We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
226
31
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
226
31
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal experience rooms are huge activity room swimming pool deluxe rooms are modern amenities dining hall lovely property great hospitality inner courtyard peaceful stay like royalty excellent stay royal touch royal era small town hotel staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Shivavilas Palace was a very pleasant surprise. The hotel is tucked away 1 hr from Hampi in the lush Sandur Valley. The property has preserved the ambience of the once Princely State of Sandur, with lots of Raj era memorabilia. The rooms are spacious and clean, and borders on old world luxury of antique furnishings. The staff displays impeccable courtesy and professionalism. You really feel welcome and cherished as a guest. There is not much to do other than visiting the ancient Kumaraswamy temple (in itself highly rewarding and beautifully set in the hills above Sandur) but this just enhances the attractiveness of Shivavilas Palace. A perfect place to unwind with family or friends. The only drawback (for some of us) was that the hotel does not have a licence to serve alcohol.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Service
Thank RoamingBrahmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is a heritage property that feels quaint and charming, very lovely for a 5 star hotel stay. The staff goes out of their way to ensure you have a good stay, we had a great time there for my parents anniversary for which they gave us a cake and decorated the room on their own accord!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akriti18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2020 via mobile

We chose Shivavilas Palace in Sandur for our trip to Hampi. Although the drive to Hampi took us almost 50 minutes one way, we don't regret choosing this beautiful palace turned hotel. The room we occupied was well decorated with everything needed for a good comfortable stay. The room was clean and the bathroom with its lovely high ceiling and natural lighting was something we particularly liked. The attached sitout was another attraction. The service was quite good,the staff courteous and prompt. The hotel is located in a quiet part of the town. Food, too, was good.
This was a trip we took in times of a pandemic hence, we had to choose a hotel with a lot thought. As guests it made us feel comfortable when we saw the staff in masks. In such times that's the need of the hour. Our stay was excellent and we would definitely return again. Sandur and Shivavilas Palace took our heart. A special mention of Biswajit, Sameer and Joseph along with another staff at the reception whose name I am not too sure of.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vandana7969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2020 via mobile

This hotel has lots of character if you value history and heritage over typical standard chain hotel designs..very spacious rooms with great antique furniture, private veranda sit outs and friendly service. Loved the collection of old books in the library, the sprawling green grounds and the vintage car display . The kalakendra ngo nearby for handcrafted items was a great recommendation by the front desk too.
Cons: distance from Hampi is a good hour plus so be prepared for the daily drive through mining dusty areas.
Breakfast variety and food quality could definitely be improved .

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nikharr2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020 via mobile

Our stay in this hotel wasn’t planned. It just happened because we decided to fly down instead of driving down from mumbai and had an extra day. Since we like ITC heritage brand booked to stay here for a night.
The route is very dusty and thru the mining areas. But once we reached we got a Royal taste of the kingdom of Sandur. For those planning to visit the Hampi temples from here it is an hours drive away and can be tiring. But for resting after the Hampi temples it is the best. The airport of Jindal is close by around 20 minutes I was told but the flights come in here from Bengaluru. The check in was efficient and they took us on a tour of the property. The place is extremely well maintained with highly polished floors, paintings and trophies intact. There is a functional temple which is opened for prayers daily by a priest. The breakfast was decent. There was a buffet dinner by the poolside the night we stayed as there was a function of Sandur residential school and a buffet party was organised for them. The rooms were extremely spacious and so was the bathroom. The wifi was patchy and even our local network didn’t work well.
It is a great place to spend with friends as there is a lot of lounging areas.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Prema_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews