We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit”
Review of El Mar Cafe

El Mar Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 15
Description: All American Restaurant Breakfast and Lunch pancakes/French toast/sandwiches Burgers/salads/hot dogs/soups
Restaurant details
Description: All American Restaurant Breakfast and Lunch pancakes/French toast/sandwiches Burgers/salads/hot dogs/soups
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We went there for breakfast one morning. Good food and reasonable priced. Service was also good. I would go back.

Thank dalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmarcafe, Owner at El Mar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you enjoyed our place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2018

We had breakfast here and we will be going back The food was delicious and the service was always with a smile. Everyone was pleasant and attentive at all times. Great place to go for food.

Thank dotr1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmarcafe, Owner at El Mar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed our place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Excellent customer service and delicious homemade breakfast. The best place in town. You can have either breakfast or lunch. They are open until 2:00 pm I think.

Thank ananicolejoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmarcafe, Owner at El Mar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you very much for your awesome review. We really appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We discovered this little breakfast/lunch spot on our last day in Ft. Lauderdale. It is easy to miss because it is tucked behind one the popular main Lauderdale-by-the-Sea restaurants on Commercial Blvd, 101 Ocean Restaurant. And given it was completely closed off with sliding doors (due to its location which at that point was baking in the sun), once you commit you commit. But our commitment was rewarded. This place does breakfast/brunch from 7 am to 2 pm. In comparison to NY Deli Restaurant (about 5 min down the road) this place also served bottomless cup of coffee but the quality of the coffee was much better. In terms of standard eggs and home fries, sausage absolutely no problem there and again better quality. We tried the day's special they had which was a guava, cheese and banana pancakes - and it was really a winner. Just a novel juxtaposition of tastes. From this quick impression I would bet that just about anything they make would exceed expectations. Overall the place was just really slick, modern styling with Internet based lite music station kiosks and justly placed speakers placed near the ceiling corners. The menus are tucked in a neat basket on the wall (I know that sounds trivial - but I get the sense that the owner has a real sense of style and function). Had we known about this place we likely would've visited it more for lunch or light dinner as well. The pricing was comparable to all the other places in the area generally - quite reasonable, maybe a hair cheaper (with the exception of NY Deli, which really can't be beaten price-wise).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jazzmankg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmarcafe, Owner at El Mar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you very much for your awesome review. We really appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed our little place. Hopefully will we see you again on your next visit to Lauderdale-by-the-Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This is a great place for breakfast and lunch. We had breakfast here twice and it was awesome. The coffe was tasty and hot, the pancakes and eggs were fluffy. But even better in this woman owned cafe is the service.

Thank Waterlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmarcafe, Owner at El Mar Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Thank you very much for your awesome review. We really appreciate the support and we are glad to know that you enjoyed our place. See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Mar Cafe also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 

Been to El Mar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing