and/or visit friends and family. Grab and Go food favorites at Au Bu Pain along with 24 hour food service are surpassed only by the three restaurants/lounges featuring an array of culinary creations. Be sure to include a evening of dining on fine steaks and fresh Florida seafood at Rioja Grille. Consider hosting a meeting in this Miami, Florida hotel's 172,000 sq. Ft. Of modern meeting and tradeshow space. Imagine almost 60 individual meeting rooms including boardrooms, multiple ballrooms from 7,000 to 28,000 sq. Ft., Ground level exposition space of over 70,000 sq. Ft. Bring together groups from 10 to 6000 at the MACC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing