We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Don't plan on eating here daily if you are staying more than a day or two. Limited selection. Beach is very far from hotel. Free smoothies are about 6 ounces and are only available in a short window of time. Extremely large nice bathrooms dont make up for the small bedrooms. Tiny tiny "gift shop" with virtually nothing in it. Many better choices. Large high rises lined up on a beach. Much nicer stay on Sanibel Island for less money. Not your best choice for families. It is a very pretty facility but overrated

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank herman m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Thank you for your recent stay at the Marco Beach Ocean Resort and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We were disappointed to hear that you found our menu selections limited. Please know we have shared your comments with our culinary team.

Complimentary smoothies are offered every day at 3 PM at the pool and beach as part of the Marco Beach Ocean Resort traditions.

Our gift shop reflects the boutique style of the resort and offers unique items exclusively selected for our clientele.

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,360)
There are newer reviews for Marco Beach Ocean Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

911 - 915 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have stayed here 6 times in the last 5 years! We come back every year because of the staff members... I want to name the special people, Robert, Harlen, John, Martin, and of coarse Orville at the beach, then, Carmichael and Sean in the bar, then, Orville at the front desk, can't forget Tony, & Paulie at the valet ! We also got to know Robert the GM who was absolutely wonderful! Because of these people we keep coming back! We want to thank all of these people for the service and respect we receive every time we stay here! Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert F, General Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for the compliments. We are very proud to have such an amazing staff and we are happy you have gotten a chance to get to know each of them. We appreciate your visit each year and we are always working harder to make each stay better than the last. We look forward to seeing you again and we will share your kind words with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Outstanding, caring staff to include concierge, bell and parking staff, to beach staff. Our thanks to the outstanding and helpful front desk staff. First night medical problem was handled by the front desk staff, to include calling drug stores, to get meds. Truly could not have been more helpful. Beautiful ocean view suite with no problems at all! Son and daughter-in-law had room adjoining and were very pleased. Concierge arranged car service back to airport which was perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLB3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert F, General Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for your kind remarks, I will share your kind words with our staff. We are pleased you had such a great experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just returned from staying at the MBOR and there isn't enough room to list all the wonderful things we have to say! From the first phone call to Brian at the front desk and Linda in reservations, we knew we were dealing with the best in the business. The resort is beautiful and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. Loved the double sink vanity! We had dinner at Sale e Pepe and both the service and food were wonderful. Boyfriend said it was the best veal chop he's ever had! The 3 pm smoothies on the beach are a great touch. Couldn't end the review without mentioning the beach bar, its friendly staff, and the Platinum Margaritas by Mary K. They are a must! We will definitely be returning to the Marco Beach Ocean Resort..

Room Tip: we stayed on the 9th floor and the view was great
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert F, General Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time and were able to take advantage of our beach and Sale e Pepe while staying with us.
We look forward to your return stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The service in the hotel and at the restaurants was excellent. My 9 year old commented that "everyone who works here is so nice". The waitstaff at the various eating spots were always smiling and remembered you when you return. I loved that this was a crowded spring break week but inside the hotel, you would never have known. The hotel itself is nicely decorated. The rooms are a little small but the set up was good with the separate bedroom area. All the rooms face the ocean and our view from garden view room was fantastic!

The beach is gorgeous but poorly managed. We inquired how early you needed to arrive in order to get front row chairs. The nice attendant told us to come down around 7:30a. I did so the next day and they were not even close to being set up. When I cam back around 8:10a, a few people began waiting for their chairs - which were still not set up. The woman in front of me requested 10 chairs and then left. The problem was that the 10 chairs were held for this woman all day. Two people came down around 12:30pm and a few others trickled in by the time we left at 2pm. I found this incredibly inconsiderate of this guest but also wondered why they would be allowed to hold those chairs with noone in them almost all day. Also, in addition to the guests there are also "members" who must pay some kind of annual fee to use the beach/pool. So, even though you may get up at the crack of dawn to get your chair, if a member shows up at any point during the day, they will bring out more beach chairs and put them right in front of you. They even flattened a three year old's sand castle because the member wanted their chairs in that exact spot. As a guest you feel like a second class citizen when a member shows up. On our last day at the beach, we were seated next to a large number of teanagers who were not guests of the hotel as they all talked about the various hotels they were staying at. One of them moved my stuff and took my beach chair when we left for lunch. They played music and swore quite a bit without regard to the children around. Later a couple clearly intoxicated wandered on to the beach and assured one of the beach servers he would "take care of him". They also played their music loudly which only caused the teenagers to turn theirs up louder. I love music but there is nothing worse than a Taylor Swift against Jimmy Buffet competetion going on around you. A guest or member finally told the teenagers to turn their music down. Nobody dared say anything to the drunk couple because by this time, the woman was laying on top of the man. We finally got fed up and went to the pool. As all the other reviews state, the pool is ridicoulsly small. I didn't think I would care about the pool when there is an absolutely beautiful beach just minutes away. But, I never thought a hotel of this quality would allow people to ruin the beach experience for their guests.

Were it not for the beach situation, I would definitely return. The service in the hotel is the best I have experienced in a while.

Room Tip: I would assume all rooms on the 7th floor and above have a great view. Get to the beach early for a...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,621 reviews
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
575 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Naples
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Beach Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Address: 480 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145-5304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Green Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range: ₹ 13,730 - ₹ 36,058 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Beach Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort epitomizes the AAA Five-Diamond standards. Marco Beach Ocean Resort features casual and elegant dining, a spa and fitness center, pool and hot tub, rooftop gardens, four miles of white sand beach and nearby golf, tennis and shopping. Complimentary smoothies on the beach and pool offered daily at 3pm. Wireless internet available complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Beach Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Beach Ocean Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Resort
Marco Island Beach Ocean Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing