We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for families who want to avoid Miami Beach prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
Ranked #25 of 125 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had relatives staying at Miami Beach and we were in town for a few nights but didn't want to pay the high fees for staying right on the beach. Instead we got a one bedroom self contained room with a King bed in the bedroom, and the kids shared the sleeper sofa. We had a car so it was only a 20 minute ride into town, and we visited our relatives at their hotel, enjoyed the pool and beach, then came back to our hotel in the evenings. The kids enjoyed the novelty of watching the planes. Breakfast was included and parking was free. It cost us a third of what it would have done to stay in on Miami Beach itself. It would also be great for people over nighting before or after a flight.

Room Tip: If you're into planes, ask for a room facing the runway (runs parallel). If you're not, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bambooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miabl, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We hope you will visit us again when you return to the Miami area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 900 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

My husband and I are, admittedly, airplane-crazy. We stay at the Blue Lagoon Homewood specifically to watch planes pre-cruise, requesting a room on the MIA side which affords a great view of 2 runways. But we also love the service here, which is always first-rate from the housekeeping staff to the front desk to the guys cleaning the pool. Everyone is very friendly. The suites are kept very clean and offer free high-speed Internet, a small kitchen and reasonably spacious sitting area (in a 1BR, which is what we had.) The elevators are pretty slow, their coffee is pretty weak and there's not much within walking distance - but those minor inconveniences are the only negatives. It's really a great airport area hotel, and an excellent value considering the rate includes breakfast and a Monday-Thursday "light supper" with beer, wine, soft drinks and a hot snack (they had hot dogs one night, and potato skins another.) We love the place!

Room Tip: For a little quieter night, choose a room on the lagoon side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpecialK01030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Close to Miami airport and a welcome retreat after a long 11 hour flight, welcoming, friendly staff who went out of their way with local advice and help, including shuttle bus lifts to the local shopping centre and back. Excellent self catering facilities, plenty of room and a wonderfully comfortable bed!

Free parking and internet access and a guest laundry is a real bonus and the included breakfast was a more than adequate start to our day.

We found the hotel convenient for Dolphin Mall and a major Walmart store once I had learnt the wheel to wheel combat techniques of the Miami Freeways. There is no hotel restaurant as such but we were happy to self cater prior to our high end cruise and associated gluttony! there are plenty of restaurants nearby.

The acid test is would we return? Yes, without hesitation.

Room Tip: We were on the airport side but had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank latetouchdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here on our last night in Miami because it was close to the airport. I want to give this hotel a higher rating because our room was lovely...spacious, clean, with a new feel to it. However, the plane noise from MIA is VERY loud. We stayed in another Miami hotel earlier in our trip that was also close to the airport and didn't experience anywhere near the same noise level. There were also random hotel noises (it sounded like someone was wheeling stuff around and drilling or screwing something...). There is no automatic fan noise in the room to drown out any of these sounds, so you hear everything. There was also an issue with the elevators. The ones that didn't have "out of order" signs on them never seemed to arrive. We finally gave up waiting and just used the stairs during our stay. Other guests seemed to have the same issue. The free breakfast was nice, but an absolute zoo. There was no rhyme or reason to the way the lines flowed, and items would run out leaving people waiting for staff to restock. There is no restaurant in the hotel, and nothing within walking or short driving distance besides a Burger King. We ended up ordering a pizza. There is a grocery store nearby and the room is equipped with a small kitchen so you could easily purchase what you need and prepare it in your room. Overall, an okay stay in a very nice room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jande26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miabl, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. I apologize that you were not safisfied with the hotel. We will take your comments into consideration and will keep your recommendations in mind to ensure that every guests has a positive experience during their stay with us. We hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed here the night before flying out of MIA. Free shuttle to MIA, great pool with hot tub, clean and quiet rooms even with a huge group of teenage cruisers present. We did not get to eat the breakfast the morning of departure since we had to leave so early. We were allowed to check in early and spent the afternoon at South Beach. My sister met us. We slept in the first living room area with the sofa couch so we didn't have to wake the others, who stayed in the bedroom. Would stay here again, but it would be best to have a car to get to other places during the day. Parking was free. The closet had a safe with a key from the desk.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
0.5 km away
HYATT house Miami Airport
4.6 km away
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport
3.0 km away
Best Western Plus Miami Airport North Hotel & Suites
0.6 km away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#45 of 125 in Miami
3,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126-2028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#22 Family Hotel in Miami
#31 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range: ₹ 9,709 - ₹ 22,480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing