We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beach-Average older Motel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Governor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Governor Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
panama city florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Beach-Average older Motel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We love Mexico Beach. Nice to get away from the crowds. El Governor is a older motel and a little bit outdated, but it is a decent place to stay. The front desk employees are very friendly and helpful. We have never stayed any where else because there isn't a lot of motels choices in Mexico Beach. Prices are reasonably. If you plan on staying for a week, I would check into renting a house on the beach. The El Governor is a good place to stay just for a few nights.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcgatormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    141
    52
    20
    14
See reviews for
131
127
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We head to this little get away about twice a year. Nice place for us older folks. Can spend time on the beach without a lot of the younger crowd, doing their noisy....look at me stuff. Nice to stay in a double room with the kitchen. We always stop along the way for fresh seafood to cook in the room and then set out on the balocny and enjoy.

Room Tip: If you choose a double you have a kitchen and can cook, be sure to bring plenty of food, so you neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cowboycapital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The front desk here is really good. Friendly & professional, they are the reason that this motel "works". But stay in the Newer---single story-- units that are on the far side of the pool. The multi-story motel itself is dated and a bit "tired". I stayed in the Motel section and the room smelled like moth-balls.....I left the balcony door open while I went to dinner and that took care of that....but still, who needs that...
The bed was fine...The bathroom was fine....The room was fine....ALL Average. The whole stair-well & elevator area is not fine: It needs a fresh "vibrant" paint job. The owners need to update the lobby too~~~It's more Jersey shore 1970, than "Gulf of Mexico, Panhandle" 2012. the only reason to stay here is the view of the Gulf. It Is Fantastic! But, plenty of places offer that......Next time I'm staying at Port St. Joe.

Room Tip: Stay in the annex; East of the pool....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Older hotel but still in great shape. Right on the beach and perfect for a vacation or a weekend getaway. Rates very reasonable in the winter season and the weather was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Although this was not my first trip to Mexico Beach, FL, this was my first time staying at the El Govenor. Some friends and I stayed here over the New Year's Eve weekend. The hotel is nothing fancy but perfectly acceptable and very clean with lots of hot water!! We had a room in the tower with two double beds, would have preferred one with a king, and we had kitchenette complete with stove although we did not use it. All of the rooms have a balcony facing the ocean and we slept each night with the door ajar so we could hear the waves. The beds were comfortable and had really nice fluffy pillows. The elevator is EXTREMELY slow but our room was on the second floor so we just took the stairs. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Weekend special was $50 per night and regular rates are $75. The main reason we came to MB for the weekend is that they were having a Trolley for New Year's Eve that would take you to Pt. St. Joe and back and around for the night so that you didn't have to drive. The "trolley" turned out to be about a 10 passenger van with 30+ people waiting to board. This was very disappointing and with the amount of hype and advertising that was done, a much better job could and should have been done. I can't wait for my next trip. By the way, the weather was terriffic!! Sunny and 70 all weekend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachlover0817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexico Beach
22.0 km away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
17.8 km away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
29.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 31 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.5 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Panama City
35.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#4 of 31 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
38.5 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Panama City Area Lynn Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Governor Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Governor Motel

Property: El Governor Motel
Address: 1701 West Highway 98, Mexico Beach, FL 32456
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Mexico Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Number of rooms: 125
Also Known As:
El Governor Hotel Mexico Beach
El Governor Mexico Beach
Mexico Beach El Governor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing