We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay, I will come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econolodge Port Canaveral Area
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Merritt Island
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice stay, I will come back”
Reviewed 18 November 2010

I am on the road a LOT for business and was very happy with this hotel. The property has a little age on it but it is very well maintained, clean and the rooms have obviously been renovated recently. Very clean and well furnished with a fridge and microwave, in room coffee etc. The front desk (Tom) was very efficient and helpful. Shuttles, the on site sports bar and grill was great. I had a minor problem and they went above and beyond to correct it. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollywoodGrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    41
    23
    10
    11
See reviews for
33
33
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

The room was comfortable, clean and spacious. It was quiet, if you do not count noise of the air-con unit. Probably nothing unusual for Americans, but we Europeans are not used to it so much. The room included a big fridge and a coffee maker. Hotel offers various other facilities (pool, laundry) but we did not use any of them since we only stayed 2 nights. Our booked rate did not include breakfast, but to our surprise we were told it was indeed included - warm breakfast even. The reception staff was nice and helpful. It was a great value for money we paid. We enjoyed our stay there very much and would always consider staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikaSVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed in this this " Hotel" for convenience as we were visiting the Kennedy Space centre for the day,( which the hotel was themed on) so stayed 2 nights(too many). It may have been a nice hotel in its day, about 20 years ago but it has not been decorated or updated since then. The rooms were damp, foisty smelling and had ingrained dirt in the carpets. There were dead insects on the floor, the walls were stained and the bathroom cramped, Even though it has an air conditioning unit in it just made the room even more damp including the bedding. It was a motel type place with a swimming pool and bar, but it was completely deserted, I suspect that local people knew exactly what it was like and lefy well alone. The place needs pulling down or completely renovating and not worthy of a 3 star rating. Leave well alone unless you are a lone traveller and don't care where you sleep. There was hardly any staff around to assist with anything and a dodgy looking chap on the front desk, Also do not believe any of the internet photos shown, which portray the hotel as a bit nice, thay are superimposed and obviousley taken a long time ago!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curleylocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merritt Island hotels

Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days on a trip recently and was pleasantly surprised by how comfy the bed was. I also enjoyed the always clean pool and attached Lounge called Shuttles. They offered tons of free activities at the hotel/lounge and the food at Shuttles was great (try the tuna) I also appreciated the convenient location. Overall great stay and I would defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c_bear311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Baseball team stayed for a week. Small amounts of money came up missing but boys just thought they had misplaced or whatever. Next to last day they are at practice and when they returned many were missing money. Several rooms, all locked, cash missing from wallets, suitcases, etc. Also lost two gameboys and an Ipod. Management brought a couple employees before the high school kids and they didnt admit it, imagine that. AVOID THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikepigohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merritt Island
8.6 km away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
9.1 km away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
8.8 km away
International Palms Resort & Conference Center Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cape Canaveral - Cocoa Beach
8.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area
8.8 km away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econolodge Port Canaveral Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge Port Canaveral Area

Property: Econolodge Port Canaveral Area
Address: 260 E Merritt Island Cswy, SR 520, Merritt Island, FL 32952-3637 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Kennedy Space Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Merritt Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Merritt Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,723 - ₹ 11,572
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econolodge Port Canaveral Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Port Canaveral Cruise Terminals, Kennedy Space Center, Beaches, Historic Cocoa Village with Waterfront Park, Antique Malls and Unique Restaurants. Boat rentals, water taxis, kayaking, golf, fishing nearby. Only 2 blocks from Merritt Square Mall. Free Cont. Breakfast. Spacious Pool Deck, Tiki Bar, Tennis, Fitness Center & Free High Speed Internet Access. Voted Best Hotel in Brevard County for five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Econolodge Port Canaveral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Kennedy Space Merritt Island
Clarion Hotel Merritt Island
Clarion Merritt Island
Merritt Island Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing