We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great dive center, give them a chance

The good: great helpful crew, small but well organized boat, 2 tanks and a blank spot, 2 tanks and... read more

Reviewed 5 August 2018
GolfingGuyHere
,
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Swam with a nurse shark!

Took a snorkeling excursion out on Sombrero and the Ivory wreck. Water was absolutely beautiful... read more

Reviewed 28 August 2018
rickandstacy
,
owensboro, Ky
Read all 86 reviews
  
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
56
9
7
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
9
7
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive master experienced divers worked very hard fish boat crew captain dan snorkel trip the reefs whole family wreck shop dove gear safety snorkelers ivory certification
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

An amazing school and experience! This is the only school you should attend if you have a passion for diving and career. Diving just about every day doesn't hurt either. If your looking for a career or fun Hall's diving center is your true answer.

And if your in the need to purchase gear you have a full service shop with the finest staff that will entertain all your diving needs!

1  Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob B, Owner at Hall's Diving Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Phillip,
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review on The International Diving Career Institute at Hall's and Hall's Diving Center. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us at Hall's. Phillip, as a graduate , you know we strive for professionalism. We are looking forward in the near future a visit from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

We booked a `try-scuba' intro (pool session plus 2 tank dive - website said $200 for 2+ divers, but we were charged $250 each) for 2 people, and booked a simultaneous snorkel trip ($50 each for two snorkelers) so the whole family could go. They mentioned it would be rough and suggested that we take dramamine, but they did not mention the 6-8 foot seas and the really crazy (borderline unsafe ?) getting in & out of the water. [The boat crew and staff were very professional and helpful throughout.]

The divers took their first dive, which was OK, but getting back to and into the boat was really difficult. That plus the rough seas led us to decide not to do the second dive. The snorkelers meanwhile were seasick and stayed on the boat. As a former lifeguard, I wasn't sure how the snorkelers would safely have managed in those conditions - with cresting whitecaps We decided to head back in early. About $650 for essentially a 1-tank dive for 2 people.

Here's what would have been great - a) not just a mention of dramamine but a more detailed description of what "rough" meant - i.e., 6-8 foot seas, underwater currents, challenging return to boat, etc. b) a strong suggestion that the snorkelers come another time, or to reschedule the whole trip for a better day. c) afterwards, an offer to comp the second tank dive or at least another snorkel trip. I inquired about this but got no response.

So as you can see part of this is on us. Somehow we should have known better. But at $650 we're also paying for their expertise and advice.

You decide.

1  Thank robcristybenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob B, Owner at Hall's Diving Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

I am sorry you had a bad time with the rough seas. Until I read your review on Trip Advisor I was not aware that you were unhappy. I make every effort to make sure my customers have a good time and enjoy their diving with us. Unfortunately, I can not make up for mother nature. She has the final call. We had a nearly full boat on the morning trip the same day you went out in the afternoon. Everybody did fine. No indication from those customers that it was too rough to dive. I am very sorry that you found the sea conditions more than you care to handle. Please forgive us for not being able to tell that. We look at every indication that we have at our disposal. Sometimes what is too rough for some is not too rough for others.

For the future please keep in mind that if there is NO wind there is no sea. You had plenty of wind on the day you went. Which we warned you about. If there is going to be rough seas you have the option to cancel, or go, or go and take the medication we suggested (like Dramamine) to prevent sea sickness, or go on the trip and wear "sea bands" to prevent sea sickness. In hindsight it appears it would have been better for you to cancel and make it another day. We would have gladly accommodated you either way. Outside of that we can't do anything about your choices except say, "We are sorry you had a bad experience and decided to skip your second dive."

Please contact me when you return here again. Pick, a little or NO wind day, and we will gladly compliment the cost for your second dive. Hope to see you again soon.

Bob Brayman, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

I was in the keys vacationing with family had a really busy schedule. They worked around my schedule and accommodated my needs. Looking forward to going back in the summer.

Thank Javier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob B, Owner at Hall's Diving Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

People like you make our efforts worthwhile. Thank you for your compliments. We will be looking forward to your return trip this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Great dive and friendly dive master, captain, and staff!! My daughter and I had a fantastic reef dive.

Thank Jeff- B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob B, Owner at Hall's Diving Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

We are pleased you and your daughter enjoyed our beautiful reefs here in the Keys. Thank you for taking the time to complement your experience with us here at Hall's. Looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Thank you to everyone at Halls. The crew were extremely helpful, and the dive site was like jumping into an aquarium!
No complaints what so ever.

Thank gfagen0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob B, Owner at Hall's Diving Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

We appreciate your special compliments. It is good to know that our extra efforts do not go unnoticed. We will have more special sights for you to explore on your next trip down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews