We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Happy Hour on Marco Island”
Review of Sale E Pepe

Sale E Pepe
Reserve with OpenTable
Sale E Pepe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 125 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spruce Ave.
Reviewed 15 October 2017

After going here for the first time last year and having a great meal we absolutely wanted to come back. This time instead of happy hour and dinner we just did the happy hour. This place is really gorgeous inside.

We had one of each of the five offered items. They start you with two types of sliced bread and homemade ricotta to be used as a spread. It was excellent. The appetizers were: Tonno Crudo Varietà ($12), Yellowfin Tuna Duo: Tartare and Seared, Pickled Mushrooms, Tagliere Italiano Sale e Pepe ($13), aged Parma Prosciutto, 36-month Parmigiano Reggiano Vacche Rosse, Fior di Latte Mozzarella, Sottocenere Truffle Cheese, Seasonal Pickled Vegetables, Fried Neapolitan Dough, Cavatelli di Ricotta All’ Aragosta Affumicata ($15), Ricotta Cavatelli, Smoked Maine Lobster, Sweet Garlic Mascarpone Thyme Sauce, English Peas, Roasted Porcini Mushrooms, Parmigiana di Melanzane ($11), Baked Baby Italian Eggplant, Fior di Latte Mozzarella, Tomato, Basil, Parmigiano Reggiano Emulsion and Raviolini del Plin ($12), Pinched Miniature Ravioli Filled with Red Wine-Braised Beef, Sage, Roasted Artichokes, Parma Prosciutto Sauce, Ricotta Salata. The Italian plate very good (prosciutto, fresh mozzarella), the eggplant melted in your mouth, the cavatelli and lobster were wonderful, the tuna outstanding and the small ravioli very good. For dessert we had their absolutely delicious Tiramisu.

Note during happy hour these dishes are all half price and they offer one drink and get one free. We went with the Wente cabernet sauvignon.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrOcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale_e_Pepe_Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear MrOcho,
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with us. We’re pleased you truly enjoyed your food and impeccable service with us. We strive to deliver an enjoyable dining experience to everyone of our guests, we've created different dining spaces to cater to all of our guest's needs: our relaxed, yet sophisticated atmosphere on The Terrace or our intimate Dining Room with its marble floors and hand-painted frescoes. We look forward to seeing you again soon and serving you another memorable meal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

As our second time visiting and seated at the same wonderful table (inside but near window), we had a wonderful visit ( Sunday aug 27 at 7:00pm) very attentive staff including the sommelier.. food and wine wonderful as usual.. I only had two disappointments.. the music playing at a few points was literally Italians screaming ... it was not opera it was just horrible and very disturbing.. maybe something a little gentler?
Oh an I looked up to the ceiling at one point and ,in direct contrast to the perfection of everything else, the ceiling vents were coated and hanging with clumps of dust and grime.. like something you would see at a diner....easily fixed with a ladder and a vacuum cleaner with a brush attachment...
Other than that it was perfect!

Date of visit: August 2017
2  Thank Good2GoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale_e_Pepe_Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Good2GoUSA,
Thank you for joining us for a second time at Sale e Pepe. It is reviews like yours that certainly give our service and culinary team the extra energy in continuously delivering refined service and great food. Rest assured that your comments have been addressed. We look forward to your return during your next visit to Marco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Place was welcoming and easy to find. Valet parking was a plus. Dinner was served with all due care. We split a dessert which was great with coffee.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale_e_Pepe_Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Dublin604,

Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience with us! We strive to make every dining experience a truly memorable one and are so pleased you enjoyed the quality of service, food and the ambiance during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon and serving you another memorable meal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

We ate here on our first morning at the hotel, good choice of items which was served on the outside deck. Everything was cooked to perfection and was delicious, would definitely recommend giving the breakfast a try

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank 477cliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale_e_Pepe_Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Cliver18,
Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your delicious breakfast experience with us. We strive to make every dining experience a truly memorable one and are so ecstatic you enjoyed the quality of service, food and the ambiance during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We had high hopes for our date night, and since we didn't have the kids with us we thought we would try "the fancy place". The food was okay but you can get good food at many places on the island. Service was horrendous, we never heard the specials until we were through our appetizer and they were explaining them to another table in earshot. We had three different waiters who didn't know what the other was doing. One took our drink order, the next asked if we would like drinks, etc. This went on for the whole meal. Because of this we waited a long time for our food to be served (while watching other tables who showed up long after us receive theirs). We got the dessert menu from one waiter and then she came back 10 min later and asked if someone else took our order yet. Instead of being apologetic and trying to make amends for our lengthy wait time, one server expressed, while out of breath, how very busy she was. Perhaps she was trying to express that she was simply too busy to do her job and serve us properly. We opted out of dessert only for not wanting to spend any more time or money there. We asked for the bill and realized that there was already an 18% gratuity added (for our party of two). Far too much of a tip if you ask me, but maybe they knew their service lacked so they needed to force a tip. The family seated next to us was also visibly angered by the service, and asked for the bill as soon as their main courses were delivered. Next time we will take our business where it is actually appreciated. The only saving grace of this place was the view, but that is not enough to keep you in business when there are so many quality establishments on the island.

Date of visit: August 2017
3  Thank jarrodb948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale_e_Pepe_Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Jarrod B,
Thank you very much for taking the time share your feedback with us. We are disappointed to hear that your experience here was not what it could or should have been. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of our discerning clientele - and when we fall short of that, our goal is to learn from it to ensure it doesn’t happen again. Rest assured that your comments have been heard and addressed and we hope that in the future, we have the opportunity to provide you with an impeccable and memorable dining experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sale E Pepe also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sale E Pepe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing