We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach but unpleasant front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice beach but unpleasant front desk staff”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We just returned from this beautiful beach. The room was great. A negative note, the front desk supervisor, Michael Mitchell, was very rude. It was appalling considering it is supposedly an upscale hotel. Afterwards he was discussing it with another employee and was making nasty comments...VERY unprofessional front desk staff. One other girl working the front desk had on an extremely wrinkled uniform shirt. It seemed like there were management problems at the front desk. The breakfast buffet was fair. There wasn't enough silverware to go around and when we asked for more we never received it so we had to share. We will probably not return to this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disappointed34744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    625
    227
    93
    53
See reviews for
811
600
70
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at the Double Tree Suites for 4 nights & 5 days in April 2012. The hotel was easy to find because it has a huge tree with a capital letter D behind it high up on the side of the building. They have the same logo on both sides so you can easily spot it from either direction. All rooms are ocean front. We were put in room 714 after we said we would not be using the internet. The service must not be good on the upper floors. We chose this hotel because we needed a separate bedroom. This hotel has a bedroom with a door that closes. The best part is that it's a pocket door so you can't even tell that it's a door at all. At first glance I was alarmed that they had made a mistake but upon futher inspection I found the pocket door. We also used the sleeper sofa all four nights which was super comfortable & felt just like a bed. I had my doubts & even brought an air mattress just in case but we never got it out of the car. The entire hotel has been completely renovated & updated. It was fantastic. We got a non refundable internet rate of $179/night for what was essentially a two bedroom unit. It was the least expensive unit we could find & I looked at 10-12 different properties. The check in staff was very nice & gave us a warm chocolate chip cookie on arrival... delicious! Our room was super clean & ready to go when we arrived. There were two elevators that serviced the side of the building we were on & we never had trouble getting an elevator when we needed one. We entered our unit into the living room. It had a large window with plantation shutters that looked out over the city. By the window was a small table that had drop leafs on both sides & could be opened up to easily accomodate 4 people. It had two nice wood chairs with cushions. There was a sofa that opened into a bed, a coffee table, a side chair and an end table. Then on one wall was a shelving unit that held the microwave, coffee maker, small fridge, nice drawers for storage (our large cooler fit easily inside) and the large flat screen TV. There were 3 lamps in the living room that provided plenty of light. Moving through the unit there was a wide 'hallway' that had a door to the bathroom on the left with a big tiled stand up shower with sliding glass doors & the toilet. On the right side of the 'hallway' was a large vanity area with a big wall mirror, great lighting, a sink & shelving for the towels & all your toiletries. It had a granite counter top. It was nice because one person could brush their teeth, put on make up, etc while someone else was in the shower. The bedroom was beautiful with a big king bed, plush mattress & nice linens. There were two side tables both with lamps that turned off & on with the push of a button. There was a closet and a huge dresser and a full length mirror. The sliding door to the balcony covered nearly the whole wall. The balcony was not very deep but had two chairs & we could easily sit out & enjoy the view. The chairs were a very heavy plastic - not flimsy at all. They had a sheer drape and a blackout drape over the sliding door. One interesting feature was that when you had the sliding door open, the AC temporarily shut off after about 5 minutes until you close the door. The walls were pretty yellow with blue & yellow drapes & the artwork was very attractive.
Our only issue was in the restocking of the room. We had coffee in the room the 1st morning & that afternoon it had not been restocked. We also used the ice bucket one evening & the next day it was still sitting full of water. There was also a washcloth shortage??? Strange, I know. We had washcloths the first day but they were very scarce from that point on. We had to call down & request them 3 nights out of four. One night they didn't have any & brought us hand towels instead. I inquired at check out & the lady said that they had just received a shipment of washcloths. Thank goodness. We started to go buy some at Wal Mart to leave for the next folks who got our same room:) I will say that they were extremely quick to respond to our nightly requests. The washcloths were a minor irritation that would not affect our choice to stay there in the future. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The pool area & pool chairs were very nice. We did not eat in the restaurant but it was well attended & looked very nice with white linen tablecloths & napkins. We requested a 2nd chocolate chip cookie one night & they gladly gave us each one. Over all a very nice stay & located right in the middle of the action. It was about 2 miles from the Eau Gallie & 192 causeways which made it a short trip in both directions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbum37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you so much for the positive review you gave our property and our staff. I will be sure to share your comments with our Housekeeping Manager so that we correct these item's.

We are in the process of installing wireless throughout the entire hotel which is why we are asking guests about thier internet needs. The installation will be complete within a couple of weeks.


We're thrilled that you had a great time in Melbourne and look forward to your return.



Tim Manuel
Hotel Manager
DoubleTree Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed 1 night just for a weekend getaway. The room was clean and neat, and had just been remodeled. The view was fantastic. We were on a corner unit on the 8th floor. No complaints about the room or service. The air conditioner was a bit noisy but just left the door open to hear the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marywoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you so much for the positive review you gave our property and our staff. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We're thrilled that you had a great time in Melbourne and look forward to your return.



Tim Manuel
Hotel Manager
DoubleTree Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

we stayed a week at this hotel at the end of march 2012. the suite was spotless and cleaned thoroughly each day of our stay. The staff were always courteous and willing to assist,and check in was an enjoyable experience. We were we didn't eat there but from the remarks of other guests they were extremely satisfied. The view from our balcony was absolutely wonderful, especially at sunrise.
If we are again in Melbourne Beach we wouldn't hesitate to go back to this property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy_sandroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review of our property. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team about the staff and the service you received. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you return to the Melbourne area.


Tim Manuel
Hotel Manager
DoubleTree Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Loved the view of the room. It faces the ocean and is breathtaking! However, we had a few complications. Our room was not ready by the time it was promised. We never had enough towels and washcloths. We had to call down and it took a long time to receive them.

Room Tip: All rooms look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationGirl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you so much for the review you gave our property and our staff. I will be sure to share your comments with our Housekeeping Manager to correct your concerns for furture guests.We're thrilled that you loved the view and the room and look forward to your return.



Tim Manuel
Hotel Manager
DoubleTree Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
2.8 km away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
2.6 km away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
1.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
5.0 km away
Port d'Hiver
Port d'Hiver
#1 of 13 in Melbourne Beach
445 reviews
25.5 km away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1665 N. State Route A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903 (Formerly Melbourne Suites Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,328 - ₹ 16,518
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront boasts a resort-style setting overlooking white sand of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Melbourne Beach hotel is conveniently located near Cocoa Beach and Space Coast attractions, with nearby family attractions such as Disney World and other Orlando theme parks for day trips. Our all-suite Melbourne, FL hotel is only 10 minutes from Melbourne International Airport (MLB), or an hour east of Orlando International (MCO). The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront features direct oceanfront suites, perfect for business or leisure visitors alike. Guests can enjoy magnificent views from private balconies, and a range of must-have amenities including luxurious beds and bath amenities, and access to our 24-Hour Fitness Center and Business Center. Whether you are traveling on business, planning a family vacation, or having a romantic weekend getaway, our friendly, professional staff looks forward to welcoming you to Florida's Space Coast with our special, warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. We hope you choose the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Guest Suites Melbourne Beach Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Doubletree Hotel Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing