We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Buena Vista Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buena Vista Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Reviewed 11 February 2012

If their was ever a quaint little place to be, folks, this is it. The people here are fantastic. I had been told by a really good friend that if I ever visited Mexico Beach, this was the place to stay. I am so thankful that I did just that. The management treated me like I was family and royalty at the same time. I highly recommend this place to any and everyone that wishes to be treated the best ever. There's no dealing with mounds of people, the service was the best I've had in years.

Room Tip: In this case, any room you receive is a good room. No pictures just yet, but will post at a later da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

I had a great time @ the Buena Vista Motel ... I would tell anyone to come n stay there n the people were great to me n the rooms were clean to ...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Just got back from a four day stay at the Buena Vista. Could not have been better. Mike, the guy who runs the place, was very friendly and told me what choices I had for entertainment in Mexico Beach in the winter. It turns out I needed go no further than the beach. The rooms are clean and if you can deal with getting your own towels from the office, you will have a relaxing vacation. Maybe you will find Mike doing some Bar-B-Que on the grill down in the "Tiki Bar". If the coals are hot you can join the fun and you might even hear some music.
When I checked in I had a stress level of about 110%. When I checked out it was down to about 5% and that's cause I had to leave. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Try to get room #5, it is upstairs and has a GREAT view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is a small motel (6 rooms) right on the beach. We were in #5, upstairs and beach side. Great panaramic views of the beach from a wrap around wooden balcony. Room was plain but clean with 2 full size beds, TV, dining table & chairs, kitchenette consisting of sink, microwave and coffee pot, but not stocked for cooking. NO telephone, clock, blow dryer or bath essentials. Mattresses were managable, internet mostly did not work but we were able to connect occasionally to other nearby unsecured networks.

Did see cockroaches in the kitchen and bath areas, so makes me question the maintenance & upkeep of the building overall. The areas under and around the building were rather unkempt and in need of spiffing up some. The parking was very limited. So my rating for this area would be "poor" at the very most. Of course, we were there in January and this was the off season.

Mike the owner is a bachelor and a jolly, laid back sort. He was very helpful with recommendations and directions, but seemed to be MIA alot the few times we had requests for towels etc. Again...it was the off season.

Gulf Foods, the local grocery store is right across the street and very well stocked with all food items, essentials and a gift shop. Killer Seafood across and down the highway 1/2 block (although they were closed while we were there). Toucan's is a one block walk down the beach. All area restaurants, shops, businesses and bars are within a couple of miles.

All in all, we had a great stay. Would recommend Buena Vista Motel if you want "no frills" and pretty much "self serve". FYI, we paid $75 per night in January very reasonable for the fantastic view and location.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a beach side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pednurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I've visited Mexico City Beach many times either as a couple, family, friends, and even solo. Considering it's family owned and operated it's okay. I worry about the level of 'hotel quality' clean. Great view, friendly staff, overall a good stay.

Room Tip: I suggest the top floor facing the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexico Beach
21.3 km away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
280 reviews
17.1 km away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
281 reviews
29.8 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 31 in Panama City
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.1 km away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
480 reviews
36.3 km away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#4 of 31 in Panama City
250 reviews
36.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motel

Address: U.S. Highway 98, PO Box 13144, Mexico Beach, FL 32410
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Mexico Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel Mexico Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing