We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The good: - No bedbugs
- Relatively clean
- The pool area looked clean and well kept

The bad: - The 'kitchenette' we paid extra for consisted of a sink and a fridge that didn't work. No microwave because 'people kept stealing them,' according to the front desk.
- No shampoo or lotion provided, just bars of soap
- Uncomfortable mattress
- Furnishings old and tired


The ugly: - Our TV sizzled. Yes, sizzled.
- The fire alarm had a label saying 'replace by 2002.' We made that discovery when we had to ask the front desk for replacement batteries after the alarm started beeping in the middle of the night. The kicker ... the replacement batteries they gave us were dead. I'm not kidding.

I don't know why this place has so many positive reviews. I guess it's not so bad for a place to crash for one night, but not any more than that.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmacMaritimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    52
    46
    18
    21
See reviews for
37
59
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I just got back from Islamorada I stayed there for 3 Nigths never stay in this hotel before and after reading some reviews I was not to sure but the price was good so I give it a try and I have to say I will stay there again even is not the Hiltton the rooms didnt smell,beds were clean and every day I had clean towels and beds made for a good nigth of sleep after fishing or scuba diving all day plus the location you can ask for any better is migth be a litttle old fashion hotel but for the price cant bit it and like I said I am already planing to go back down and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

we live in West central Florida and escape to Islamorada 3 or 4 times a year... We stay at the sunset on at least a couple of these trips every year...the keys are a fantastic getaway and Islamorada is the gem of the middle keys. Sunset inn is a basic, clean, older hotel situated directly in the middle of everything there is to do on the key. There are a multitude of lodgings at the 81, 82 mm... but the sunset is by far THE MOST AFFORDABLE...at least $100 a night less almost every other hotel within walking distance. The rooms are clean. The maintenance on the older property is fine...the pool although surrounded by the buildings is always clean although be careful the deck chair you choose, because some can be dry rotted. The guy at the desk is helpful with suggestions and very accommodating...( we've had to change rooms on a few occasions, and he helped us without an attitude a rare service occurrence these days)...Mangrove mike's is right next door...the breakfast joint in Islamorada...They have parking in the back for people pulling their boats...I can't say enough good things about this very basic, clean and cheap hotel!!!

Room Tip: drive up rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chefkbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had low expectations for the $85 / night rate, but that's fine. We just wanted, clean, cheap and safe for a few nights.

We got relatively clean, relatively cheap (although the kitchenette rooms no longer have microwaves so save your extra $10)

Safe? Not even close. The smoke detector beeped all night because there was no AC power to it and the bargain basement 9volt backup battery was dead. Removing the unit to change the battery revealed the safety label "Replace Unit By 2002"!

The television in the room SIZZLED for 1/2 an hour each time you turned it on because it was full of water. One visit from a competent Fire Marshall would have this place shut down,

Spend a little more and go somewhere safe. It's not worth dying in the Sunset Inn.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a DIFFERENT motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmorrisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Smoke detectors have manufacture dates on the back of them. There are no expiration dates. We have replacement TV's when one decides to not work. We are sorry for your bad experience. We hope you would try us again. We do appriciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

McFarland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Read a couple reviews and was skeptical. Not sure people have realistic expectations for one and two star lodging. Very suitable accomodations for the prices in the Keys. Clean room with comfortable beds, older but adequate bathroom fixtures and friendly and knowledgeable staff. Breakfast and lunch right next door with good food and a host of other options for dinner with-in walking distance. Clean pool on the premises.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peh1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
3.6 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.8 km away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.2 km away
La Jolla Resort
La Jolla Resort
#4 of 11 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.2 km away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 82200 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 561, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,272 - ₹ 5,890
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing