We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Madeira Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Madeira Bay Resort
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a great time staying at MBR! The location is so close to many popular attractions (nothing is really more than 25 minutes away), and not mention, it is right across the street from the beach. We've vacationed a few times now at MBR and the beach is never over crowded and the staff at MBR have always been very helpful. John's Pass is only a 5 minute walk away, and then you're there near great restaurants and other super fun beach activities.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    65
    27
    19
    26
See reviews for
156
86
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I am writing this as we got home from our 4th stay there. We have stayed in 3 different condos since 2008 and all at different times. I get the rentals through VRBO.com, Itrip.net or I call the owner directly and then call my contact person- Kristal at the resort directly. I have a pet, so I have stayed in 2 pet friendly condos which is great for us.
I am going to give my honest opinion here as we were not so impressed with the last condo we stayed in which was 601 and owned by TRS(The Resort Company itself). I could not get our usual condo and since it was peak time, I had to take what was left and pet friendly. I payed much more than I usually have and feel that I should review this place fairly.
First of all, the location is awesome for the Condo. Walking distance to tourist shopping, the beach, restaurants, bars. You don't really need a car.There is a trolley/bus that stops right in front if you desire to go anywhere else. We drive and have family in the area so we venture away from the crowds and go see the Rays play at the Trop.
The view from our condo 601 and the others we have stayed in is awesome and are all on the Bay/Marina side. We are worried the gulf side condos (which are cheaper) will be noisy as they are right over Gulf Blvd. My sister stayed in one over the gulf and said the noise wasn't too bad. There are balconies to sit out on and enjoy the views, either side.
The staff there is very nice and helpful to us, whenever I have had contact with them. Kristal especially is good, she is my contact person. Never encountered a rude employee in the 4 years we have stayed here. I did make a work request this past time about the walk in shower head not working. It did not get fixed while we were there. The previous time we were there, the sliding door was broke and got fixed the very next business day. The big complaint here and from many others is the low flow shower heads are bad to begin with and now are getting clogged from age/buildup. The water pressure is terrible for showering. We had to use the tub to shower, not the big walk-in shower.
The condos are spacious for the most part, modern, and can accommodate a large party of people depending on the condo you rent. Make sure you ask about the types of beds/bedrooms, bathrooms and eating surfaces before you rent. 601 had no table to eat at, small living room and just a 2 seater barstool at counter set up. However, the condo was set up to sleep up to 5 people(not comfortably) we had to eat off the coffee table in front of the TV. I bring and buy food to save costs.The kitchens are large with bare minimums for utensils and such. 308 had a table for 4 and barstools, 508(itrip.net) was the best and largest and we were able to have a small family get together in there.
The master bedrooms are all large and so are the bathrooms. The "den" or 2nd bedrooms are small and may have no closet or anything to store clothing in. The masters have a large closet and a TV stand that has 3 drawers for storing clothes. There is also 2 nightstands on either side of master beds for clothing storage.The beds in the condos we have stayed in are very uncomfortable and low quality. Just a metal spring mattress covered with thin mattress covering. This is one of the biggest downsides of the condos. They all seem to have the same cheap furnishings and decor. We bring a memory foam mattress topper to sleep on and one time I used all the extra blankets to pad the mattress. Our backs are very sore if we sleep on the mattress itself. The extra bed in 601 was in a small room and looked to be nothing more than a "rollaway cot" with metal bars as head and footboards. Not suitable for anyone tall or over the age of 16. All sofa pull out into beds, but again, not comfortable at all. 308 has bunk beds and 508 has same beds but queen/king sized. 601 has a new King bed but still not good quality and it had the matching twin comforter from the rollaway bed on the bottom of the bed as the bedspread as opposed to the usual tropical print one all the other condos have. So no properly fitting one was provided.
The Resort advertises that it is this luxurious place and I can honsetly tell you there are many things lacking here. The pool and hot tub are in a parking lot like one reviewer said. The Spa in the building is very expensive and I don't think does a great business. The quality of the towels are about Gym/YMCA(maybe worse) quality. I bring my own towels. Sheets are thin and come off at sides each night(even just sleeping), furniture is not large or comfortable (601 especially), the walls are very thin and most carpets that I have seen are stained. But, that may be because I stay in the "pet friendly" condos.
I try and stay in off peak times here so I do not feel I over pay for what you get. I feel that this past week(Easter), I severly overpaid for what I got. This particular condo(601) did not have any beach chairs, towels or anything extra so luckily, we brought all our own.
I do not want to deter anyone from staying here, there are many positives to the condo. However, I just don't want anyone to be surprised and disappointed when they get there.
Read all the other reviews and make your decision based on all of them.

Room Tip: Bayside is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CCEMTPRNcess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We were so happy with our recent vacation at Madiera Bay Resort. We had a top floor, gulf-facing condo that gave us wonderful views. The unit was very clean and nicely decorated. Beach access was right across the street, and great restaurants were all within walking distance. We rented a car for the week and didn't need it! John's Pass provided shopping for everyone: souvenirs and t-shirts, wine and cigars, jewelry. Oh, did I mention the beach? White soft sand, plenty of space, nice for walking. We've only been home a couple of weeks and we are ready to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vagabond007549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
256 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I think that your viewpoint of this condo hotel depends heavily on your room. We were in 611, a small condo that could not accommodate 4 comfortably- but had very nice views. While the kitchen was nice, the furniture was outdated, the sofa bed and master bed was extremely uncomfortable, and there was only a small place for 2 to eat at the kitchen bar (2 kids were ok, not two adults as the space is tiny). The carpet was filthy- and when the manager viewed it, he stated that they had not gotten around to cleaning it since they were so busy, but since they were full, nothing could be done. You could not walk on it barefoot. The pool is very small for a building of this size and is without bathroom access and shade.

The pillows do not have pillow covers, and they had no extra pillow cases in the entire building-bring your own pillows.

The positives? Close proximity to John's Pass, across the street from the beach and Alex, a very customer-service oriented reservationist/desk clerk.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an updated room with a dining table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin23320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl F, Manager at Madeira Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
We are sorry that we could not get the carpets cleaned prior to your arrival as we were completely booked for the 3 weeks leading up to your stay and did not have the opportunity to have them cleaned. Please know that they have been cleaned since your departure. Also, we are in the process of replacing all the pillows and beds in the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Great views..loved the salt water pool ...loved being in walking distance to stores, restaurants and the gulf...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
0.1 km away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
2.4 km away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
1.6 km away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.6 km away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
1.2 km away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Bay Resort

Property: Madeira Bay Resort
Address: 13235 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2632
Region: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,048 - ₹ 18,670
Hotel Class:3 star — Madeira Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern resort directly across the street from the Gulf of Mexico and 2 blocks north of John's Pass Village & Boardwalk. All 1 and 2 bedroom units have complete kitchens, washers & dryers in the unit and picturesque views of the intra-coastal waterway, Marina or the Gulf of Mexico. Free WiFi is available throughout the resort. The 6th floor "Sunset Room" is equipped with a weight machine and elliptical. A heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi are adjacent to the full service marina and restaurant. Oceans West Day Spa located within the resort provides hair, nail & skin care as well as massage. A 2,000 square foot function space is available for rent for private parties, family reunions, wedding receptions and corporate meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madeira Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Bay Hotel Madeira Beach
Madeira Bay Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing