We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good for budget stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maingate Lakeside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maingate Lakeside Resort
Ranked #90 of 155 Hotels in Kissimmee
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for budget stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Overall, the service and hotel was good. What I'm not happy about is the 7.50 service/maintenance fee charged per day. I made the reservation thru agoda, so I wasn't aware on that until I arrived.

Inside the room
-showers, only basic shower heads are available.
-sink, if you let your faucet run, the water fills up quickly and it does not drain quickly.
-beds were made daily.
-the cleaning people forgot to refill coffee and shampoos. So I had to ask them. They were generous about that.
-room carpets needed to replaced. It's got stain.

Pool
-only one pool is opened and the other closed for maintenance. So make sure you call the front desk before heading out.

Other than that. It was a good location. The staffs were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abltmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    810
    496
    288
    377
See reviews for
1,051
584
87
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camiguin, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I've stayed at this resort many times when it was a Best Western franchise, and never had a bad experience. However, since the Best Western logo has been removed, so has the customer service.

I've actually stayed two consecutive weekends, now, because the reservations were made near the same time. Both became nightmarish!

On the first weekend, we were placed in a room that was in the very, very back of a dark parking area. Not only was the parking area unlit, but to get to the room, we had to go through a narrow, unlit tunnel. Also, the room was certainly not the cleanest! In fact, I'm positive that the tub/shower had only been looked at (if that) by housekeeping. On checkout day, we chose to leave early, so I called the hotel desk later in the morning to let them know that we had checked out and to make sure the charges were accurate. The desk clerk could not find us, even after given the room number and the last name. She even asked if I was sure I had stayed there. I asked for a supervisor and, after a long, long wait, was connected. The supervisor immediately found the portfolio and checked us out.

The next weekend, I tried to check in at 2:50 p.m. I was told that no rooms were available until 3:00 (ten minutes later!). I asked if I could just check in and get the key (not going to the room), since we didn't plan on returning to the hotel until about 11:00 p.m. I was told I couldn't do this because he "didn't want to check me into a room that may end up not being cleaned by housekeeping." Then, as we were talking, he stated that the hotel was full for the night. I asked "If you're full tonight, wouldn't you have to have all of the rooms cleaned?" At this point, caught in a lie, he went and got his boss. Remember, we're now at 2:55 p.m. and check-in is at 3:00 p.m. His boss said I could check in at 11:00 when we returned. I was so dumbfounded that a supervisor would suggest that, I just left.

Again, I've stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions throughout the past few years and always felt safe and valued. I don't know the circumstances of the removal of the Best Western name, but I do know that the service has taken a very, very sharp turn for the worse!

I would only suggest that visitors look at other options before booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kissimmee hotels

NM
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Hard to find due to unlit faded signage but once located, roomy parking and common areas are pluses in addition to being surrounded by dozens of family and fast food restaurants. The buildings are old, appear to be 60's era, with light switches and electric outlets worn out and nonfunctional. On opening the door, the fungus odor is pungent (dirty socks) but this is humid Florida so old carpet is expected to be musty, right? For the price, some stench is tolerable. Shower hot water takes over a minute to reach the room if one arises earlier than surrounding units but the pressure is great. Years of neglect also show on items like the clock radio which was dirt-crusted and dusty but still working. Housekeeping was haphazard so expect to have to drive up to the office for the towels housekeeping didn't leave on their rounds. The in-room safe and refrigerator were superb, so easy to operate and so welcome if needing to leave valuables while out of the room or needing cold snacks upon return. The front office staff are friendly and efficient, even when swamped by calls/numerous arrivals.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doctorsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My mom and I stay at this hotel maybe twice a year to visit a local theme park. If you get a room at a generally cheaper price than the regular listed price (internet-only deals, etc...), expect to get the slightly less brilliant version of rooms for this hotel. You get what you pay for.

The beds, bathrooms, towels and counters are clean no matter which price point you choose, which is a MUST for me. The rooms are average as far as amenities and general layout, but tend to be cleaner than most average rooms.

Some of the carpets could be cleaner in my opinion, but I always bring slippers because I don't like to walk on hotel floors with bare feet, so it's fine. Some tile areas (bathroom and sink areas) have mildew and/or dirt stains in some of the corners. As with the carpets, I just don't step on them with my bare feet and can disregard those small areas as long as the main things (bed/sheets, bathroom, surfaces and towels) are clean.

So far we've had 50% of our tubs drain very slowly and that can be an annoyance, but it's not a deal-breaker for this hotel. Some of the doors appear slightly warped (you can see sunlight around some of the door jambs) which does make outside noises more audible, but the locks in all our rooms so far have been well-maintained and sturdy enough for security, so as long as you're not in a heavy traffic area it should be quiet enough. However, you definitely want to get a room away from the pool during crowded times to avoid extra noise.

In addition to the extremely convenient location to most Disney parks, there's a pharmacy store (CVS or Walgreens) adjacent to the hotel so you can pick up snacks, water and anything else you might need. There are also a few restaurants within walking distance and a mini-golf course next door. That means you don't necessarily NEED to get into the car and brave the heavy Kissimmee traffic to eat or entertain yourself.

The staff has always been friendly and helpful, and there's a concierge desk for any who wish to purchase cheaper theme park packages at the hotel. During peak check-in, check-out times, be ready to stand in line for checking in, out and concierge info as it can get pretty hectic and some guests hold up lines with additional questions. Be patient or schedule your arrival accordingly.

All in all, this is a nice hotel in a convenient location, and I would recommend it as well as stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zookate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at the Maingate Lakeside Resort during the first week of April 2012. Overall, the hotel - it's a real stretch to call it a "resort" - is an affordable Disney-area option for those wanting a placing to sleep. The rooms aren't super clean and hot water in bathroom was intermittent. The outdoor pool was clean. Not much else in the way of amenities; and certainly none to justify the resort fee which is added to the room rate.

One real annoyance is the inability to check in even a minute before the 3 pm hour. The front desk was understaffed, somewhat unhelpful, and not capable of handling the lineup of people waiting for 3 pm.

For about $70 a night it might be worth it, provided that you don't have high expectations.

Room Tip: Pool view is probably a safe bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelgar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
3.8 km away
Champions World Resort
Champions World Resort
#38 of 155 in Kissimmee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
1.5 km away
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
#40 of 155 in Kissimmee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
8.3 km away
Seralago Hotel and Suites
Seralago Hotel and Suites
#75 of 155 in Kissimmee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Maingate
Comfort Inn Maingate
#28 of 155 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
12.2 km away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#17 of 155 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maingate Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maingate Lakeside Resort

Property: Maingate Lakeside Resort
Address: 7769 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-1727
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 155 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,696 - ₹ 9,571
Hotel Class:3 star — Maingate Lakeside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 475
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Maingate Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maingate Lakeside Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Kissimmee
Best Western Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Florida
Kissimmee Best Western
Best Western Lakeside Orlando
Maingate Lakeside Resort Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing