We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
12
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire ring great campground one night cabin hookups facilities florida
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here Memorial Day weekend. Campground has recently up dated some of the sites,3 of the 30 sites are now paved with water,electric and sewer, picnic table and fire ring. We stayed on (site 27) 1 of the paved sites right behind the bath house. The site was pretty level and long and wide we have 3 slide 35' 5ver and long bed f350 dually. We had plenty of room for our outside table, grill and my power wheel chair. Park is pet friendly. Very peaceful and quiet park except when the train goes by the front of the park. The noise scared our dogs. The park has a nice boat ramp gorgeous views of the River plus several hiking trails. The park ranger is very helpful and friendly. They also have cabins that my in-laws stayed that pretty nice and well stocked with everything but food. Park is not that close to outside amenities, so stock up before you get there or be prepared for a long drive in to town.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Laurel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this park not by choice but out of necessity since the Spirit of the Suwannee campground was full for the Wanee Music Festival. When we made reservations there were two sites left of the some 30 sites total they have here so we just picked one believing that a site listed for a 25ft pull behind would fit our 24ft trailer. It barely fit lengthwise but did, however the site was so narrow we could not open our awning all the way out and there are several other sites here just like this one. It seems absurd to me that they would list this particular site for an RV, it's just way to small and should be reserved for tents only. We could not even walk from under the awning to the truck without either walking into the site next to us or we had to bend down to get under the awning bar that could not be extended because of our closeness to a tree. We were pretty ticked off about the site when we arrived but got used to it. No one has moved into site 12 since Monday (it's Thursday) even though it had a reserve sign on it so we have basically had two sites which has made it okay without having someone on top of us. Many of the sites are pretty close to one another which is not something we particularly care for, we like having a little bit of buffer between sites since you never know who you're going to be next to. The camp ground itself is awesome being right on the river. Trails run along the river and it's easy to put a canoe or kayak in. There is a boat ramp as well. The cottages look very nice and appear to be pretty new. The bathhouse of which there are two is about the best I've seen, very large showers, very clean and updated. Washer and dryer is available outside under a roof at the bathhouse. There is a kids playground area that looks kept up well. Very shaded throughout the campground. The mosquitos have been somewhat bothersome but hey, it's the south and expected. The dump station is closed. Apparently they are opening up some new sites so you have to use the one at the site and at our site number 13 it's a long distance from the connector on our trailer. As I said, this site should be tent only or for a very small trailer only.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gilandjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

3 nights between Christmas and New Years. Loved this park and will be back. Plenty of trails to explore and all are pet friendly. We stayed in site 19 and we're very happy with the space. Fire ring and table were in the back of the site. We have a 30' camper and put It to where the hitch was about 5' from the road which left us tons of room in the back for a family of 6 and 3 dogs. Our other family were in site 15 and although it wasn't quite as wide as ours, it was more secluded with no close neighbors right on top of you. If you would like to canoe the river. U can go to the guard shack, a company comes and picks you up and takes you up river. Then you paddle back to the park. Hope this helps

Date of stay: December 2013
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank lsjcmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

We selected Suwannee River State Park because we planned on kayaking the rivers in the area and we prefer to stay at state parks when we can. The facilities at the park were nice, although we did not use the showers. The sites are nice, with tree cover and some level of distance between most sites. We had a corner site that was exceptionally large and was a pull-thru, an added bonus. The entire loop is .3 miles, so overall it's not very large. Each site has full hookups, but some people complained that the distance to the sewer hookup was too far, we did notice that most people needed longer sewer hoses. The sewer was also high, making it difficult for liquids to flow easily into it. This was a minor annoyance, considering all the other nice things about the park. They have a washer and dryer outside of the restrooms that worked fairly well.

This is a pretty park, but there isn't a lot to do in the general area. There are several short trails, which I recommend. The Lime Sink Run Trail is especially nice. There is no real place for bicycling, but the younger kids enjoyed biking the campground loop.

There are no restaurants nearby, the closest is The Red Onion in Lee (10 miles) and a few restaurants in Madison (10 miles). The Red Onion is in gas station, but is a pretty good little diner, in Madison we enjoyed Ken's Bar-B-Que. Live Oak is about 25 miles in the other direction, but you have more choices there.

We stayed here for 11 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I hope that we can return sometime.

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank UnoMasFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed in one of the 5 cabins with my in-laws and loved it! The photos on the state park site do not accurately reflect how nice and big these cabins are; wished we stayed longer than one night. Park was very quiet in January but manatees were active down in the lagoon. Nice walking trails. Difficult to find sign from the main highway, but the gal in the office was very helpful and patient.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aktraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews