We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding resort- best in the Keys!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding resort- best in the Keys!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed in Tranquility Bay resort with my two adult daughters and my daughter's boyfriend. We had come to the Keys to attend a wedding. We had an incredible experience, but the best thing happened after we left. I had left the jewelry from the wedding in the room, as my daughter and I each thought the other had packed it, We found out en route home when Ashley from the front desk called to say the housekeepers, Nadine and Elsa had found the jewelry while cleaning the roon. Ashley express mailed it back, paid for the insurance and shipping for me and all $40,000 worth of the wedding jewelry arrived the next day. Whatever you can say about the fabulous place, the excellent food the helpful friendly staff, which was five star -- nothing beats a five star resort staffed with honest and ethical people.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,209
    648
    251
    122
    79
See reviews for
1,738
881
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

After a little time in crazy Key West, we wanted a completely relaxing escape. This was it! Gorgeously manicured grounds. Super cute little town homes. A quiet adults only pool. The largest sandy beach I found in the keys. We kept to ourselves, so I don't have much of an opinion about the staff of the restaurant, but our stay was exactly what we were hoping for. Marathon key and the area around the resort isn't so impressive, but you forget all that once you are on the grounds.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was my family's first trip to the Florida Keys and we found that overall the houses, stores and restaurants are somewhat run down. The natural beauty of the place is exceptional and more than makes up for this. What made my trip really special was how nice Tranquility Bay is. Our unit (#2) was perfect, with beautiful views of the white sand beach and turquoise waters. We enjoyed the airy and un-fussy decor, that had very nice attention to detail. It was great to have a nice clean kitchen to make quick breakfasts and lunches. The Butterfly Cafe in the hotel is good food and yes, it's a bit over-priced but it is by FAR the nicest place that we found - especially if you can get a table on the porch. We also enjoyed the Sunset Grille and Burdines, which are much more casual with excellent fresh seafood. The pool at Tranquility Bay is really pretty and perfect for the kids. The Tiki Bar is very nice for a late afternoon cocktail. I would highly recommend Tranquility Bay to anyone - but I do have a few suggestions/observations when reserving: try to get a unit in the group numbered #1-5. The entire hotel is really attractive-looking, but just a few of the units have view of an unsightly cell tower, so be sure to inquire about this. Also if you decide to eat at the Butterfly Cafe, reserve a porch table first as they go fast, and who wants to sit inside when you are vacationing in the Keys? Although our room was perfect, there were minor things missing when we first arrived such as coffee filters, beach towels, etc. and the staff could not be nicer about getting us what we needed. No problems there. My only solid complaint (which I let them know about in their on-line survey so I am sure they will fix it - hopefully) was that housekeeping comes at any time of the day. I prefer to at least know a roundabout time that they will clean, so that we can plan accordingly. (I don't like to be in the room when they come) Instead, one time we were out all day from 9-4, looking forward to returning to relax and then showering in the cool, fanned unit for a bit pre-dinner - and you guessed it - housekeeping shows up. Not ideal. Another day, we all woke up groggy and happy to have a slow breakfast only to have them wanting to come in and clean at 8:30 a.m.! A bit annoying, but honestly everything else about this place is so exceptional that it did not ruin my positive feelings. If you have kids, don't miss the Dolphin Rescue, the Turtle Hospital next door, Bahia Honda beaches and a trip down to Key West. A walk on the seven mile bridge afforded us views of several manta rays, giant tarpon, loggerheads and other fish. Keys turquoise waters are mesmerizing!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BermudaMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My family, including my husband, 11 year old son and 7 year old daughter, spent Memorial Day 2011 weekend at Tranquility Bay in the Florida Keys. Being a Floridian, I've spent many a summer in the Keys and can say without a doubt-this is one of the nicest resorts there is there. We were fortunate to stay in a beachfront unit and literally walked off of our porch onto the sand. If you're looking for a beach, then don't head to the Keys. The Keys topography does not lend itselt to a beach in the traditional sense. The location is wonderfual and close to many great resteraunts. Don't miss the turtle hospital-it's educational and fun (especially for the kids) and it's right next door. On another note- we don't recommend the onsite snorkeling company. They seemed more intent on making their money rather than noticing the incoming choppy weather. Needless to say, it was the worst part of the trip and very disappointing. Over all though, would highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachlover1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a girls weekend here and it was a great Keys destination. If you have been to the Florida Keys then you know that "great" hotels are few and far between.

Jeff at the Tiki Bar was fantastic. He was meant to be a bartender right there; attentive, talkative, friendly without being creepy, and had nice things to say from the 11year old girls eating ice cream to the crotchy old man ordering scottch on the rocks. We ordered lunch from the bar and was pretty darn good, the best fish dip from Islemaroda to Key West hands down.

The town homes were comfortable, clean and well appointed. There were kitchen essentials, plenty of towels, and hot water. (hot water sometimes comes and goes in the Keys)

The pool was a beach pool with beautiful vegetation and yes wild life. There were iguanas abound, looking for handouts and they were easily scared away. Plenty of chairs for all the guest. There are two pools on this property; one as a "sanctuary pool" aka adult pool then a family friendly pool.

There are lagoons roped off to enjoy the water without the sea weed. Guest would drag there beach chairs out there and submerse them in the water, good idea.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.5 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
8.5 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
793 reviews
31.4 km away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
20.6 km away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,870 - ₹ 49,252
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing