We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
39
19
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
19
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street picnic tables small kitchenette public access room was clean el governor gulf stove fridge sheets
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018

The room was nice, recently renovated, perfectly fine. The AC/Heating unit goes off and on every minute. We weren't able to change the settings enough to stop this from happening. Woke me up during the night. I would have asked the desk attendant about the AC/Heater settings, but this man (the owner?) was not very friendly. I also wondered if there was free wifi, but we weren't given any information about it. Again I would have asked about it, but not someone very approachable. We were there for the night, but not again.

When we arrived, it was raining and cold and the door to the office was locked. We knocked and rang the bell several times, in the meantime with cold rain dropping on us. Finally a man came to the door. He didn't welcome us, say hello, apologize for our wait outside in the cold rain. He didn't say anything to us at all until I said that we have a reservation. Checking out was no better. To get to the point, he's not friendly at all. Is this the owner? I don't know, probably is. What I know for sure, is that we won't stay here again. There's something called customer service that he doesn't understand. We'll stay down the road at El Governor Hotel next time.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped for 1 night at this lovely motel when fleeing from Hurricane Irma. The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, the sheets were a nice quality, the bed was very comfortable and extra pillows were available. The kitchen has a stove, fridge, dishes and silverware. The bathroom was roomy, clean and plenty of towels. Bring your own towels for the beach.
Would definitely stay here again!!!
For 1 night or 2 weeks!
Just across the street from the beach.

Stayed: September 2017
3  Thank kelli-gypsy-nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This is a typical older style Motel BUT has been refurshiblished to a superior standard. The web site Needs to be updated with new photos.
We loved the location directly opposite the main Beach. We will be re-booking when our next nearby get away.Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: All the Rooms are opposite the main beach
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

The room was $75/night, reasonable price. It was clean, the bed and bathroom were fine. The AC worked well. They have a nice, large refrigerator and microwave, and a small table with 2 chairs. We stayed more than one night. So here's what you cannot expect:
1. Daily maid service. Not included. They'll change your towels.
2. Coffee. Not provided. However, there's a large, pristine coffee pot in the room, and they will provide filters. They will also provide a coffee cup by request.
3. Hair dryer. Not in the room or on the premises.
4. Shampoo. Bring your own.
5. Ice. None available.

Although the bed's comfortable, they have some sort of plastic liner under the sheets that makes you sweat, even with the AC.

Location is good right across from the beach, with public access, if you can abide the lack of services and amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HikeSwimTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

First thing..It would be nice if Trip Advisor would go back and take recent pictures.The one they show was taken YEARS AGO. All rooms have been completely renovated. New walls, floors, bathrooms, beds, kitchens, etc. The rooms are fully equipped with all the dishes, silverware, cooking pans, coffee pot, toaster, etc. Even the dish soap is included. The girls that work here in housekeeping are very friendly and do their job well. Room is always neat and clean. We love it here. We have stayed here before. Came here this year on the 5th. of Feb. and will leave( with regrets) on March 31st. LOVE staying here.The owner, Chuck is pleasant and if something breaks, he's quick on the fix. Quiet property. The gulf is a few steps away, across the street. White sugar sand. Chuck built a shower outside to get rid of the sand in our toes when we finally got back here. A nice swing in the front and back gives you a relaxing spot. Even a BBQ grill and picnic tables out back. My husband fishes every day at the many areas around here. We definitely will return next year. Thanks Chuck for another great vacation. See you in 2018

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Depends on how many beds you need and if you want a full kitchen. It is not a beachfront motel.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews