We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for a Florida vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2017

A nice small resort on a beautiful beach within walking distance of a lot of shops and restaurants. We had a queen room with a large closet/dressing area which was nice. The bathroom is small, but having the dressing area with a large mirror made up for that. Both the room and the bathroom were clean. The pool area is nice, but not enough lounge chairs and the sun goes behind the building in the early afternoon, so if you want sun - get out there before 11am. The included breakfast was nice, but I wouldn't want it day after day if I spent a week there. We ate lunch when we first arrived and the owner/chef was very accommodating and the food and drink was yummy. A great place to stay before our cruise.

Room Tip: Splurge on the ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank janigus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a mid-winter get away look no more,the Sea Lord was fabulous. A $12.00 Uber ride from Ft Lauderdale airport makes the location very affordable and convenient. We arrived at 11 am and were allowed check into our room. Friendly and most helpful describes every employee we encountered. Breakfast was delicious, pastries, cereal, fruit,rolls,boiled eggs,juice,milk,coffee. ..just what you need to start the day. A $5.00 chair rental per day for a lounger is most reasonable,beach towels provided free,there is a large sunny beach front but there is also a large palm tree shaded area .The pool is large and has steps for entry if you have difficulty with stairs. Our room was a king oceanfront suite,loved it. An amazing view,large room,full kitchen, walk in closet with safe. Huge balcony with chairs and table. Bathroom amenities include soap,shampoo,conditioner, lotion, mouth wash ,this saves space for those of you traveling by air. Bathrobes for your convenience were soft and cozy. The Sea Lord was walking distance to grocery stores, liquor store and a 5 minutes walk to Commercial Blvd where you will find bars and restaurants. There is a restaurant on premises. The Lauderdale By The Sea area was quiet and safe for walking. We had a fabulous week and will return to stay at our new favorite resort. Huge thanks to all the employees that made us feel at home.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank obottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Our experience at the Sea Lord was great. Couldn't have been a better location. The staff was uniformly tremendous, very friendly, and helpful. Beach chairs readily available. I was fine with the breakfast, but my wife has higher standards. Little secret - if the gentleman, who prepared for my wife and me, the proscuito (sp?) sandwich, is still working in the dining room, go for it. It's one of the best sandwiches we ever head.

Room Tip: reserve early for an ocean view; in fact in season, reserve early for any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Paid for a beach view with private balcony. What I got was a palm grove view with palm branches hanging over onto the balcony...you could barely see the beach or ocean. At best this was an obstructed view at other resorts and the price would have reflected it, except at this place. While the room looks inviting initially (after walking through a small hallway that mimics a prison), you soon notice the cheap upgrades that try to offset the aged kitchen appliances and old/noisy HVAC system that will prevent a good nights sleep if you prefer quiet. Lastly, the bathroom was upgraded but still far from resort quality. They used daylight CFL bulbs which hurt your eyes, the bathtub/shower area has no lighting in it so its dark, and the water in the toilet/sink has a yellowish tint. As we checked out the next morning and walked across the street to the overflow parking which was just a gravel lot, I realized I'm glad we only reserved one night. Again, If the price would have reflected the quality I wouldn't have an issue, but this room certainly did not deliver. Will not return, will not recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrMB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Pool dirty, understaffed, broken elevator. Unpleasant management, smelly rooms. price change for rooms differ greatly and fluctuate. pool doesn't get much soon. Campbell soup cans showing in kitchen. Lousy drinks at the bar and overpriced. I will not stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
1.3 km away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#9 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
156 reviews
0.8 km away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#12 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
155 reviews
0.9 km away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,157 reviews
0.7 km away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#17 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
279 reviews
0.1 km away
Sea Cliff Resort
Sea Cliff Resort
#7 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Lord Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lord Hotel & Suites

Address: 4140 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5419
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range: ₹ 9,554 - ₹ 21,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Lord Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Lord is located on South Florida's exclusive Gold Coast and provides spectacular views in a relaxing atmosphere. At the Sea Lord we pride ourselves on our friendly hospitality. Our dedicated management and staff are eager to make your holiday the most memorable ever. The good life is here. Visit us once and we are sure that you will be like our many guests who return again and again. Allow us to make Sea Lord your home away from home. We have 47 rooms including 27 suites and 8 different types of rooms to choose from. Continental Breakfast is included as well as parking, Wi-fi and beach towels.You'll enjoy dining and shopping just 10 minutes walking distance. The area is perfect for family vacation, romantic getaway or just your annual visit to Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Lord Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Lord Hotel And Suites
Sea Lord Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Hotel Sea Lord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing