We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT banquet and meetings staff, and more.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #22 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“GREAT banquet and meetings staff, and more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

Just attended a CEO conference at this hotel. Front office staff is friendly and very efficient. Guest rooms are new, fresh and well-appointed. Views are terrific off the room balconies. But my notes are all about the banquet and culinary staff. The banquet manager is everywhere making sure that all is in order. And, the banquet staff for set-up and food service are terrific. Friendly, courteous and with one mission: serving their customers. What a pleasure in today's "no service" world. The catering and culinary staff did a nice job keeping menu's simple and with food that everyone enjoyed having. No silly menu's or over-the-top stuff that people say "pass" to. It was also nice to have the hotel GM check in from time to time. One word of caution: need a taxi? Plan on 15-30 minute wait. Even with a taxi reservation made with the front desk staff. Very pleasant surprise, I look forward to coming back soon.

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyNoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear JoeyNoodles,

We appreciate your recent comments about your meeting experience at our hotel. We will be sure to share your feedback with our Front Office team and our Banquets team. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    414
    152
    69
    45
See reviews for
279
469
62
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
campinas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Wonderful satying experience, The cleanest Hotel I've ever stayed! Stunning location, very clean and roomy rooms, nice bathroom, the hotel hall smells like flowers, The staff is so professional and polite, 100% satisfied, Elizabeth from reservations knows how to treat their guests!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luiz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Luiz B,

Thank you for your comments about your experience with Elizabeth from our Reservations team. We are pleased your enjoyed your room and we will be sure to share your comments with our Housekeeping team about the cleanliness of your room. We hope you will be back soon.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The GM of the hotel and his staff went out of their way to accomodate our family.
tHE HOTEL IS airy and cool with upbeat color and contemporary vibe. Our room was superb and fully stocked. Clean and perfect as if I was in my own home.
The full kitchen is a nice amenity but the food on site is tremendous. We had a meal and drinks poolside with the great view of the Marina. Our room view could not be beat.
This is a hotel that works for one night or a full two week stay.
It is a quick and inexpensive cab ride to the heart of south beach if you need more action and extensive shopping. Although dont sell Coconut Grove too short on the shoppping many boutiques are close by.
Go visit soon, we will be back.
Karen

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avery s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear AveryS,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased we hit a “home run” and that your stay was enjoyable. In addition to being close to great shopping, if you are a baseball fan we are just 15 minutes from the new Marlins Park. Maybe on your next visit you will have the chance to catch a game. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We spent 3 days at the Sonesta while in town for business. The hotel is in a fantastic location, the staff was wonderful and we even managed to sneak in some pool time before work!!! (Great pool staff as well). My room had a refrigerator (very convenient) and a coffeemaker in the room with complimentary coffee- key for those early work mornings. The bed was huge and so amazingly comfortable...

The lobby was modern but still comfortable and smelled like a spa- so relaxing. The valet and bell staff was very helpful as we had 10 huge boxes shipped to the hotel for our event and they helped store and load everything up to our cars. I didn't have a chance to sample the hotel cuisine, but there was a Starbucks close by and we had dinner at the fantastic Green Street Cafe just a few blocks away. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone for both leisure or business... and a huge thanks to Elizabeth Dubon for helping us arrange our guest block in reservations- she was wonderful. Thank you Hotel Sonesta!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurajill27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Laurajill27,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for your feedback about your visit. We are very pleased that you enjoyed yourself and all of the amenities of the hotel and the surrounding area. I will be sure to share your comments with Elizabeth in Reservations. We hope that you will visit us again any time your travels bring you to Miami.


Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Booked for two nights, disappointed with the deluxe room, far too small and dark with half a bay view and a shared balcony. I upgraded (paid extra) to one bed Suite. The fittings have seen better days, old marked, chipped, the carpet was dirty, the Balcony and windows were v poor. The banister was coated in white powder that covered everything I touched. For both nights the noise outside my window stopped me sleeping until 3am. But the staff are very good, especially considering the difficult circumstances. The saving grace for the hotel was the Panorama restaurant, excellent service friendly; with the best food I have experienced anywhere in Miami, and great value.
If the owners could match the facility to the quality of the staff it would be a great hotel, unfortunately at the price and the additional parking cost, the noise, and the overall state of the room, it’s just average.

Room Tip: Stay to the right hand side (closest to the water and furthest from the noise) of the hotel. Pick a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Chaiwindsor,

Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that your experience during your stay did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is valuable to us as it helps us to continue to improve our product. I will be sure to pass your comments about the restaurant to the culinary team. I hope that in the future we may have the opportunity to have you again as a guest.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#19 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#42 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,518 - ₹ 24,707
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing