We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, a few gripes...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This Hotel is immaculate, very nice, and well staffed with helpful and professional workers. They have a wonderful pool along with whirlpool and hot tub facilities. The beach property is easily accessible with complimentary chaise lounges and umbrella rentals. The food and drink service is excellent and offers some fine cuisine.

Parking is OK with self park at $10/night and valet at $14/night. Since the self park is very easily accessible we opted for that over the valet. There is a lot of good local dining. Some within walking distance across the street from the Hotel. Three spots we liked were Verdi's Restaurant (1.5 m) on Collier Blvd, Snook Restaurant (3 m) on Bald Eagle, and our favorite is Pelican Bend Restaurant on Capri Blvd (5 m) on the Isle of Capri just over the bridge that leads into Marco Island. A note on Pelican Bend. They don't take reservations. Wait time is usually a 1/2 hour or more. And, it is very definitely worth the wait. Take their fish of the day, it is unsurpassed!

My gripes are petty. WiFi in the room is $15/day. But it is free in the lobby and at poolside or on the beach. I just don't understand the nickel and dime stuff at the nicer hotels.
The other is that we are seniors and opted for a senior rate. Unlike any other hotel that we have booked over the years, this hotel only offers a senior room which is limited to location and view. Most places offer all of their rooms at a discounted rate to seniors which provides a choice to the guest.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeL642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,275 - 2,279 of 3,044 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

We are Hilton Honors members but this hotel did not meet our expectations. Although there seemed to be plenty of vacancies, we were placed in a room directly above the hot tub. The view of the pool and Gulf were nice but we could hardly use our balcony due to loud talkers in the hot tub and private events that went on around the pool in the evening (one conference, one wedding). The Safe in the room was problematic, sometimes would open, other times not. Coffeemakers in room were not replinished with coffee and tea, we had to ask. Also no body wash or shower gel was provided, soap bar only, again had to ask front desk. There were 3 elevators, one never worked, another one went out but was worked on and fixed but we were down to one elevator for a time. Hope renovation is soon! 2 drinks at the pool cost $25. On a positive note, beds and pillows were comfortable, gift shop was nice.

Room Tip: Request a high floor overlooking pool and gulf but closer to gulf side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camfva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We have loved this property for a number of years. However this year
(Apr. 2012) we were disapointed. It appears that they are biding time for a Dec. renovation. The following are small things but when added together form a weak tapestry:
1. Had to beg for a Marco Review Tourist Magazine.
2. Water in shower and sinks would empty s l o w l y.
3. Toilet seat 1/2 off its base.
4. Hallway dirty---never cleaned during our 7 day stay.
5. One elevator out of order during our 7 day stay.
6. Sea food buffet ---a rip off.
BUT
THE PERSONNEL WERE OUTSTANDING---ALL --PARTICULARLY
THE POOL PEOPLE (BUD AND OTHERS) AND BELL MEN(GARY +) THE BEACH IS GORGEOUS.

Room Tip: Facing beach and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redcapsAvon_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Our family of 4 (children 7 and 12) just returned from a 7 night stay at this Hilton resort. We have been visiting Naples for the past 4 years during April vacation, staying at the Naples Beach Resort (which was sold out this year). Overall, our stay at this Hilton resort was easy and carefree once we arrived, in part because our expectations were based upon other reviews (thank you reviewers!). The service is fantastic, although the individual rooms do need updating (lobby and spa are top notch). I am concerned that once the hotel is renovated, it will become cost-prohibitive for a family to stay. The Marriott (which is about 4 buildings down) was twice the cost as this hotel.

We ran into some confusion booking our room - we booked a two room suite (bedroom and living room separated with a door). After not seeing such a room offered on any website, we called to confirm that we booked such a room. We did not have the room, despite having asked the booking agent that very question multiple times. After about an hour on the phone with the 1 800 Hilton number and the hotel manager, we were given the room we booked. I recommend this type of room for a family b/c it has 1.5 baths, king size bed in the bedroom and queen size pull-out in living room. With that bumpy take off, we were hesitant on what would happen upon arrival. However, there were no surprises and our stay was lovely.

Some suggestions/observations:
First, buy breakfast as part of the package. We did and it was worth the value, as our kids love breakfast. The resort provides a wonderful continental or full buffet (the main difference is that the full buffet offers an omelet station and waffles). Our family easily could have enjoyed just the continental breakfast. I was always surprised at the cost of the breakfast itself -at least $75 for our family of 4, but since we had breakfast coupons, we were only leaving tip. The only other meal we ate at the hotel was lunch with friends. Because of two rounds of drinks, the 4 adults and 4 children bill was $220, which was steep, given the non-gastronomic event that it was. On the last night, we ordered pizza from Joey's down the street. They deliver and the hotel allowed us to eat it at the bar patio to watch the sunset.

Second, rent a car. You'll need one to get off the island and go into Naples, where most of the better restaurants and upscale shopping is located. Parking is $10/day. FYI - at the Naples Beach Resort, there was free valet parking.

Third, the beach is great for walking/running in the morning. Because the sand hard is and the beach is relatively flat, I preferred this morning run to other soft sand beaches. My kids enjoyed the dolphins, pelicans and shells.

Fourth, have friends come visit you. We had family and friends who were also vacationing in the area come to the resort to visit. Although our beach chairs (and towels) came with the cost of the room, renting them for the day for friends/family was a minimal cost and there are many water activities offered. Our friends rented a sailboat. My daughter and I wanted to paddleboard, too (but water was too choppy while we were there). Jet skis and parasailing were also offered on site.

Finally, ladies, go to the clothing boutique across the street. The name has escaped me, but it is in the strip mall near the restaurants (not the one with Chico's in it). Fun contemporary fashions displayed well. Gentlemen (and ladies) down the road, visit Island Trends, which carries a nice selections of Tommy Bahama and Robert Graham clothing.

It is easy to enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: Two room suites are great for a family of 4. Room 907 had a 2 slider balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ssfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The hotel itself is in a fantastic location, near shopping and entertainment. There are a few problems that I think those who are not spending their points or are not traveling on the company account. The most glaring issue is the add on fees. My cost for the King Jr. Suite Delux came in at 330 USD a night.
So here is the breakdown of extra costs.
1. 10 dollars a night for parking, self parking. This is not a parking garage, it's a lot. You must walk after parking. Not really sure as to why you get the charge.
2. 10 dollars a day for Internet. Not exactly high speed, but usable. At 330 dollars a night I would assume this to be included.
The room is spacious and clean, the furnishings are somewhat drab not exactly Hilton standard. As far as the claim of a furnished balcony, this consists of 2 PVC chairs and a stubby plastic table. The chairs can be found at any oceanfront hotel in Florida. The point being don't get the idea that you will be relaxing in a chaise lounger. Standard and industrial cheapness.
We ate at the Paradise Cafe for breakfast each morning. We booked the room with breakfast included, I think it's a reasonable add on. The food is okay, everything seemed fresh. The space was clean and the view is great. The service is not a Hilton however.
Being a native Floridian I am well aware of the large influx of tourists to this state and particular area every winter. We got the feeling that the staff was completely incapable of being people friendly. I chalk it up to being abused by so many guests and so many demands. I say this because when I told the server that we had coupons for breakfast the service became non existent. Dirty dishes were left on the table trough the entire meal, and the check was dropped off at the table with no closing remarks. The total table count on average each morning while we were sitting was 10, maybe a total of 25 guests.
We used the pool briefly, not much to report. It was clean and well laid out. The beach area is the beach area, nothing outstanding to report. Being a South Florida hotel it fits right in with the rest, and that's a real problem for the Hilton name.
My personal take on this Hilton is that it's over stressed and not capable of standing out from the other properties in the area. What the Hilton must realize is that when someone books a room at one of their properties they expect Hilton standards of service and accommodation. I am willing to pay the extra for this, because of I have experienced this at many of their properties.
This property falls well short of the Hilton standard, yes it's a Hilton and yes it's location is fantastic. This property just does not distinguish itself from any of the other properties in this locale. Keep in mind that this location really has no bad area, it's an island. Maybe the Hilton should try to become an Island as well as it pertains to its standard and service at this property. I honestly can say that I will not return as there is nothing here that says anything different than the rest of the buildings in this area. It's an average and unfortunately typical Florida beachfront hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor room, above level 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
72 reviews
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#6 of 12 in Marco Island
584 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#11 of 59 in Naples
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort

Address: 560 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145-5503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#3 Green Hotel in Marco Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range: ₹ 19,806 - ₹ 41,484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed for guest room renovation and restoration. It plans to reopen in early 2018. Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort and Spa hotel is perfectly situated on the beautiful Marco Island beach on the Southwest Florida Gulf Coast. This AAA 4- Diamond deluxe 11-story Florida beach resort is only minutes from world-class golfing, the Florida Everglades National Park and some of Southwest Florida's best shopping, dining and recreational activities. Marco Island is conveniently located near Naples, Florida.At the Hilton Marco Island, Florida Resort and hotel, we feature 297 guest rooms including 22 gulf-view one-bedroom suites, and four luxuriously appointed two-bedroom penthouses.The Marco Island Spa at our resort hotel is the perfect hideaway in Southwest Florida. The Spa is a luxuriously appointed full service spa featuring signature facials, therapeutic massages, restoring body treatments, nail care, hair care and relaxation lounges. Our Marco Island spa also features a retail boutique as well as a state-of-the art fitness complex.The Hilton Marco Island, Florida hotel offers Activities and sightseeing opportunities for the entire familyThe Hilton Marco Island, FL hotel and resort offers guests an array of choices for both casual and elegant dining.Planning an Event or Meeting? With 12,000 square feet of total meeting and event facilities, superb catering, wonderful accommodations in a stunning location the Hilton hotel in Marco Island is everything you'll need for a flawless event.So whether for a family vacation, a weekend getaway or to attend a conference, make the Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort and Spa your choice in Southwest Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Marco Island Beach Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Beach Hilton Resort
Hilton Resort Marco Island Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing