We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sleep in your car before staying here.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suburban Extended Stay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Sleep in your car before staying here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We pay with cash at most places these days, just part of our financial management. My 50-ish wife and I were treated like twitching crack addicts at this hotel. They insisted on a cash deposit over and above paying for the stay in advance, we offered to put the deposit on the credit card but they refused because we were paying for the room with cash. The dingey room was aged and patched and just really unappealing. There is a small efficiency kitchen and if you use plates or glasses you must wash them for the next tennant (yes, your service was washed by whoever used it last.) Everything was dusty and gross. When we finally got to check out we were told to wait in the lobby while they went up and checked the room to see if we stole anything! WHAT DO YOU HAVE THAT WE WOULD WANT? Ick, Ick, Ick.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DugRau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuburbanManager, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
The reviewer claims he stay with us 6 months ago and found our housekeeping staff don't clean plates/glass after guests checkout. The new guest would have to live with whatever previouse guest leftover staff. Imaging it was true, this hotel would have shut down by state way before his chance to visit us. I really have no idea why someone still treat it as a real opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    26
    14
    3
    16
See reviews for
24
20
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

To start off, if you have ever seen the movie "Vacancy", then you have a good idea of the vibe this hotel gives off. But if you haven't, then let's start off with the area. It felt unsafe, tucked away in a woodsy area. Going out after sundown seemed risky. Our arrival in the afternoon seemed to have interrupted the front desk clerk, who was rude and vague with her information. We had to practically twist her arm to get basic check-in information. She left the best for last, stating that there is no staff on the premises from 3AM-7AM, and no security whatsoever. The room was decent at best. The bed was comfortable, but left us itchy, which prevented us from even turning down the comforter or sheet. Our stay was cut short, but odds are we wouldn't have stayed the night. We didn't come across much to do in the area. We wouldn't think of staying at this at this hotel again, or even in this area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonnieAndMercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuburbanManager, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
I was told to write our side of story but never told how to write a response to a fake story. This guest was treated so bad by our front desk girl they have to twist her arm to get their basic check-in info. They deserve a full refund as well as a police investigation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here for the month of March 2012. The front desk people were very helpful, requested pillows were provided quickly. We liked the location, and walked to many sites in the historic downtown, as well as a nearby mall and several restaurants. We had a ground-floor room, and the people over us were noisy at times - heavy footfalls - but it was convenient to the parking lot and amenities.- of which there were few. (exercise room, laundry, vending machines)
Other than the noisy guests overhead, my only complaint would be the housekeeping. The bathroom was not always well-cleaned. The kitchen was adequate, though a bigger refrigerator would have been nice. The bed was somewhat soft, but comfortable. There was a dumpster full of old mattresses out back, so I assume many were replaced.
We plan to go back next winter for another 3 weeks to a month.
I used the high-speed internet every day, and after a few start-up problems (with free tech support) I was fine.

Room Tip: Do your homework. Research the hotel, check the map, read all the reviews. Try to get close to an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuburbanManager, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thanks and we are finishing third floor renovation and we welcome you back for a suprise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Suburban Extended Stay in Melbourne FL. The hotel is clean, staff members are extremely helpful and nice. It conveniently located. It is the best hotel for a long stay (usually I stay there for a couple of months per visit).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuburbanManager, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for your comments we will try our best to make sure our guests enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Good price but pillows were bad. Also have to check non-smoking rooms because we had to change rooms because of the cigarette smell.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuburbanManager, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for comments. We have started a guest survey what type/size pillow make them more confortable in hotel. And may make changes according to the result.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
7.5 km away
Days Inn Melbourne
Days Inn Melbourne
#12 of 21 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
2.8 km away
Extended Stay America - Melbourne - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Melbourne
6.8 km away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
3.2 km away
Courtyard Melbourne West
Courtyard Melbourne West
#10 of 21 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Extended Stay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay

Property: Suburban Extended Stay
Address: 1125 Airport Boulevard, Melbourne, FL 32901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,773 - ₹ 6,341
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Melbourne
Suburban Extended Stay Melbourne
Melbourne Suburban Extended Stay
Melbourne Extended Stay
Extended Stay Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing