We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest Feeling to being in the Caribbean....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
MO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Closest Feeling to being in the Caribbean....”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I accompanied my husband on a business trip for 4 nights the end of April. I have stayed at this hotel several times during the past 20 years & still love it. Marco Island Marriott has undergone a renovation within the last several years and it shows.

The GOOD:
The grounds are landscaped with abundant palm trees, flowering bushes, flowers & healthy green grass. The hotel restaurant even has a nice size herb garden growing right outside of Kurrents Restaurant. The hotel pools are both large & immaculatley maintained. Great lounge chairs with thick cushions, umbrellas & tables. Both pools have an incredible view of the beach which is literally steps away from both pools. Water in pools was not too hot & not too cold...just perfect. Hot tubs by both pools are nice. Great food & drink service by the pool...just stick up the flag on your chair and the waitress comes right over. Great service out on the beach as well. Servers drive by on golf carts often to see if you need anything. We didn't wait long for anything. The Pina Colada's were excellent. Not too sweet, very creamy & served w/fresh pineapple. Yes, annoying people were down at the pool by 8:00 a.m. "reserving" their chairs & then disappearing for hours, but since it wasn't extremely busy during our stay, we always got a spot. With this being said, I would not have hesitated to throw someone's towels off the chair if I needed a spot to sit....and so should you if are there during high season. You are given a "towel card" per adult which gets you 2 towels. You get your towel card back after you return your towels & you are allowed to switch out wet towels for dry ones as often as you'd like. When you check out, you return the towel cards; otherwise you are charged $25 per card. I actually think it's a smart system.

You can rent a Chickee Hut on the beach with 2 lounge chairs for $35/per day. We got ours for 1/2 price on Wed. because they were running a special. You can also get free chairs set up for you right down by the water & add an umbrella for $18 which is what we did one day. The beach is steps away from the hotel and is a wide, white sandy beach with the prettiest water in Florida I have seen. It was not too cold to swim in either. Other than some jagged shells, the sand is like baby powder.

We took the Shelling/Sailing excursion right from the Marriott on a catamaran with another couple. It was a 2.5 hour trip to an uninhabitated island south of Marco. The ride over was beautiful & very relaxing. We even saw some dolphins along the way. Once to the island, we found tons & tons of shells...some of the best shelling ever! I highly recommend this excursion...it is the 3rd time I have been on it & it is a great experience!

We ate at Quinn's on the beach, which is of course, RIGHT on the beach. Huge, huge fresh salads, burgers, appetizers, etc. at a somewhat elevated price, but it is a resort and look at that view! The food was very good. We skipped the breakfast buffet at Tropiks & had a quick bite at the Coffee Shop in the hotel (which was very good). The zucchini bread was very moist & delicious with a fresh hot cup of tea. We ate at Kurrents one night & had no trouble getting seated. Very, very good food although a somewhat limited menu. I would have liked to have had more options. We also walked over to DaVinci's Italian Restaurant one night which was a 10-min. walk from the hotel, as well as Nacho Mama's Mexican Restaurant. They were also good. Ne-Ne's was a local little breakfast spot that was a 25 min. walk from the hotel & they had great pancakes. We like to take-off and find the good local spots whenever we take a trip. Many people raved about Marek's restaurants a few miles off-property, but we didn't have time to try them.

The resort is very laid back, very relaxing & has some of the most BEAUTIFUL sunsets I have ever seen. The beach is very big & the water is clear. At night, all the glowing lights come on at the hotel, there is live music playing down by the bar at Quinn's & you can enjoy a nice night swim out by the pool that closes at 10 p.m. There were a few fire pits outside with waterfalls & sitting areas that were nice to sit by at night. If you are looking for a party scene, this is NOT the place to go, but if you are looking for a place to relax, swim, sit at the beach, watch the sunset, eat good food ...this is your place!
THe SO-SO:
Upon checking into our room, the bathroom had a very strong odor of stinky feet. We dropped off our suitcases, headed down for lunch, & thought the smell would perhaps disappear. When we came back, it still smelled of stinky feet. I called the front desk & they sent someone up immediately to clean the bathroom...again. After that, the smell went away, but it bothered me that it smelled in the first place?? The front desk was very apologetic & took care of it in a very efficient manner, but it did gross me out.

The sound-proofing in the rooms is not very good. Not sure what the hotel could do to improve this. We could hear conversations word-for-word at 11:00 pm right out our door and people slamming doors, kids running up & down hallways, etc. To the hotel's credit, I have to say we had very rude, loud, inconsiderate neighbors who thought nothing of slamming their doors shut, yelling & laughing as they got back to their rooms at midnight, so it is not completely the hotel's fault. But the noise was a distraction from our otherwise very, very relaxing vacation! I would not hesitate for a second to stay here again...and already looking forward to our next trip back...with the kids this time:)

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherinongratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,285
    985
    272
    79
    60
See reviews for
1,415
1,108
46
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. Great service, friendly staff, good food and drinks and not a bad value. We would come back and that definitely doesn't come lightly.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swatts24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I just spent a week at the Marco Island Marriott. It is about a one hour drive south from the Fort Myers airport and very easy to find. The property is situated on the main thoroughfare on the island, right on the white sandy beach of the Gulf of Mexico. Valet parking is $20 per night and self-parking is $12 per night. We did valet upon arrival due to having our luggage, but beyond that, it was really unnecessary. Most people seemed to be self parking as well. The lot is right across the street with ample parking. Valet is just a section of the same lot. I honestly think you could retrieve your car more quickly by walking to it yourself (unless you call down ahead of time) and you save money on the fees and tips that way.

The lobby is nice but not very opulent compared to some of the other Marriotts that we’ve visited. There is a small row of shops selling clothes, jewelry and souvenirs, and there is also a coffee shop (which we did not try, although it looked good). The elevators are quick but a bit small. The building looks like it was remodeled fairly recently, but if you look closely, there are some signs that defy the updated veneer. Besides the older elevators, the stairway doors and the A/C vents stood out. However, this did nothing to detract from the experience.

We had a nice new flat screen in the room, although most of the channels were non-HD and looked crappy. The furniture was new and there was a granite counter in the bathroom. The closet had louvered sliding doors and was one of the biggest I’ve seen in any hotel room. There was a mini bar (which we never opened) and a small refrigerator that we used to stock breakfast items from a quick grocery trip – and save a ton of money. The safe was in a drawer and was typical of hotel safes except that it was not very deep and could not accommodate our SLR camera. We had free wi-fi as gold members, although it had some intermittent connection issues. It was $12.99/day for purchase, which seemed pretty steep.

Housekeeping was not as on the ball as you would expect for a category 7 Marriott property. One day they failed to replace our towels and tissues, so I had to call down and have some delivered to the room. Another day, my wife stopped by the room at 3pm (we’d been at the pool since 10am) and it hadn’t been cleaned yet, so she called to have it done. We had a comforter replaced one night because it had a giant red stain near the top (maybe lipstick, but who knows?) that really should have been caught. Upon check-in, we discovered that our balcony had not been cleaned at all because the floor was filthy and there was a beer can with cigarette ashes in the corner. Also, it seemed like they didn’t vacuum the hallways everyday, which was rough because there was a lot of sand being tracked throughout. Each time we had an issue, we called down and received an apology and swift resolution. I just would have expected a higher level of service the first time instead of reacting to problems as they arose.

We visited the spa just to find out our options and thought pricing was a bit high, albeit comparable to other spas of this caliber. It seemed very luxurious. There is even a separate pool for spa guests that’s fully enclosed. The spa included hot tubs, steam rooms and cold dip baths. They were offering a $35 spa day package that included unlimited use of the facilities. We were tempted, but passed. Near the spa is a 24-hour fitness center available to all guests. The equipment looked brand new and appeared to be in excellent condition. There were several bikes, ellipticals and treadmills and numerous weight machines. We passed by many times and it was never very crowded.

The hotel is comprised of two towers that have different views of the beach and the two pools on the property. The beach was a very short distance from the resort and had nice, white sand. The sand was not as white – nor the sea as blue – as it is in Caribbean, but it was very nice for Florida. There were various chairs on the beach for general use and a number of straw umbrellas (with attached bench) were available for rent from the hotel for $30. There were some jet skis and parasailing nearby, but the beach was mostly filled with people walking and looking for sea shells. We walked the beach each morning and went one mile in either direction before turning around and heading back.

The north side of the north tower has a view of the “tiki pool”, which is a bit smaller and more family oriented than the main pool. It has a very shallow section for little ones, a waterslide and a big waterfall at the other end. There is also a somewhat secluded hot tub to the side. The tiki bar there serves typical poolside drinks (with and without alcohol) and a very limited menu (read hot dogs, burgers and chicken sandwiches). There is no food/beverage service at this pool. You have to go up to the tiki bar to order and wait for your food/beverage. Also, the towel hut is located at the other pool. Neither is a big deal. I waited 15 minutes tops for food from the tiki bar and it’s a 30 second walk to the towels. Still, it’s good to know that there is some degree of separation from the main pool.

The “adult” pool still had plenty of kids and families, but the shallowest section was 3 feet. Moms with infants were sitting on the steps with them where it was shallow. The pool itself was pretty large and had palm trees in planters throughout. It was very well landscaped in and around and made for a nice atmosphere. Everything was impeccably maintained. To be honest, the design, atmosphere and upkeep of this pool rivaled –if not exceeded – some places we’ve been in Hawaii and Cancun. This is one of those few resorts within the continental U.S. where you really feel like you’re somewhere exotic, luxurious and tropical. That’s also why they command such high rates! In keeping with that, you can rent one of the four pool cabanas for $250/day. They were doing half off Mondays, but it’s still overboard. One couple did it two days we were there and they were empty the rest of the time. You get reserved chairs (far away from the pool), use of the cabana and a personal attendant.

Your towel card (one per person) gets you two towels from the hut. There were fairly well-padded chairs all around, some with umbrellas. The bar service was pretty good. You put up a flag on the back of your chair to notify them you need something. You can order food and drinks from Quinn’s – good quality and taste all around but predictably expensive. You can also walk to the Italian restaurant on the property (facing the beach and between both pools) to order pizza, pasta, paninis and ice cream. For $12, you can buy a mug there that gets you unlimited refills from the soda fountain during your stay.

I do want to clear up one trend in reviews about the pool’s being overcrowded and the incidence of chair saving. Those reviews seemed to have been written around the peak of spring break. We were there 5 days and had no trouble getting a good spot on any day. If you want a prime spot (e.g. umbrella and table, near the water, etc.), then you do need to go down and claim it before 10am. We found that some families would claim chairs first thing and then disappear for hours, which was annoying. However, there were usually enough other spots that it wasn’t an issue. If we’d wanted to move, I wouldn’t have thought twice about moving someone else’s towels if I hadn’t seen them in a couple of hours – especially if they just threw the still-folded towel on the chair. The pool folks did clear the folded towels periodically, but I can imagine why it was so frustrating during the really crowded time. We would go down at 9am to claim our spot, then walk on the beach for an hour and come back. I felt like this was acceptable and saw others do similar things. However, there were no lines, no shortages of chairs or anything of the sort. In fact, some people would go for a few hours in the morning and then leave, so people coming in after lunch would get great spots. It was not anything to worry about. We were concerned ahead of time because of these reviews and the fact that the hotel was full for several nights during our stay. We found out there were multiple conferences going on (there are lots here) and they were taking up rooms but not really using the facilities very much.

I think the thing that surprised me the most on our trip was the lack of great restaurant and shopping options on Marco Island itself. We did a quick trip to Winn-Dixie to get some groceries for breakfast and snacks and we ate one breakfast and two dinners on the island. There are not many hotels on Marco Island – it is mostly condos and other residences. The food options were okay, but not outstanding. In my opinion, some of the highest rated eateries wouldn’t even be listed in most places. We drove a half hour to check out 3rd St. and 5th Ave. in Naples and ended up going back for dinner a second night just because there are so many fantastic options. Unless you’re with kids, I’d recommend skipping Marco Island for dinner altogether and just driving to 5th Ave. in Naples. You could eat somewhere different every night for a week and not be disappointed. If you are unable or disinclined to drive that far, there are a few places on the island that are okay. Just don’t expect the options to be in line with the caliber of the resort itself. We did not try the hotel restaurants. They looked good, but expensive.

So what’s the bottom line? We were staying on Marriott points and got an upgraded view and free wi-fi due to our gold status. Otherwise, we would’ve been spending nearly $400/night to stay there. It was a great trip but definitely not worth that. I realize it’s easy to travel there and it’s within the U.S., so that’s probably a big draw for a lot of folks. The resort was also very family friendly, so that’s a bonus if you have kids. If you stay, you won’t be disappointed, but make sure you do some comparisons of other options, because there are probably some better values out there (even with Marriott) for the tropical, beach and pool type of vacation. We’d go back again, but probably only on points.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach actually have more obstructed views due to the stairwell balconies at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rbuck82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Good: The facade of this hotel is very 70s, but a majority of the interior seems to have been updated recently and was comfortable and clean. The staff was also extremely friendly. The beachfront was fantastic, I'd recommend sitting there instead of the pool if you want a break from screaming children. The Bad: The noise level. We woke up at least 4-5 times each night to doors slamming shut at a decibel level I've never encountered at a hotel. We also listened to the neighbors' t.v., toilets flushing, voices in the hallway, etc. Peace & quiet was not to be had anywhere in the resort. One morning we found a cigarette stained muffin wrapper on our balcony table - pretty sure it came from the upstairs neighbors. Also, pretty average quality food on the premises and very slim room service menu for such a big hotel. Overall, a good hotel for the location, but not the best Marriott I've been to and therefore not quite worth $400+/night.

Room Tip: The Islands Tower is more convenient, but I wonder if the other tower (can't remember the name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwilladviseyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed here for a biz meeting. Hotel was very crowded and rooms were not updated. Got room with 2 double beds and requested king. Was a drag as my spouse was with me.

Go to ritz instead

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texan123Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
5.0 km away
Olde Marco Island Inn and Suites
24.2 km away
Naples Bay Resort
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
1,562 reviews
2.6 km away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.2 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
1.6 km away
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
70 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort

Property: JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort
Address: 400 South Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Marco Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,099 - ₹ 41,747
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort is a renowned vacation playground that opens guests up to the world around them and creates an authentic sense of place. Situated on a sprawling private white sand beach along the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, the enchanting ecosystem of the Florida Everglades is at our doorstep and provides myriad opportunities for exploration and adventure. Experience true luxury in our newly renovated guest rooms and suites, feed your intellect through our locally sourced menu selections and interactive food and beverage experiences, and find balance, health, and harmony at our Spa by JW(R). Following a $320 million renovation, our resort pays homage to the Balinese-inspired Marco Island heritage and provides leisure and business travelers with everything they need. Two private 18-hole championship golf courses, three swimming pools, 10 restaurants, an array of water sports and recreational activities, and a children's Tiki Tribe camp deliver endless opportunities for relaxation and fun. JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort is an immersive sanctuary where guests can delve deeper into their passions while enjoying our legendary warm, attentive service delivered by those who genuinely love what they do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club And Spa
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club Hotel Marco Island
Marriott Marco Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing