We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Vacation”
Review of Sea Spray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Spray Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Just returned from a lovely stay at the Sea Spray Inn!

SERVICE: After reading many reviews of nightmarish service at hotels in Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, we chose the Inn because of the rave reviews of the manager. We were not let down! Carroll (the property manager) was a delight and made us feel welcome for the entire week.

LOCATION: The Inn is literally across the street from the beach. I was worried it would be a hassle to lug everything to and from the beach (I'm a big fan of oversized beach bags, bringing coolers to the beach, etc.), but it is such a short walk! Also the road you have to cross is a very easy one--Google maps made it look like it was a large road, but it actually has a four-way stop right in front of the Inn and we never had any trouble crossing. The Inn is also a VERY short walk from the downtown area of L-B-T-S, which has lots of nice restaurants and ice cream shops. (Do yourself a favor and give Jojo's Tacos a try. It's around the corner from the main square, but it was by far the best meal we had on our trip!)

ROOMS: We stayed in Unit #1, which is on the ground floor. It is a great size for a couple. We had everything we needed in the kitchen, except paper towels/paper products. I think most people stay longer-term at the Inn; we were there such a short while that we did not buy any, but that is easily fixable. The Inn is definitely not brand new, but it has a lot of character. There were a few minor flaws (some of the baseboards appear to be missing in the hallways) but nothing that made the room unpleasant.

SLEEP QUALITY: We actually had a bit of trouble sleeping most nights - probably a combination of being somewhere new, and the fact that if you want to sleep with the windows open (it was very pleasant during the evenings), you'll hear every little passerby on the street, not to mention the constant clicking of the blinds. After two nights of that we gave up and used the air conditioner at night. Much better sleep then!

There is no pool, but you really don't need one with the beach right there! The Inn provides beach chairs (though they're not chaises, they do the job), free Wifi which worked great (we didn't use our laptops too much, but it was nice to be able to reload my Kindle on the network!), and assigned parking. Really great amenities.

We will definitely consider the Inn when we plan our next beach vacation, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a casual, really enjoyable stay at a beachside Inn!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room at the Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustALawStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasprayinn4245, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed the Sea Spray service and amenities, and hope to see you back again for your next getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

The Sea Spray Inn was wonderful, comfortable and clean. Totally relaxing and in a perfect location to walk to shops, restaurants, drug stores and the grocery. Locals in the area are friendly and security in LBTS was very good. Carol was a great hostess and provided anything requested and went above and beyond. I stayed a month and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwendolyn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

We appreciate your taking the time to write Gwen! It was a pleasure having you here for the month and we are glad that you enjoyed your summer getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The Sea Spray in is your perfect get away!! Location, location location...what more can I say. It's directly across the street from the beach and a very short walking distance to restaruants and shops. Carroll the Inn keeper is amazing. She's there to make your stay the best it can be; who could ask for better customer service. The units are very nice accomadations with everything you need; and the bedding and linens are not your normal hotel quality---quite upscaled from what you normally get. I'm a travel snob going all over the world for my work and I have to say I was pleasantly surprise with this little inn.....so much so that I stayed the whole month and it felt like home! I will definately be back! Thanks for such a great time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect location and equally as nice....of course the if you can afford it the Pen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotlan_Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

We are so glad you decided to extend your stay with us and that you have enjoyed your getaway at the Sea Spray. It has been a pleasure to host you and are very happy that the Sea Spray provided the break you were looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had a good stay at Seaspray inn. Although the room could use some renovation and the A/C was a bit loud, the room was neat and clean. Carroll, the property manager, was very helpfull when we asked for the room to be vaccuumed an extra time outside the standard weekly cleaning.
When we come back to Fort Lauderdale we will consider the Seaspray inn again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Thank you for your thoughtful and helpful review, and we were glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one. The air conditioner in the room you occupied is farly new, so we will be checking it to determine why it may have been noisy during your stay to ensure it is working as it should - thank you for letting us know. We do hope that you will return the next time you visit Lauderdale by the Sea and we hope your return to lovely Brussels was uneventful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I have been at the Sea Spray before and always have been happy with everything, but this time I wanted to invite my mother for a mother-daughter vacation and she was delighted by the whole experience at the Sea Spray.
She liked how clean and nice are the suites and how conveniently located is the Inn...Also people at Lauderdale by the Sea are very friendly and with that beach mood which makes everybody happy.
Management and Customer service are excellent and always trying to comply with your every need.
For sure, I recommend the Sea Spray Inn and I will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Thank you Paula. It was a pleasure meeting your mother and we are so glad that she enjoyed her visit to the Sea Spray and Lauderdale by the Sea. It was so nice to have you here for the second time, and hope that it won't be the last!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
1 km away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#9 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
154 reviews
0.6 km away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#12 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
155 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
387 reviews
0.2 km away
Sea Cliff Resort
Sea Cliff Resort
#7 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
180 reviews
1.1 km away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Inn

Address: 4301 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5019
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range: ₹ 9,355 - ₹ 15,484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Spray Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful suites with ocean views are the highlights of this charming seaside inn. An intimate tropical atmosphere featuring immaculate accommodations and personal service make your stay here truly a "home away from home. "All suites have full kitchens; private balconies or patios with ocean views; and flat panel high definition TVs and cable service. Also included at NO EXTRA CHARGE is Wireless Internet; assigned, off street parking; weekly housekeeping service; and beach chairs and towels. We have no resort, parking, telephone or hidden charges - everything is included in the rate except 11% applicable taxes. We are proud to be a six time repeat "White Glove Award" winner from the Superior Small Lodging Association, representing outstanding commitment to cleanliness and guest service. Once you have been our guest once, you will definitely return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Spray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing