We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$ 196
View Deal
Free cancellation until 09/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$ 196
View Deal
Free cancellation until 09/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$ 257
US$ 174
View Deal
SAVE US$ 83
eDreamsUS$ 257
Booking.comUS$ 257
TravelocityUS$ 196
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
227
31
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
227
31
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal experience rooms are huge activity room swimming pool deluxe rooms are modern amenities dining hall lovely property great hospitality inner courtyard peaceful stay like royalty excellent stay royal touch royal era small town hotel staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2021

The hotel is not in a very touristy place - other than the ancient Kumaraswamy temple, there is hardly anything to do in Sandur. In house, the vintage car museum is more like a garage, there is a small pool to keep you cool; you can cycle around a bit or play darts in an activity room. But thats just about it!

So what made the stay memorable / worthwhile - indubitably the service. Mr Sameer & his team personalize the experience to an extent you start feeling 'at home'. Be it humoring a kids wishes for doughnuts ( at night ) or helping with the day's itinerary, arranging a spa appointment in a different hotel...there is no wish that these genies cannot fulfil!

The room we stayed in was quite atmospheric. Breakfast, however was pretty modest but still tasteful...

An absolute must do in my opinion...best wishes to the team!

Room tip: Choose the rooms on the 1st floor
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kaushalkayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021 via mobile

One of the most beautiful places to stay, with a welcoming hospitality and great food to add the cherry on top. Totally worth the money, and would be a different experience as compared to other 5-star hotels.

This is far too cozy than other 5-stars we have stayed in - only 12 odd rooms in the palace which makes far more personal. We got a food inclusive package and they packed our food thoughtfully when we were to be out full day.

Place had a vintage car museum and Alas, how well they maintained these Vintage cars.

I do think, it is a must stay place if you are going to Hampi.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nshenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2021

Shivavilas Palace was a very pleasant surprise. The hotel is tucked away 1 hr from Hampi in the lush Sandur Valley. The property has preserved the ambience of the once Princely State of Sandur, with lots of Raj era memorabilia. The rooms are spacious and clean, and borders on old world luxury of antique furnishings. The staff displays impeccable courtesy and professionalism. You really feel welcome and cherished as a guest. There is not much to do other than visiting the ancient Kumaraswamy temple (in itself highly rewarding and beautifully set in the hills above Sandur) but this just enhances the attractiveness of Shivavilas Palace. A perfect place to unwind with family or friends. The only drawback (for some of us) was that the hotel does not have a licence to serve alcohol.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Service
Thank RoamingBrahmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2020

The hotel is a heritage property that feels quaint and charming, very lovely for a 5 star hotel stay. The staff goes out of their way to ensure you have a good stay, we had a great time there for my parents anniversary for which they gave us a cake and decorated the room on their own accord!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akriti18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2020 via mobile

We chose Shivavilas Palace in Sandur for our trip to Hampi. Although the drive to Hampi took us almost 50 minutes one way, we don't regret choosing this beautiful palace turned hotel. The room we occupied was well decorated with everything needed for a good comfortable stay. The room was clean and the bathroom with its lovely high ceiling and natural lighting was something we particularly liked. The attached sitout was another attraction. The service was quite good,the staff courteous and prompt. The hotel is located in a quiet part of the town. Food, too, was good.
This was a trip we took in times of a pandemic hence, we had to choose a hotel with a lot thought. As guests it made us feel comfortable when we saw the staff in masks. In such times that's the need of the hour. Our stay was excellent and we would definitely return again. Sandur and Shivavilas Palace took our heart. A special mention of Biswajit, Sameer and Joseph along with another staff at the reception whose name I am not too sure of.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vandana7969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews