We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet, Quaint, Comfy”
Review of Outrigger Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Outrigger Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is a small complex in the middle of LBK. Great location Property is well kept. Laundry room is close and reasonable. There is a shed by the laundry room with beach stuff, toys. The beach is beautiful ! and right there. Unit 5 was clean, nicely decoated with a few quirky things that were no big deal. Just remember this unit has no internet. You are rationed 1 trash bag and 2 rolls of toilet paper. :(. The screened porch isa great convenience. Bathroom fixtures like toilet and shower are for very short people. NIce layout inside and out. I would only return if they had internet in this unit.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
6  Thank nthemermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2011

We have stayed at the Outrigger Resort in 2008, 2009, and again in 2011. I have two kids 6 & 11. Each year we have stayed in Unit 3 which is VERY spacious. First, this is not the type of resort where you are walking long distances. It is Florida charm at it's best. It's not a high rise or large "motel like" resort. It is truly like a home away from home. We have met wonderful people who return year after year. It's safe with a "private" type of pool. Not many units so it's never overcrowded. Grills, picnic tables, and a beautiful beach. I've stayed in Sanibel, Ft. Lauderdale, Siesta Key, Disney, and in Naples. This cute resort has "old" Florida charm. Nothing fancy. If you are looking to relax, this is the place to do it. I can appreciate other resorts, but I love walking 2 minutes out the door and being on the beach. It's walking distance to a small shopping center and just a few minutes from great shopping on St. Armand's Circle. We typically go at Spring Break and have never had longer than 20 minutes to wait on most places on the key (unless going to St. Armands). Unit 3 has always been very clean and we keep it that way throughout our stay. We absolutely love the beach area which is never crowded. We always get lounge chairs. I would highly recommend this resort. However, if you are looking for bar service, daily refresh of towels and linens, beds being made for you, this is not for you. The place stays as clean during your visit as you keep it. Follow the rules of Florida (take trash out, don't leave food and drink on the counter, etc) and you won't have bug issues. After having parents live in Naples, doesn't make any difference how fancy the place is, in order to avoid nightly visitors from ants/palmetto bugs, take care of your food. I would not recommend this if you are looking for a fast place, touristy, party resort. Plenty of those on Sanibel and Siesta Key. My age is 40 and as a father of a family from the midwest, we appreciate the simplicity, yet the wonderful charm of this resort. If you are looking to go to Disney or Busch Gardens, probably not for you. 2 hours or so to Disney, 55 minutes to Tampa. If you are looking to Fish, rent wave runners, and walk the beach...this is for you! Wave runners are available down the beach at the Hilton. Fishing pole rentals are just down at the marina and fishing is great across the north end of the key on Coquina beach.

Room Tip: Larger families...go for apartment 3, smaller, 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank willsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

This is our second visit here and we are about to book again for a third time. The service from Roberto is fantastic. Yes the rooms could do with a very good clean, But they are not outdated. The view across the gulf is amazing. We even got to swim with a small shark. The manatees swim past daily , The turtles come up to the beach to lay there eggs AND you get too see dolphins everyday !!! We do take a trip up too Busch gardens 55 mins. Its not a place to stay if you want theme parks. This is a restful holiday. It's a wonderful place to stay. Hence the third visit.( We did ask for the apartment to be cleaned again after we arrived and it was within ten mins). It was not a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jpn213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

A couple of my friends and I decided to take a few days off and relax. Well that is just what we did. The apartments are roomy and the gulf breeze is just wonderful. We relaxed in the pool area and enjoyed long walks on the beach. We stayed in unit # 10 it was very relaxing and the apartment was clean.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mammejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
1.1 km away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
140 reviews
12.7 km away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
21.3 km away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#1 of 15 in Holmes Beach
1,008 reviews
10.6 km away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
1,888 reviews
2.2 km away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 5 in Longboat Key
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Resort

Address: 5155 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2005
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range: ₹ 13,286 - ₹ 20,674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Outrigger Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing