We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Diplomat Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2017

This is the fourth time we have stayed and it is just so nice. We were on the first floor this time which was fine, the views are still good but the convenience of just walking out and being on the grass or beach was a nice change. We stayed in 237 which was close to the end so you don't have lots of people walking back and forth. So nice this one had central air. That was a bonus.There are many high rise places in Longboat but this is perfect for us.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the end units as you have less traffic in front of your room
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank italian71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for The Diplomat Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2017

The condo unit we staying in, 254, is a large studio that is amazing! It's right on the beach, literally the front to back unit has an ocean front door that directly opens onto the pool and the beach! The bathroom has been thoroughly renovated and it looks great. New furnishings and décor, full kitchen, clean, with no-hassle parking. Very laid back and cozy place to stay. Very convenient layout at the Diplomat. I'd definitely go back!

Room Tip: Unit 254 -- we've stayed twice here
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kristofers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We stayed in room 254 and the bathroom was renovated recently and is nice and modern, loved the vanity light fixtures. This room is on the second floor with beautiful views of the Gulf and beach--spectacular sunset viewing. Nice beach like decor, fully equipped kitchen, cable TV. Very comfortable. All the units are front to back and have Gulf views and there is easy parking. The staff is very friendly and the property is kept very nicely. It's a great small resort to relax all day or a comfortable quiet place to come home to after shopping at St. Armand's Circle or seeing sights like the Ringling Museum. We just love the area, very pretty, relaxed with plenty to do or not do as you please. John Durante Park a couple miles north is a nice place with a walkway through the mangrove forest. A very nice Publix supermarket is nearby and a CVS. There's a sandwich shop across the street, open for breakfast and lunch and a beach store next to that for suits, towels etc. Overall we loved are stays there, have been twice and stayed in unit 254 both times and had a wonderful break from the cold weather up north!

Room Tip: We stayed on second floor unit, better views, probably less foot traffic past room
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nglochrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Get ready for some relaxation and gorgeous sunsets! My wife and I stayed in suite 214, which is located on the first floor on the south side of the condominium. Our backdoor opened right onto the beach. The newly updated suite was very clean and comfortable. The Diplomat’s staff was very friendly and helpful.
Pool was great! Cute little sandwich shop across the street had very delicious servings.
Rent a bike or scooter. Publix grocery store within a 10-15 minute walking distance.
My wife and cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: #214 Southend of property beach level
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We have stayed at the Diplomat Resort in the past and it has always been a very relaxing place to be. We look forward to spending time here because it is right on the beach and we get to watch a lot of beautiful sunsets. The staff have been so friendly and accommodating. We stayed in a studio efficiency that was recently updated and has all the comforts of home. We enjoyed our time here and plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HAROLD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
3.4 km away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
45 reviews
9.7 km away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
8.3 km away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
1,792 reviews
8.9 km away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#12 of 50 in Sarasota
1,547 reviews
0.6 km away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#13 of 21 in Longboat Key
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diplomat Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diplomat Beach Resort

Address: 3155 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range: ₹ 9,143 - ₹ 21,055 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Longboat Key, we are set only feet from the beaches of the Gulf of Mexico where you can see dolphins, manatees, the occasional stingray, and various wildlife. The Diplomat Beach Resort is centrally located within minutes of such attractions as Mote Marine Aquarium, Ringling Museum of Art, St. Armands Circle, Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, Sarasota Ballet, Sarasota Jungle Gardens, various theatres, famous restaurants, numerous beaches, kayaking, tours, & cruises, etc.Our 50 units are all individually owned and offer our guests that unique personal touch of home-away-from-home that you just can't receive from other cookie-cutter resorts. You'll find many amenities such as a heated pool, multiple tiki huts, and pool side/ beach side sundecks to name a few. All units have full kitchens, full baths, living rooms, and dining rooms in a studio, 1 bedroom, or 2 bedroom floor plan. Unique to our resort is that every unit opens directly to the Gulf Coast beach. No need for elevators, driving, or long walking paths, the beach is right out your back door. We offer Military discounts as well as monthly and weekly rate specials. Come begin the vacation you deserve. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing