We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas Vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marathon, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sherrysl4...
rock hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Vacation”
Reviewed 22 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We went for christmas we love the house, the view was awesome, every thing you need to have a good time is here. looking forward to another stay. the Styles Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylB61...
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Potential--average experience”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We spent a week at this rental during December. I really wanted to give this 3.5 starts but it wasn't possible with the Flipkey app. Our main complaints about this unit probably have more to do with the management, cleaning, upkeep, and general maintenance of the property. First thing when we arrived, the sliding door would not lock, the screen door was off the rails, and the unit wasn't very clean. We called the management company about the door not locking and the problem was diverted to the owner. The rug in the main area looked like it had not been vacuumed (my partner wore socks all week to avoid walking on it), there were serious cobwebs above the refrigerator on the kitchen cabinets in full view, the back bathroom sink was dirty, and it looked like the baseboards had never been cleaned. There was hair in the bathtub. The pillows on the main sofas stunk. The lights above the kitchen island didn't work (we were told they were decorative), and there was only 1 roll of toilet paper and 1 roll of paper towels. We called the management company to ask about this and were told that this was all that was supplied for an entire week of renting. (we've rented lots and lots of properties and have never heard this) There was no information about how to access the kayaks and bikes, so we had to call the management company again. The bike tires were flat and there was no pump to inflate them, so we went to Kmart to purchase one. Our first night's sleep was really bad because the king bed's frame in the master was missing a piece and the bed was caving in the middle. Luckily, the owner was available to take care of several issues. He did fix the bed frame, put new seats on the kayaks, and even brought us another fishing pole. He was responsive and we appreciated that. He updated the unit while we were there with some newer furniture including media console and twin beds in the second room, and a new frame for the master bedroom. However, if he hadn't been there we are pretty sure that many issues would not have been resolved.
This unit is a duplex so the backyard is shared space. If you have good quiet neighbors, this would probably be good. We didn't have such luck. Our neighbors were the party crowd and were up early and stayed up very late at night. We could hear them in the unit next door at all hours. They left a mess outside each night that we had to look at each morning--not the fault at all of the owner.
Now let's get to the positives: the unit is in a great location. As you can see from the photos, the water views are simply magnificent. We spent every morning out there having our coffee, juice, and breakfast. The tarpon were rolling in the bay and they were a sight to see. We also spotted some small turtles that came through. There were many types of fish that could be spotted in the water right off the dock. There is dock space for a boat. The home has a lot of bonuses that you don't have to rent or buy including: bikes, kayaks, fishing poles, floaties, life jackets, and even boogie boards and chairs for the beach. The kayaks were wonderful, and we used them every day. This home isn't situated on a typical canal--it's more of a bay that other canals feed into, so it's very wide which makes for tremendous views. The neighborhood is quiet. You can fish right from the back dock. We caught about 5 types of fish, which was great. We rode the bikes down to 7 mile bridge and to Pigeon Key, which was a long bike ride but very fun. You can get to many places via bike. The unit is on the second floor and has two large windows which provide great views from the kitchen and main living room of the house. The palm trees are great, and when there is a breeze it's wonderful to open the windows and let the breeze flow through the house. There's plenty of parking for several cars.
Based on prior reviews, we were anticipating having our deposit refunded quickly, but it took 9 days to get the confirmation, which was disappointing.
The home has a lot of pluses. It could easily be 4-5 stars if someone knew how to clean it and make it look inviting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor space
Liked least: cleanliness and upkeep
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review. I met with these guests a couple days into their stay as they had an issue with the bedframe in master and which was repaired that day – a bolt had fallen out. Unfortunately they never mentioned issues with the home not being clean until the last day. This is something we do take very seriously and would have dispatched the cleaning service to rectify. Occasionally we will have problems with the cleaning company we contract with and only wish we had known at check-in so that we would have had the opportunity to fix. Same comment on the bike tire being out of air – we do leave bike pumps in all our homes but it’s possible that they weren’t able to locate it or that it went missing. We did talk about the neighboring guests and again wish we’d had known early in the stay so that we could have addressed this issue as well. We have a noise clause in all our agreements for the benefit of all our neighbors. On the paper products, we give a couple days of supplies which is standard in 99% of rental homes. Given that the cleaning wasn’t up to par, the home likely wasn’t set up properly.

This is not one of our better reviews at only 3.5 stars. I think that we could have done better and we strive to ensure our guests leave happy and return. In our welcome letter and posted in our homes, we ask guests to contact us if things aren’t right. We only wish we would have known about these issues at the start of the rental.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marathon, Florida
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Otisfield, Maine
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing