We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
145
96
28
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
96
28
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboiled eggscontinental breakfastfresh fruitcoffee cupsprivate balconyjunior suitelarge roomwithin walking distancebeach chairsthree blocksbeautiful oceanlocation is greatpalm treesfull kitchenlove this placewalk in closetcommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Our son's wedding was at the Sea Lord on May 14th, and the location could not have been more perfect --- right on the beach, with nice rooms and a very accommodating staff. Members of the wedding party and some out of town guests stayed at the hotel, which was very convenient, both for relaxation and rehearsal. It was a beach wedding, and the staff really worked with everyone to make sure that things went smoothly. The wedding brunch was also lovely, with a great array of food choices and an attentive staff. All in all, a great experience!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank nancysid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

The Sea Lord proved to be a very nice stay. The staff was very friendly from start to finish. Our room had an amazing ocean front balcony for a very fair price. The view was just perfect. The room was fairly updated, clean and spacious with a kitchen and full fridge. The location is very convenient to the center of town, a 2 minute drive or an easy walk. Breakfast is included but is slightly limited, more on the lines of pastries and fruits. Lobby and dining area was nice as well as the outdoor pool area. For a minimal fee they will bring down lounge chairs also which was well worth it. We were very happy with our choice!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ChowderCat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the end of March for 3 nights. Room wasn't bad but could have been a little better. Stayed in queen bed room. It needs some repairs and updates.
Pros: within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Nice morning walks on El Mar Dr. Nice pool area and private beach area. Friendly staff. Restaurant and bar on premises which was great convenience. Drinks ran $10-12.
Cons: Room could use some tlc. Paint and heavy duty cleaning. Safe in room was broken. Bathroom vent was large open grate with a foil tin pan sitting in it. Was a little creeped out by that.
It appears they were doing some repairs while we were there. Elevator broke during our stay but was fixed same day. Wasn't an issue for us to take stairs to 5th floor but felt bad for an elderly woman with a cane having to take the stairs down 5 flights.
The worst part of the trip had nothing to do with the hotel but a male guest from NYC who was so vulgar and obnoxious and had no respect for anyone else at the resort. His language was disgusting and so loud for everyone to hear every word!! Unfortunately you could hear his mouth at the pool, beach, ocean and his 5th floor balcony over looking the beach. We could not get away from him. He was offensive to everyone around that didn't know him. You could tell by people's faces how disgusting his conversations were. Unfortunately we ended our days at the resort early due to his presence. I am from NY and couldn't tolerate him.
Overall it was a decent place to stay. We did not try the included breakfast. We did order a salad for lunch one day and I must say it was excellent!!!! One of the best salads I've had.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

This hotel was everything I was looking for. Spend three days at this hotel with my cousin. Location was perfect, right on the beach!! The price of this hotel includes your parking fee and breakfast. Room was clean and specious, service was great. We did not get a chance to have dinner there, so could not tell you about the restaurant. We did have breakfast every morning. We never had a problem finding something we liked for breakfast!! The pool was nice and clean. The area around the pool is a little small, but beautiful! This hotel is a couple of blocks from all the restaurants, but it's a nice walk. We always felt safe walking to and from at night. Check in and out was smooth. Happy customer, we will be back next year!

Stayed: April 2017
2  Thank cc00kie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile


Arrived late at night after driving for hours only to find that the hotel didn't have our reservations. The owner then proceeded to tell us that they didn't have any rooms available and there was nothing he could do for that night, he told us to return in the morning so he would try to have something sorted. The lady at the desk recommended us to a hotel a town over since all the hotels in the area were all fully booked due to a festival that was in town. Following her recommendation we arrived at a one star bug infestated motel that charged us $270 for a one night stay. Upon returning to the original hotel the following morning, we were told there was still no rooms available but that we could leave our bags and they would take them up to the room for us when one became available. We returned at 11pm only to find our bags still at reception unattended, we had to wait to check in as the person in front of us was also having an issue with their reservations. We checked out early in the morning only to be told that we were still being charged for that night's stay with no sort of compensation for our disastrous experience.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews