We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambience Ruined”

Mangos Dockside Bistro
Ranked #33 of 125 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 32
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Waterfront dining on Smokehouse Bay...Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and sushi. Large full liquor bar. Inside waterfall, and family-friendly for children. Dogs are welcome for patio dining too. Gluten Free menu choices, as well as vegetarian selections. Numerous fresh seafood choices. Family owned and operated. And Marco Island's premiere catering service!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We wanted to sit outside on a beautiful April evening. Unfortunately we were seated next to a party of a dozen 18 year olds. They were loud and obnoxious and ruined the meal for us. Had to eat fast to get out of there. Not sure what the restaurant could have done.we’ll comeback but this night was unsatisfactory.

2  Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren R, Owner at Mangos Dockside Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hi Paul Z,
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that your meal was interrupted by other guests. Please keep in mind that in the months of March and April, it is Spring Break for a lot of our guests. We hope that everyone dining with us enjoys their experience. It sounds like this table specifically was enjoying their time! Please join us again in the future. This kind of thing doesn't happen everyday! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 1,839 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

We, as a large family, go here every time we are in Marco. Food is always excellent and the tsunami cocktail is a winner! A special mention to our waiter, Victor, who is always kind, friendly and attentive. Beautiful location, too - check it out!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren R, Owner at Mangos Dockside Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you Andy B for your review! I am so pleased that you and your family love Mangos as much as we do! Victor is incredible, one of a kind and we are proud to have him on our team! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Amazing location; great service and food is delicious! Some of the best sushi we have ever had. Fish tacos were fantastic too. Conch fritters are skippable. Loved the margaritas. Would definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren R, Owner at Mangos Dockside Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience! See you again in the future for another amazing meal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Outstanding atmosphere and equally outstanding seafood menu. Nestled in the Esplande Shopping center, this restaurant offers everything you can possible want for evening entertainment.

Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren R, Owner at Mangos Dockside Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your review! I am happy you enjoyed our waterside atmosphere and delicious food options! I hope you join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We ate at Mango's for the first time this year on Easter Sunday. We had two past bad experiences there last year: (1) a waitress with an attitude, and (2) the wrong food being served. But friends wanted to go there. We made reservations three weeks prior to the day, but our reservation was no where to be found when we arrived. There was apparently a problem with matching the computer reservations and the paper reservations. Really?! However, they were able to seat us fairly quickly. Then the fun began! We had to stand in the line for the meats and vegetables for almost 30 minutes. The line went out the door and down the sidewalk. Everyone in line was unhappy. Then when we finally got to the food, the first three "clean" plates had food smeared on them. Nothing was hot. In fact, the "hot" food was barely tepid. The prime rib was the strangest piece of prime rib I've ever seen and was tough and tasted like overcooked roast beef. The only food that was good was the chilled shrimp. Obviously, we decided not to stand in line again. Our dinner for two cost just over $100 (without drinks). That included a mandatory 20% service charge (what service?) that seemed to be assessed to cover the bus boys taking away a handful of dirty plates. This was an awful experience...the logistics of serving was poorly planned. We had an elderly lady with us who finally gave up standing in line, telling her son to just throw something on the plate for. NEVER AGAIN AT MANGO'S!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank gbrenards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren R, Owner at Mangos Dockside Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your review. Next Easter I hope you find an establishment that meets your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mangos Dockside Bistro also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mangos Dockside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing